English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 November 2018, 08:35   #21
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,986
Good luck davide78 on your exciting Amiga journey. Enjoy it and remember to have a creative and great time.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 20 November 2018, 12:06   #22
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 27
If I would ever get a bigbox amiga, then it would be an A3000. It is a machine that always fascinated me, since I saw it for the first time in magazines when I was a kid. For some reason, I do not feel the same for the other bigbox models.
davide78 is offline  
Old 20 November 2018, 17:29   #23
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide78 View Post
If I would ever get a bigbox amiga, then it would be an A3000. It is a machine that always fascinated me, since I saw it for the first time in magazines when I was a kid. For some reason, I do not feel the same for the other bigbox models.
How about A4000 in A3000 case?
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 20 November 2018, 17:58   #24
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
How about A4000 in A3000 case?
Is it possible? Can you exchange the motherboards between the two?
davide78 is offline  
Old 20 November 2018, 18:55   #25
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide78 View Post
Is it possible? Can you exchange the motherboards between the two?
I don't have idea.
I was kind of joking

However, I don't think its impossible, for some skilled people.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 17 December 2018, 02:48   #26
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 502
The first thing you should do is open up your Amiga and check if there is any leakage from those capacitors. If so, you or someone else must replace them with high-grade, Panasonic ones. That is what I did when I found out that the floppy drive in my newly-acquired A1200 dismounted disks by myself, because the electrolytic fluid leaked onto the logic board where the floppy controller is.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 18 December 2018, 19:17   #27
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 27
Hi! I'm back to let you know that I found a complete A600 set with 1Mb Chip Ram expansion, pre-installed CF and 2Mb PCMCIA Fast Ram for a good price, that is now sitting on my desk

I already played with it for some days, starting with a clean reinstall of GAAE ClassicWB (it comes with 2.05 kickstart), and now I am enjoying the games!
Most of WHDLoad games work just fine, even though sometimes they stutter when loading from disk. Some have corrupted graphics, like BCKid and Gods: any idea on the possible reasons?

The next steps are to check if everything works correctly, and in particular if the caps need replacement. I cannot see any leaking, however, some of the biggest caps are not perfectly vertical: they "lean" a bit. Is this a problem?
davide78 is offline  
Old 19 December 2018, 07:19   #28
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,790
No idea on the corrupted graphics, but the reason they are "stuttering" when loading is because PRELOAD is disabled (possibly due to insufficient fast).
Hewitson is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 11:26   #29
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
is because PRELOAD is disabled (possibly due to insufficient fast).
Thanks. PRELOAD seems to be enabled, at least for the games I checked. 2Mb of Fast may not be enough for the more complex games.
davide78 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying an Amiga HD cable Manos request.Other 5 27 March 2014 20:59
Are you buying Amiga X1000? Amiga Forever Amiga scene 223 11 December 2013 02:40
Buying an LCD TV to use with Amiga... Nostromo support.Hardware 14 23 March 2009 21:35
Realised something about buying an Amiga Raid27 Amiga scene 7 29 June 2007 18:23
Buying an Amiga Mr Softy Retrogaming General Discussion 28 16 January 2003 22:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08000 seconds with 15 queries