English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2015, 21:42   #1
Monkfish
 
Posts: n/a
Floppy disk Gotek + A500 ACTUAL floppy drive noise

Ahoy,

Received my Gotek yesterday, I'm trying to pair it up with my stock A500 drive on the same channel so that the Gotek provides the data whilst the stock drive makes the right noises, no joy so far


Basically like this guy,

[ Show youtube player ]

Anyone had success doing this? I can "kind of" get it to work, it makes the right noises and looks to be trying but won't boot anything!
 
Old 06 November 2015, 11:50   #2
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 806
how many pins did you connect? Only connect sel/ds0, mtr, dir and step to the real floppy drive.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 06 November 2015, 14:49   #3
Monkfish
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
how many pins did you connect? Only connect sel/ds0, mtr, dir and step to the real floppy drive.
Aha! Too many then I'll mod the cable to suit your advice, many thanks sir
 
Old 06 November 2015, 15:27   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I don't see what you mean in the video. Can you explain better what you are trying to achieve?
Akira is offline  
Old 06 November 2015, 15:51   #5
Monkfish
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I don't see what you mean in the video. Can you explain better what you are trying to achieve?
Sure, the gotek drive provides all the data whilst the floppy drive does nothing but provide all the right noises

I know you can use a buzzer mod, but it sounds cack IMO!
 
Old 13 March 2016, 13:54   #6
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
how many pins did you connect? Only connect sel/ds0, mtr, dir and step to the real floppy drive.
I did this mod yesterday. The floppy drive motor is spinning and it reads a little bit when my Gotek loads games but not fully. It just seems to load a couple of times. Motor continues to spin and stop when it should stop though. I tested with X-copy checkdisk. Only the motor was running but only the first track reading sound.

What am I doing wrong? I have all the groundings connected and sel/ds0, mtr, dir and step.

Last edited by turrican9; 13 March 2016 at 14:59.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 13 March 2016, 16:02   #7
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
I need to know the exact wires that needs to connect to the real floppy drive as I am very close to having it working properly. Here is a picture of the floppy connector

turrican9 is offline  
Old 13 March 2016, 17:19   #8
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
It seems that having _TRK0 connected is the only way to make the floppy drive load tracks at the same time the Gotek does. However, the Gotek refuses to boot any ADFs when this wire is connected to the real drive. It tries and then just go back to insert floppy screen. This is driving me insane. What am i doing wrong???
turrican9 is offline  
Old 16 June 2016, 18:56   #9
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,077
Can someone show a picture of the there floppy connected to the Gotek please,so I can see the wires..?

Is it possible to connect a floppy drive to the Gotek and to the Amiga and be able to use the floppy drive if you want too?
spannernick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to copy from floppy drive to Gotek adf? amigaosx support.Hardware 4 17 February 2016 12:47
New external floppy drive case + interface ready for Gotek & HxC strim News 4 03 July 2015 18:00
Help with Gotek floppy emulator on A500 1.3 Brick Nash support.Hardware 7 04 April 2015 18:55
Gotek External Floppy Disk Drive adapter? alexh support.Hardware 7 01 October 2014 13:00
FS: GOTEK Floppy Drive Emulator for AMIGA (fw1.5a) + USB TTL cable LTAC MarketPlace 17 06 July 2014 15:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09352 seconds with 13 queries