English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2007, 14:33   #21
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@toni

Ooops...

I thought the colour codes were the same throught the KS versions?
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:49   #22
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@toni

Ooops...

I thought the colour codes were the same throught the KS versions?
Only error colors are. Different shades of gray and white aren't error colors. (they are changed in 2.0+)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 August 2007, 14:53   #23
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
so does anyone know where that cia chip is then or dont anyone know lol.

how about a picture of the 1200 board where all the chips are located that would be nice pleeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssseeeeeeeeee
webhead is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 17:47   #24
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by webhead View Post
so does anyone know where that cia chip is then or dont anyone know lol.

how about a picture of the 1200 board where all the chips are located that would be nice pleeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssseeeeeeeeee

At the link below click to Amiga model and clones option; on selecting A1200 you have big pictures of available version motherboards.

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/

I hope this could help you.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 18:44   #25
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
hi been there it dont tell you where the chips are though.
webhead is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 19:52   #26
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Made a quick picture of the A1200 with names of the important chips. Don't know if it helps with your problem, tough.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1200MB.jpg
Views:	981
Size:	325.4 KB
ID:	14541  
thor is offline  
Old 16 August 2007, 21:38   #27
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor View Post
Made a quick picture of the A1200 with names of the important chips. Don't know if it helps with your problem, tough.

many thanks thats great but which 1 would stop it from booting like the 500 now theres a question.

great picture now i know where bits are i can try and understand what does what which helps.

cheers.

i just found an interesting site.

http://www.amiga-digital.nl/N_frame..../N_art_70.html

Last edited by webhead; 16 August 2007 at 21:49.
webhead is offline  
Old 18 August 2007, 05:32   #28
mykrowyre
 
Posts: n/a
Do you have an accelerator in it or ram expansion? If so, make sure the shielding is not touching the pcb (check both sides, it's hard to see it).
 
Old 03 September 2007, 21:52   #29
JonSick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 240
This is a CIA problem.

The erratic booting suggests to me that you have power supply problems also which is either causing CIA to malfunction or just two problem at once.

Yes 15 year old caps can cause strange things.

The custom chips are generally hard-wearing and shouldn't die for no reason.

If you have the know how, you may want to go about replacing all the caps on the board. It really is as good as putting your amiga back to factory condition.

Get a pro to do it if you are not sure however.



Jon
JonSick is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reVisor 1200/Kickflash 1200 - a flashable kickstart solution!!! spoUP Amiga scene 8 05 August 2014 18:25
MBX 1200 Dead Ram board cosmicfrog support.Hardware 16 20 September 2009 01:32
Indivision AGA 1200 and FastATA 1200 - fitty or pity? 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 17 September 2009 04:20
Is my Amiga 1200 hard drive dead? Soulshaker support.Hardware 32 10 April 2005 23:21
Dead 1200 Uplink7 support.Hardware 8 03 December 2004 05:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16117 seconds with 15 queries