English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2016, 01:20   #41
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You're right. And if you want to put two headers, I am sure you can power TWO Amigas with one brick! I haven't tried this but I think I will, my on-the-road Amigas currently have regular power bricks and I need a lightweight method to get them to work because I am tired of lugging those old pieces of shit.
Akira is offline  
Old 26 January 2016, 06:04   #42
Steve T
Registered User

Steve T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
You're right. And if you want to put two headers, I am sure you can power TWO Amigas with one brick!
You should have worked for Commodore!
Steve T is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 12:02   #43
iddqd
Registered User

iddqd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oslo
Posts: 68
Quote:
Yeah someone in these boards have done this, opened up an old brick, took everything out from inside and put a picoPSU + laptop brick in it. Should work fine.
I've seen that one. But I was thinking of having the laptop adaptor outside, so I also can use it... with my laptop. And get rid of the huge Power Brick. Thus have a small external box with the pico and acdc converter. Problem would be to find a power connector to the Amiga, unless someone have a broken power brick.
iddqd is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 14:27   #44
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Airey36, on e-bay, has a lot of stuff like that.
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 15:23   #45
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve T View Post
why not? - you just need a housing, i think it would be a neat solution to package the pico and its AC-DC converter inside one of the old C= bricks... sure I've seen similar mods before, just replace the guts of the PSU and re-use the stock wiring and connector.
Yeah, I did that as well: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=70315

Only downside to that method is that it won't eliminate the voltage drop over the Amiga side PSU cable due to its thin dimension, so I lose about 0.25V across the standard cable. You won't have that problem with the PicoPSU inside the Amiga. I am now building another Amiga PSU where I will be using a much thicker dimension cable with a solder-connector so I should get a much better voltage level inside the Amiga.
demolition is offline  
Old 27 January 2016, 15:34   #46
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,406
Are you sure that's to do with the cable dimensions? That seems like quite a substantial drop, and I know I've had much closer to 5.0V inside my Amigas on the standard PSU. Are you sure the drop isn't caused by resistance across the PSU connector contacts? Those sockets aren't particularly great, and the plugs can tarnish.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 27 January 2016, 15:37   #47
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,756
I can't be sure but I see the same with all my Amigas and the voltage is close to 5V at the PSU. With the original, the voltage is a bit higher, but then it is also closer to 5.1V at the supply. I guess I'll find out when I finish my new PSU with the better cable.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a picoPSU: tired of the problems. Please help. Akira Hardware mods 103 13 May 2017 06:52
Adaptor for picoPSU Solo761 support.Hardware 18 19 May 2014 16:02
Amiga ruined picoPSU? Akira support.Hardware 31 05 January 2014 03:54
PicoPSU for Amiga demolition Hardware mods 3 07 August 2013 17:05
DESPERATE! Help with PicoPSU :( Akira Hardware mods 40 14 November 2008 10:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06885 seconds with 13 queries