English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2019, 00:01   #321
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Theres a memory option to allocate Rom to chip or any etc.
I'll look, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
have you made any other ISOs and have they worked?
Yeah, I made an iso of the first POP-Shapeshifter "prototype", burnt it, tested on real CD32 and it worked just fine.
I used the default settings in ISOCD then. (cdtv.tm, default ISO9660 parameters)

Now the furthest I got is the Mac OS screen not finding the hvf to boot from. The disc label is the same as that of the vhd.
wairnair is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 11:24   #322
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Warcraft would be very cool indeed
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
I can do Warcraft for fun nevertheless..

edit: after a bit of holiday
All I really need is a .HFV file created for Warcraft; I can do the rest
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 20:12   #323
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
All I really need is a .HFV file created for Warcraft; I can do the rest
Look in the Zone. It is cracked, just press OK when it asks for the CD.
However, sound fx only and no music because it would the CD for that.

The DOS version had great midi tracks, seems like they're missing from the Mac version.

Manual says a 040 is needed, but I played this on an A1200+030. It was pretty slow though.
wairnair is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 20:17   #324
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Thanks man; I'll take a look

Oh, just noticed you've done "Warcraft II"; which I would imagine to be quite slow...

How about just plain Warcraft: Orcs & Humans? That's what I was after
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 20:27   #325
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,313
There is HFV Cammy uploaded I think is on the file server it had various games maybe Warcarft.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 21:05   #326
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thanks man; I'll take a look

Oh, just noticed you've done "Warcraft II"; which I would imagine to be quite slow...

How about just plain Warcraft: Orcs & Humans? That's what I was after
I gave it a try with Basilisk.

Warcraft1.0.8.sit_.bin (70.77 MB) works but your units crawl (fastest game speed) despite everything else is super fast.

Warcraft.toast_.sit (182.54 MB) - installed full version, Basilisk crashed, ShapeShifter loads sounds forever.
wairnair is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 21:06   #327
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
There is HFV Cammy uploaded I think is on the file server it had various games maybe Warcarft.
If possible and not too much trouble; I'd love a .HFV file of just Warcraft: Orcs & Humans to try out

Anyone that knows me knows that I dislike multi-game stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
I gave it a try with Basilisk.

Warcraft1.0.8.sit_.bin (70.77 MB) works but your units crawl (fastest game speed) despite everything else is super fast.

Warcraft.toast_.sit (182.54 MB) - installed full version, Basilisk crashed, ShapeShifter loads sounds forever.
Oh well; appreciate you trying

Last edited by DamienD; 12 September 2019 at 21:18.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 21:31   #328
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Look in the Zone. It is cracked, just press OK when it asks for the CD.
However, sound fx only and no music because it would the CD for that.

The DOS version had great midi tracks, seems like they're missing from the Mac version.

Manual says a 040 is needed, but I played this on an A1200+030. It was pretty slow though.
Just tried "Warcraft II" and it actually runs ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Warcraft1.0.8.sit_.bin (70.77 MB) works but your units crawl (fastest game speed) despite everything else is super fast.

Warcraft.toast_.sit (182.54 MB) - installed full version, Basilisk crashed, ShapeShifter loads sounds forever.
Do you think you could pop these in The Zone! anyway so I can have a try?
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 September 2019, 23:15   #329
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Warcraft II - Tides of Darkness...



Anyone that wants to try this in my collection, just download from here and extract into "C:\WinUAE"

Many thanks again to wairnair

Last edited by DamienD; 12 September 2019 at 23:35.
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 09:59   #330
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Just tried "Warcraft II" and it actually runs ok


Do you think you could pop these in The Zone! anyway so I can have a try?
no prob I can do it this afternoon
wairnair is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 10:48   #331
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
no prob I can do it this afternoon
Thank you kindly sir
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 13:52   #332
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Mega link: https://mega.nz/#!94QyVIbb!HBOxDw_df...DFJli_4Xl7MIHM

I had better luck with "Warcraft_sometimes_works.hfv"

However, it is likely to crash when it loads the game sounds.
When it first starts up it runs sort of a demo. If you start the game after this demo, it seems to work every time.

Thing is you need to delete the Warcraft preferences from MacOS/System Folder/Preferences for this demo to auto-start AFAIK.

ShapeShifter prefs and OS+game hvf's are included.

Good luck

Last edited by wairnair; 13 September 2019 at 20:42.
wairnair is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 14:46   #333
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Cheers; I'll take a look when home tonight
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 21:21   #334
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
I had better luck with "Warcraft_sometimes_works.hfv"

However, it is likely to crash when it loads the game sounds.
When it first starts up it runs sort of a demo. If you start the game after this demo, it seems to work every time.

Thing is you need to delete the Warcraft preferences from MacOS/System Folder/Preferences for this the demo to auto-start AFAIK.

