English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2019, 22:38   #81
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 3:

- Subpixel emulation + borderblank: sprite end was 1 hires pixel before bitplane end, leaving 1 hires pixel gap in right border.
- On the fly chipset change support improved. (More OCS/ECS/AGA custom registers differences supported)
- ECS Denise + Subpixel emulation mode + Superhires Display panel setting + not Superhires mode: do not enable ECS Superhires (max 4 colors) emulation mode.
- GUI corruption in some theme modes fixed (b2).
ross is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 23:28   #82
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4300b3.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4300b3.7z

Beta 3:

- Subpixel emulation + borderblank: sprite end was 1 hires pixel before bitplane end, leaving 1 hires pixel gap in right border.
- On the fly chipset change support improved. (More OCS/ECS/AGA custom registers differences supported)
- ECS Denise + Subpixel emulation mode + Superhires Display panel setting + not Superhires mode: do not enable ECS Superhires (max 4 colors) emulation mode.
- GUI corruption in some theme modes fixed (b2).
hexaae is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 14:47   #83
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
I'am just watching "Freezers-Lech" demo ... seems like some problem after building rotation part in Beta3 ! (quickstart A1200 basic)

EDIT: Seems like same problem in "SCOOPEX-Alien" demo at some parts also! (And in "ANDROMEDA-Nexus7" demo also!)

Last edited by amilo3438; 01 November 2019 at 16:50.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 15:12   #84
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I'am just watching "Freezers-Lech" demo ... seems like some problem after building rotation part in Beta3 ! (quickstart A1200 basic)
You are right.

Is BRDSPRT=1 ignored after DIWSTOP x position
(so background sprites are variabily blanked at right screen position).

EDIT.
A save state for Toni.

EDIT2: removed

Last edited by ross; 01 November 2019 at 18:49. Reason: fixed by Toni :)
ross is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 17:50   #85
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,360
Fixed. I only tested left side border sprites
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 18:49   #86
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Fixed. I only tested left side border sprites
Works
ross is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 19:51   #87
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
More problems ...

Found some gfx glitches in "Noxious-BeyondBelief" demo after the "wet-window" part and also in part after that! (not happens in Winuae4210)

Testing config: quickstart A1200 4MB Fast + chipset/cycle-exact (full) enabled
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 21:12   #88
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 898
How can I test super hires and sub pixel? Which games (if any) support these features?
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 21:20   #89
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
More problems ...

Found some gfx glitches in "Noxious-BeyondBelief" demo after the "wet-window" part and also in part after that! (not happens in Winuae4210)

Testing config: quickstart A1200 4MB Fast + chipset/cycle-exact (full) enabled

Hi,

same issue.

2 savestates are in the 7z archive.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Noxious.7z (2.36 MB, 30 views)
Zarnal is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 21:24   #90
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,360
"Removed all 68020 cycle-exact CPU mode internal idle cycles. It wasn't good enough design (as expected), need to start from scratch later.. again.. It made real 68020 best case results too slow. (and worst case was still too fast..)"

-> these kinds of "bugs" are normal. As usual, something now works, something works less. All normal.

EDIT: in other words, don't compare full cycle-exact mode differences. If there are differences in memory cycle exact (or without CE), them it could be "real" bug.
Next attempt: perhaps next summer..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 01 November 2019 at 21:58.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 22:33   #91
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Removed all 68020 cycle-exact CPU mode internal idle cycles. It wasn't good enough design (as expected), need to start from scratch later.. again.. It made real 68020 best case results too slow. (and worst case was still too fast..)"
Of course, no use of modeling cycle-exact 68020 CPU mode idle cycles without knowing real info of how 68020 internal sequencer works. (it would be just a guessing, IMHO)
Leave it as it ... it behaves "good enough" in many cases. In other cases, turning off the cycle-exact and playing with "approximate" slider could possibly help.

EDIT: Anyway, it behaves better now than before.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 05:32   #92
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 136
Beta 3 still has some GUI corruption issues on my setup, though it is still is a huge improvement over Beta 2. You can see from the screenshots that portions of interface elements from the window immediately behind that of WinUAE "show through" when list elements are selected from the left side of the WinUAE GUI.

