English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2020, 09:36   #41
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 111
Why the Amiga version comes in 2 CDS when the original PC version is only 1 CD?

lame and bored game btw

I prefer to play ET in the atari 2600 instead this lame game
Misclegend is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 12:35   #42
dreadnought
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Ur, Atlantis
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misclegend View Post
lame and bored game btw
Sure, it was only one of the more innovative games of the late nineties, both gameplay and tech wise. Thanks for contributing
dreadnought is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 14:18   #43
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
Sure, it was only one of the more innovative games of the late nineties, both gameplay and tech wise. Thanks for contributing
this game have nothing innovative, if u do not believe play it and you will get bored quickly because the game have no action, open doors and get keys, nothing more
all the levels looks the same , nothing change during the game

anyways bad choice to play it in the Amiga, I doubt it reaches 30 fps in the fastest PPC accel which is around 300mhz
Misclegend is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 15:46   #44
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
So i got HereticII running on OS4.1.
Bit of a faff though.

Need the demo.
1. Install demo
2. Install full game.
3. It will crash when you try to register.
4. copy quake2.dll from demo drawer to full version drawer
5. copy h2common.dll from demo drawer to full version drawer
6. I copied register.gui from install CD/C to my Heretic2 drawer, ran it and entered my CD Key. Unsure if this is actually needed though.
7. run H2 choose software renderer.

You may get occasional DSI errors which on my X1000 can be ignored.
So far I have progressed to silverspring palace without any issues.
The Hyperion patch works and makes a BIG difference to performance.
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:05   #45
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
So i got HereticII running on OS4.1.
Bit of a faff though.

Need the demo.
1. Install demo
2. Install full game.
3. It will crash when you try to register.
4. copy quake2.dll from demo drawer to full version drawer
5. copy h2common.dll from demo drawer to full version drawer
6. I copied register.gui from install CD/C to my Heretic2 drawer, ran it and entered my CD Key. Unsure if this is actually needed though.
7. run H2 choose software renderer.

You may get occasional DSI errors which on my X1000 can be ignored.
So far I have progressed to silverspring palace without any issues.
The Hyperion patch works and makes a BIG difference to performance.
Nice one, thanks for the info.

I'm trying to install it on my A1200T with Killer K1 to see if I can get it going on that.

Even with FastATA the installation is very slow lol...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:31   #46
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
No problem. It’s a good game, passed a couple of hours of storm Dennis.
On your classic, I suspect the hw 3D will work.

Last edited by DDNI; 15 February 2020 at 16:42.
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:42   #47
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Interesting I'm getting the exact same problem under emulation and real Amiga, quake2dll bad loadfile hunk.

Fully installed from scratch on the Amiga and patch applied

Using a Radeon so no hardware 3D here, besides warp3d with sonnet library only works on A4k

No idea how I got the game working back in the day.

@ddni what are your exact settings?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:43   #48
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Did you try quake.dll from demo version?
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:44   #49
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Do I just copy that right over after patching?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:48   #50
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Before the patch I just copied it over and it worked. The patch version works too.
My install order - install and then run register.gui in Heretic 2 drawer, quake2.dll Full version, replaced with demo version, over written with patch version.
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:54   #51
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Ok with the quake2dll from the older patch I get PPC exception which is probably a sonnet/1200 issue. Giving up on this for now... Will try o OS4.1 if I get an A1222
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 16:55   #52
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
What settings did you chose in the gui though? There's a whole bunch of graphics options, none work for me and I'm not installing RTG master.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 17:01   #53
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I ran the installer in expert mode and accepted the stock suggestions. Set the cd unit, didn’t change any other settings in the launch gui.
DDNI is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 15:23   #54
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,254
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quick video at 800x600
[ Show youtube player ]
DDNI is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 20:48   #55
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Sweet, that runs really well. Hopefully I get similar performance when I get my A1222
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 20:27   #56
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 573
I runs fine under 3.1 + WarpUp on real hardware. I definitely had it running on CSPPC/CVPPC is this state and it ran very smoothly. Side note -- it also supports a parallel port adapter for Playstation controllers. (Joe Fenton's PSXPort) I played using this.
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heretic II The Siege DDNI HOL contributions 6 17 February 2020 21:50
Best port of Heretic? Amicol support.Games 7 17 June 2014 22:19
Heretic II on winuae? kisshu support.WinUAE 1 24 May 2011 23:59
Heretic 2 - will not start. DDNI support.Games 13 21 July 2010 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08607 seconds with 15 queries