English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2017, 01:04   #1
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
GOLD2 released for V600 V2 and V500 V2(+)

GOLD2 is officially released for V600 V2 and V500 V2(+) !

Changed are :
* AMMX greatly improved
* Added CPU counters
* Added TURTLE mode
* Modified PCR register. 68080 now acts as a 060.
* Modified MOVEC Rc,Rn (reads in User mode and Writes in Supervisor mode)
* Improved some loops patterns
* Improved self-modifying code support
* Improved memory controller to be full 32-bit
* Improved HDMI core

Also, SAGA Driver package has been updated to 0.11 to accomodate new things.

All info and downloads are on :
http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/doku.php?id=start

Many thanks to all the team for the huge work put into that release !
TuKo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 January 2017, 01:51   #2
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 79
no FPU yet.
Estrayk is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 01:52   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,641
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
no FPU yet.
Lol, I just tried to find the same improvement . Maybe in the Platinum edition...
Retrofan is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 03:52   #4
rshimada
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
no FPU yet.
Out of curiosity, what Amiga application(s) do you have that need an FPU? The threads I found had very short lists.
rshimada is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 03:57   #5
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 265
Just about any 060 demo since the late 90's...
UberFreak is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 05:56   #6
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
You can always watch videos of the demos on the Amiga now
IanP is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 07:55   #7
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Just about any 060 demo since the late 90's...
Most of which also need AGA...

The AMMX-stuff in Gold2 relies on the same foundations as the FPU, thus, the FPU may be near.
grond is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 08:32   #8
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by rshimada View Post
Out of curiosity, what Amiga application(s) do you have that need an FPU? The threads I found had very short lists.
3D apps (Lightwave, Real 3D, Imagine). As someone mostly wants a Vampire to do 3D on my Amiga, I'm really keen to see that FPU implemented, it makes a huge difference.
Marchie is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 12:56   #9
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,343
There are many RTG demos out there, however most of them require FPU. This is my main reason for having an FPU.

Edit: Oh, and thanks a lot to the Vampire team for the amazing work you put into this.
demolition is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 13:03   #10
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 166
This is very exciting news, thank you! Amazing work.

However, that being said, after update nothing works anymore with my Vampire 600. WB3.1 and WB3.9 barely loads but after that constant guru meditations, reboots, programs won't load etc. On top of that HDMI problems, picture goes black every few seconds and there are interference. System is pretty much unusable. I am gathering courage to downgrade to GOLD core, but system crashes so often that I bet it will crash on the middle of flashing also. I am quite sure team would release this unstable core so I bet this must be compatibility problem. Did anyone test this with rev1 (Amiga 300) as A300 is known to have compatibility issues with other accelerators also?

Edit: Ok, seems to be software incompatibility issue. Booted without user-startup and works fine. I'll proceed finding out which individual software causes the trouble. I do not have much, Poseidon, Picasso96, Miami...

Edit2: Everythign works now flawlessly. I do not know where the problems did arise, but after couple of cold boots everything started to work.

Last edited by jarp; 24 January 2017 at 13:44.
jarp is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 13:25   #11
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 184
Send a message via Skype™ to Marlon_
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarp View Post

Edit: Ok, seems to be software incompatibility issue. Booted without user-startup and works fine. I'll proceed finding out which individual software causes the trouble. I do not have much, Poseidon, Picasso96, Miami...
Have you updated the SAGA driver?

Also:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo-Core Forums
If you like to use Kick 3.9 (AmigaOS ROM Update BB39-2) with GOLD2 core, you need to patch your DEVS:AmigaOS ROM Update -file and modify SetPatch command line in your Startup-Sequence. Download your SAGA2 update package and spatch.68k:

http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/spatch
http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/doku.php?id=start

Copy ARU_Vampire_1_2.pch to SYS: (it's in GOLD2\Extras -folder), spatch.68k file to C:. Before you reboot your BoingBag39-2 installation run spatch.68k:
C:spatch.68k -o="DEVS:AmigaOS ROM Update" -p=SYS:ARU_Vampire_1_2.pch "DEVS:AmigaOS ROM Update.BB39-2"
Then modify Startup-Sequence:
SetPatch SKIPROMUPDATES scsi.device
Now you are ready to reboot for your BoingBag39-2 installation.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 13:42   #12
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Have you updated the SAGA driver?

Also:
Yes I did update SAGA drivers and added NOROMUPDATE for setpatch (before first reboot after the flash). I do not use BB2 rom update as I read somewhere that it's not needed really with Vampire...?

However, and this is the damnest thing I've ever encountered, after couple of reboots ALL the symptoms went away even though I re-enabled original user-startup. No HDMI problems, no crashes, nothing. Rock solid. I cannot explain what has happened. Flash instructions file said that power off Amiga after flash at least for 10 seconds. I did power off it for 30 seconds just to be sure. Still, I cannot think anything else than that 30 seconds was not enough and something remained in some RAM, old Kickstart, some FPGA related magic or something...

Well, anyways, rock solid now and feaking amazing job Apollo Team, thanks!
jarp is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 14:01   #13
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 184
Send a message via Skype™ to Marlon_
Maybe it just needed to warm up? Power supply issue? But if you didn't have this issue before updating, I don't know. Best would probably be no notify Majsta.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 14:31   #14
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 166
Ok, it crashed again, I was doing nothing else than playing music via AmigaAmp. I'll keep on investigating but if somebody else has an Amiga 300, would be interesting to hear if you have any troubles.

I doubt hardware failure as I have a good PSU (modern switching mode one) and no troubles ever before the flash. Must be a compatibility issue.
jarp is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 14:35   #15
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 184
Send a message via Skype™ to Marlon_
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarp View Post
Ok, it crashed again, I was doing nothing else than playing music via AmigaAmp. I'll keep on investigating but if somebody else has an Amiga 300, would be interesting to hear if you have any troubles.

I doubt hardware failure as I have a good PSU (modern switching mode one) and no troubles ever before the flash. Must be a compatibility issue.
Is your kickstart rom by any chance still installed? I've heard of some people having issues with it being installed.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 14:46   #16
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 166
Indeed I have ROM chip still installed. I had it removed for a while but found no other place to securely store it so I thought that I can just as well keep it inside my Amiga. I'll try to remove it, let's see if it changes anything.

Previous crash could've just been coincidence though. I mean after the flash symptoms were very bad. HDMI blacked out every few seconds and I could not do anything at all. Now I can use WB no problems so it's nothing like just after the flash. I've encountered crashes before, rarely, but nevertheless I have.

In any case, very, VERY exciting stuff. Who would ever thought how far Amiga can be pushed. If they manage to pull off FPU also, it's beyond awesome.

Edit: I can confirm that the crash was unique event. I've been listening music since I wrote that message and no problems at all. Awesome.

Last edited by jarp; 24 January 2017 at 18:21.
jarp is offline  
Old 24 January 2017, 14:54   #17
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 184
Send a message via Skype™ to Marlon_
Yeah, this is a very awesome project indeed. And I hope to see it get pushed even further!
Imagine what could be done with a more expensive and faster FPGA!
Marlon_ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenXcom 0.9 RELEASED! Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 15 May 2013 20:53
WinUAE 2.2.0 released Toni Wilen News 23 04 July 2010 10:56
Never released??? tomcat666 project.aGTW 18 18 January 2010 15:44
WinUAE 1.5.2 released Toni Wilen News 17 06 September 2008 09:34
16.6 Released alexh project.WHDLoad 6 09 June 2006 11:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33808 seconds with 14 queries