Clicking elements anywhere else within WinUAE doesn't seem to cause any trouble; it seems that only the list elements on the left have any issues. There are also no apparent problems when there is no window behind WinUAE.

I am running Windows 7 with the Windows Classic theme on an nVidia GT 425M GPU. Startup logs attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_qKiXTsmcfj.png
Views:	79
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	65058   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_rgeOja5Snl.png
Views:	76
Size:	44.6 KB
ID:	65059   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_sbCdXUHRmD.png
Views:	75
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	65060  
Attached Files
File Type: 7z WinUAE GUI Corruption Logs.7z (7.0 KB, 23 views)
superfrog is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 13:11   #93
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,762
I'm sometimes getting sections still highlight in blue when clicking on another:



I clicked "Configurations" first and then when selecting any other sections, "Configurations" is still highlighted.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 19:41   #94
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,360
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_4300b4.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_4300b4.7z

Beta 4:

- AGA border sprites enabled: sprite was still clipped to horizontal display window end. (b3)
- Fastlane SCSI DMA controller address configuration emulation was incomplete. (Address bus is used for bits 0 to 23, upper 8 data bits for 24 to 31)
- A2024 monitor didn't show full viewable area. (4.0) It still won't work correctly if multimonitor mode is enabled. A2024 is a special case, it is basically display port adapter but it is not hardwired to chipset timing/display size/position like all other display port adapters.
- Remaining (?) GUI update glitch fixed. (b2)
- Added Trojan light gun preset to Game ports panel. Trojan fire button is joystick left. Standard light pen/gun fire button is 3rd mouse/joystick button.
- PPC board without ROM or zero size ROM and 68060 CPU with FPU: Generated fake boot ROM didn't include FPU disable boot code. Since 4.1.0 68060 FPU is not disabled when emulated accelerator board is configured.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 19:48   #95
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,762
Thank you Master Wilen
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 13:58   #96
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Toni I noticed that on OS 4.1 Emulation active JIT + Video Card Picasso IV, WinUAE crashes, if active JIT + UAE Zorro III Card everything works regularly

I used with WinUAE 4300 beta.x the same config and same HardFile !
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 14:23   #97
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,360
Some lagless beamracing adjustment testing.

Replaced D3DKMT_GETSCANLINE calls with simple "time since last vsync" scanline calculation and at least on my hardware beamracing is again stable (some nvidia driver or something update made it quite unstable some time ago).

D3DKMT_GETSCANLINE seems to require some internal driver lock that can stall driver operations and after whatever update it is even more slow..

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z

Notes:

END+F9 shows color bars that shows stability of timing.
Slice vertical positioning still needs some extra handling.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 10 November 2019 at 15:29.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 15:09   #98
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Windows 8 or later only (requires D3DKMT_WAITFORVERTICALBLANKEVENT)


...but at the end of the day, beamracing never worked on my Windows 7 [64-bit] / NVidia GeForce GT 540M laptop anyway.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 15:29   #99
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post


...but at the end of the day, beamracing never worked on my Windows 7 [64-bit] / NVidia GeForce GT 540M laptop anyway.
Above was wrong, it is supported since Vista. There was side-effect which that made it useless in earlier Windows versions but this method should be compatible.

winuae.7z updated. (but laptops will always have problem with this method..)


Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Toni I noticed that on OS 4.1 Emulation active JIT + Video Card Picasso IV, WinUAE crashes, if active JIT + UAE Zorro III Card everything works regularly

I used with WinUAE 4300 beta.x the same config and same HardFile !
Not enough information.
- no logs
- no config
- no information which was last working version
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 15:40   #100
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Above was wrong, it is supported since Vista. There was side-effect which that made it useless in earlier Windows versions but this method should be compatible.

winuae.7z updated. (but laptops will always have problem with this method..)
Thanks for the update, might as well give it a try anyway.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (3 members and 2 guests)
Shaytan, bagpipes, amigafreak68k
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE >= 3.3.0 crash on Win 10 Insider Preview 18282 before pressing start. hceline support.WinUAE 9 04 January 2019 23:55
WinUAE complete Changelog? rsn8887 support.WinUAE 2 24 February 2018 07:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09478 seconds with 14 queries