English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2018, 17:30   #1
DarrenB
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1
New Amiga owner needing help.

Hello, I never had or used an Amiga before ... I had an Atari ST instead in my childhood (still have it even)

But in few a boxs of retro bits I got I found 6 amiga's (2 x 500, 2 x 600 and 2 x 1200)

I've downloaded lots of TOSEC amiga stuff from the googledrive mirror of the FTP and some other stuff of archive.org.

I want to use clrmame pro to sort out my amiga disk images which are all in different folders, I tried to use clrmame pro but could not work out what I was supposed to be doing. I just want to make a nice folder set with all images in correct folders, list of missing, and unrecognised images in another folder.

Anybody able to guide me?

Also planning to upgrade the Amiga 1200's got a compact flash adapter and 4gb cf ... May get a larger one when I know how it works (one of the Amiga's is on kickstart 3.0, the other on 3.1 - believe 3.1 can cope with larger drives? Just the boot partition limited to 4gb? Is this correct?
DarrenB is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 17:41   #2
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 990
Welcome to the forum DarrenB

I can't help you with clrmame since i never used it, but sure other members will help you
chip is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 02:49   #3
Honey Badger
Registered User

Honey Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 53
Posts: 57
no idea on clrmame pro - don't use it, nor even mame in general ....

but, can speak to CF as hard drives ... 4 GB is this limit typically, but there are ways around it

for example :
https://16bitdust.wordpress.com/2015...nuae-and-pfs3/
Honey Badger is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 13:44   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,657
To be a little more specific, the boot partition must reside entirely within the first 4GB of the disk. Having a 1GB boot partition is no good if it straddles the 4GB boundary, for example. This is because the IDE driver (scsi.device) in the ROM itself only supports up to 4GB, so you need to be able to boot that partition in order to load an updated IDE driver that can then handle more or less any size.

That limit is the same in Kickstart 3.0 and 3.1. Newer Kickstarts such as 3.1.4 have updated IDE drivers that can handle large drives from cold boot if installed as a physical replacement for the original 3.0/3.1 ROMs.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 14:14   #5
fatbob_gb
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Preston UK
Posts: 52
I use RomVaullt to keep track of my TOSEC files. It is not necessarily any better than ClrMamepro but for a multidat collection I found it easier to get up and running.
fatbob_gb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time Amiga owner. EchoesFox Member Introductions 4 02 October 2018 08:30
New Amiga 500 owner ApolloBoy2 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 28 25 June 2012 05:57
Help for a new Amiga owner using a CF please mancity support.Hardware 18 27 April 2012 18:29
Proud Owner of a Amiga CD32 need a little help. Rushfan1974 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 17 January 2011 23:14
Total noob needing help with Amiga Forever Kitt New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 10 August 2007 01:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06274 seconds with 15 queries