ShapeShifter prefs and OS+game hvf's are included.

Good luck
Ok, so have been playing around for a couple of hours now...

Both versions work fine the first time I load them but if I then quit the Amiga and afterwards try starting the game again, it crashes at loading sounds...

Very weird indeed, but as you say, probably something to do with the game's prefs file that gets saved.

I also tried making the main OS.hfv file "read-only". If I do this the game loads everytime but as soon as I click on a character it crashes back to the MAC OS...

Here are some thought; as I'm not sure what you've set and don't know how to check
  • How much RAM is assigned to the MAC side of things? Can this be upped?
  • How much spare disk space is on the main OS.hsv? Can this also be upped?
The reason why I say the last part is that I noticed the in the game's preferences it's set to "Cache on hard drive". If I turn this off though I don't get very far...

Last edited by DamienD; 13 September 2019 at 21:40.
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 September 2019, 23:05   #335
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Warcraft II - Tides of Darkness...



Anyone that wants to try this in my collection, just download from here and extract into "C:\WinUAE"

Many thanks again to wairnair
I made a mistake yesterday; see this post
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 11:14   #336
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
How much RAM is assigned to the MAC side of things? Can this be upped?
It was 20MB and while it can be upped the manual says 8MB is required and an extra 1000k if "Cache on hard drive" is disabled - which loads all sounds into memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
How much spare disk space is on the main OS.hsv? Can this also be upped?
700k-ish, not much, but I tried OS 7.6.1 with plenty of space and it made no difference.

HOWEVER, I think I got running reliably. I checked "Apple hard disk emulation" and "Summer mode" under ShapeShifter's prefs. Also upped RAM to 32MB anyway.

And now miraculously the game starts every time. Find the prefs file attached, let me know if it works for you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ShapeShifter Prefs.zip (369 Bytes, 4 views)
wairnair is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 13:39   #337
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Awesome; many thanks for this

Although I have problems when using the "ShapeShifter Prefs" file. Upon booting:



Took a look at the file; and the file paths are set to your CF: card and completely different to the first POP / POP 2 hard drive your created (which is what all the games I use are based on):



This is the structure of the first POP / POP 2 hard drive your created:



Anyway, I tried making a "Mac/ShapeShifter" folder and then copied the "Video Drivers" folder in. Tried to boot into the MAC OS but get this:

DamienD is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 13:45   #338
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Although I have problems when using the "ShapeShifter Prefs"
Oh I didn't intend this prefs as a replacement for the compilation and yes the paths are specific to my hard drive. Sorry about that.
I just wanted to give you the things I ticked in it.

It should work though once you change the paths to both hvf's and the video driver.

Flashing "?" means it can't find the OS disk to boot from. Are you sure you set it up correctly?
wairnair is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 14:08   #339
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Oh I didn't intend this prefs as a replacement for the compilation and yes the paths are specific to my hard drive. Sorry about that.
I just wanted to give you the things I ticked in it.

It should work though once you change the paths to both hvf's and the video driver.
I don't know how to do this unfortunately... I played with trying to get Shapeshifter working but failed miserably.

This is why I just hacked your original POP .HDF; and when I want to create .HDFs for new games just copy the ".hfv" file over, make some small text file adjustments etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
Flashing "?" means it can't find the OS disk to boot from. Are you sure you set it up correctly?
I got around that by copying your "Starterdisk.hfv" file into the root of the hard drive.

It now boots fine but for some reason I don't see "Warcraft" even though it's being copied to RAM: like has always been done:




Last edited by DamienD; 14 September 2019 at 14:36.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 14:35   #340
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,866
If I don't use your "ShapeShifter Prefs" file then I do see "Warcraft" in the OS:



...but of course it doesn't have the changes you detailed here

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
HOWEVER, I think I got running reliably. I checked "Apple hard disk emulation" and "Summer mode" under ShapeShifter's prefs. Also upped RAM to 32MB anyway.
I don't know, there must be something in the Prefs file that's stopping it from mounting the copied "Warcraft.hfv" --> "RAM:GameHDD.hfv?

Last edited by DamienD; 14 September 2019 at 14:40.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization II for mac / shapeshifter trixster support.Games 50 20 July 2019 14:05
Looking for Mac HDF files (with games) for ShapeShifter. mingle Retrogaming General Discussion 28 09 October 2018 12:49
CPU idle setting and Shapeshifter/Mac emulation mark_k support.WinUAE 5 06 October 2017 19:04
Warcraft 2 Tides of Darkness Mac Shapeshifter tormentor22 support.Games 5 25 June 2017 14:25
Mac os 7.5.3 on shapeshifter _ThEcRoW support.Apps 23 09 March 2006 12:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10196 seconds with 16 queries