English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2007, 05:19   #1
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
Can't get the Workbench 1.3 request screen

i just replaced a rev 6a motherboard. unfortunately, after it boots, screen turns grey, turns white and just hangs there. white screen should turn into "request for workbench disk" screen but it never gets that far. internal floppy is operational. any suggestions?
NfernalNfluence is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 August 2007, 07:34   #2
narmi
Guru Meditation Error
narmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 92
I had the same problem with my A1000, it turned out to be a bad CIA chip. I swapped one with my A500, and A1000 now works. When I put the bad CIA chip in the A500 it didn't work, just showed a white screen as you have described.

I bought a replacement CIA on eBay from this auction, it cost me less than $6 including postage.
narmi is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 11:33   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
As a quick fix you could try swapping the CIA chips over to see if it makes any difference.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 19:46   #4
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
thanks guys, how difficult of a task is this? does it require some practice? i'm a novice at chip switching!
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 20:11   #5
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
It's dead easy. Just lever them both out very carefully with a flathead screwdriver - be very careful not to break/bend any pins. Then just put them back in each other's sockets. Of course be sure to notice which way they go round... don't fit them wrong

If you need some pics of A500 CIAs they look like the top picture here:
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha...gi?HARDID=1455

Have a look... if you don't fancy doing it get a friend to help.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 25 August 2007, 06:02   #6
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i'm experiencing a problem removing the CIAs without damaging surrounding components including the CIAs themselves. so much i'm afraid to put any effort into it. i was able to dislodge the 68000 and 1.3 rom chip without a problem with a flathead.there doesn't seem to be enough room (between the chips & the board) for me to begin the process of prying out the CIAs

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 25 August 2007 at 07:03.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 25 August 2007, 08:45   #7
narmi
Guru Meditation Error
narmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 92
You need a flathead with a thinner blade. The screwdriver I used came from a set of precision screwdrivers I bought for $1 from a dollar store. They are pretty common and easy to find (and handy too!).
narmi is offline  
Old 27 August 2007, 10:32   #8
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i was able to switch CIA (odd) chips but to no avail. still the same prob. should i've switch the CIA (even) as well or should i just following the troubleshooting guide and proceed with Paula?

http://home.arcor.de/kickstart/TKA/T.../trouble2.html

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 27 August 2007 at 10:39.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic Workbench Welcome screen Fabie support.Apps 4 19 November 2014 18:03
workbench lite & bootdisk request pubzombie support.Apps 0 06 January 2010 09:35
Workbench 1.3.4 disks (request) Maren MarketPlace 0 23 November 2009 16:33
Workbench screen question. Thorham Coders. General 10 31 August 2008 19:31
icons on Workbench screen. redblade support.Apps 1 21 July 2004 06:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19463 seconds with 14 queries