English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2014, 12:00   #1
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Pal Gamecube Video Output Options?

Hi, with my pal gamecube i have i am using it with the basic composite cable on a crt tv.

My tv also has s-video and component rgb inputs on it, but the pal gamecubes don't support s-video, only the ntsc models do.

And i am not willing to spend au$200 on a gamecube component cable either.

What i am wondering is, would something like this work to give me superior picture quality-

A gamecube pal scart cable-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/201149411006

And a converter that converts Scart RGBS to the Component RGB YUV Video Format-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/251203158378

I do realize that i wouldn't get progressive scan mode support from a scart output, but that doesn't worry be greatly.

I just want a cleaner, sharper image on my crt tv and this combo would be half the price of a gamecube component cable.

But i would like some advice first before i look at buying them, basically would this combo work and would it give me proper rgb support on my tv at 480i?

Edit- My crt tv does not have scart inputs, scart was never that big in Australia so tv's with scart were rare here, s-video was more popular in oz.

Also as a bonus, would that converter box convert an Amiga with a scart cable to component on the crt tv as well?
hansel75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 August 2014, 18:25   #2
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,527
A converter like that should work fine, and with your Amiga too. Some modern TV's don't like the Amiga's non-interlaced video signal, but your CRT TV should be okay with it, especially if it's a standard 50/60Hz model (not 100Hz).

To check whether it would work, try connecting your Amiga's mono video output (phono socket) to the TV's component Y input (often a green phono socket) and see whether you get a stable monochrome image.

You might also need some kind of SCART audio breakout adaptor to get the GameCube audio going to the TV. (The Amiga would be no problem since you can connect directly to its audio outputs.)

By the way I noticed a different model of converter which is a bit cheaper.

Last edited by mark_k; 31 August 2014 at 18:32.
mark_k is online now  
Old 01 September 2014, 08:03   #3
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
A converter like that should work fine, and with your Amiga too. Some modern TV's don't like the Amiga's non-interlaced video signal, but your CRT TV should be okay with it, especially if it's a standard 50/60Hz model (not 100Hz).

To check whether it would work, try connecting your Amiga's mono video output (phono socket) to the TV's component Y input (often a green phono socket) and see whether you get a stable monochrome image.

You might also need some kind of SCART audio breakout adaptor to get the GameCube audio going to the TV. (The Amiga would be no problem since you can connect directly to its audio outputs.)

By the way I noticed a different model of converter which is a bit cheaper.
Thanks for the info and link, i will think about it some more.

Edit- Do you think this would work to get audio from the scart output?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Scart-Ada...-/200827343877

Last edited by hansel75; 01 September 2014 at 08:10.
hansel75 is offline  
Old 01 September 2014, 20:32   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansel75 View Post
Edit- Do you think this would work to get audio from the scart output?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Scart-Ada...-/200827343877
That should work, assuming it passes all SCART pins from plug to socket internally.

But if you'll be connecting more than one thing to the SCART-component converter, you might want to consider a SCART switch-box with audio breakout instead. For example this, this or this (just examples, those eBay sellers don't seem to post outside the UK). The seller of this one does post internationally, but is charging a little more.

Last edited by mark_k; 01 September 2014 at 20:41.
mark_k is online now  
Old 10 September 2014, 13:22   #5
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 167
Call Nintendo Australia. I got my component cable for $50
stefcep2 is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 14:41   #6
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
Call Nintendo Australia. I got my component cable for $50
Thanks, i have heard about this before but didn't think they would still be selling them.

How long ago did you buy yours?
hansel75 is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 07:10   #7
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
Call Nintendo Australia. I got my component cable for $50
I finally got around to calling Nintendo AU and they don't have anymore gamecube component cables and haven't had them for some time now.

It's either pay au$200+ on ebay for one or go without!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 08:13   #8
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansel75 View Post
I finally got around to calling Nintendo AU and they don't have anymore gamecube component cables and haven't had them for some time now.

It's either pay au$200+ on ebay for one or go without!

Your having a bad week aren't you
Vot is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 08:33   #9
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
Your having a bad week aren't you
Lol yer mate it has been one crappy week!
hansel75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing audio codecs in output options of WinUAE Actarus777 support.WinUAE 1 07 May 2014 17:48
Black and white composite output from PAL A500 vext01 support.Hardware 2 26 November 2012 22:37
Video and Sound doesnt match (video output) hipoonios support.WinUAE 8 26 July 2009 00:25
Bad video output landex support.Hardware 9 17 March 2008 04:16
Quality of different native-video output options? girv support.Hardware 27 17 September 2006 09:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16900 seconds with 14 queries