English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 March 2012, 23:07   #41
prowler
Global Moderator
 
prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Ah, talking to myself again!
Fear not, mate. I imagine there are many here who, like myself, are watching your progress in this thread with great interest, but have nothing to add.

Congratulations on your latest breakthrough, by the way.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 March 2012, 00:07   #42
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Ah, talking to myself again!
I did actually download the source and have a quick look at it - that's as far as I got though. Glad to see you're some way towards find a solution, anyway
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 27 March 2012, 00:15   #43
Amiga1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: ?
Posts: 19,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Fear not, mate. I imagine there are many here who, like myself, are watching your progress in this thread with great interest, but have nothing to add.
Yeah I don't mind talking to myself!
Getting through with a solution to this "problem" can end up in me being able to realize at least two applications for the miggy, whenever my coding skills are up to scratch.
Amiga1992 is offline  
Old 30 March 2012, 19:36   #44
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Ah, talking to myself again!

I tested this 1.2f version of ProTracker. Looks just like PT2.3d which is good.

The pitch function works rather well! I think it's just what I need to start with. I would have to play around with the source and make one single slider that would change both tempo and all 4 channels' pitch at the same time and it should be solved. I would have to add some sort of keyboard shortcut for this too because the mouse doesn't function really well as it is.

This would be a quick hackjob but it would be a good proof of concept regarding the possibility of making a stand-alone MOD player with this function. No need for AHI, no need for an audio stream, no need for a beefy Amiga. Ran perfect on my 68000 2MB A600.
Code:
;-------------- Sets hardware period value
SetPitchCtrl	macro
	move	PitchCtrl+((\1-1)<<1),d0	;read pitch offset
	sub	#PitchCtrlSize>>1,d0
	add	d0,d0				;scale pitch_ctrl range
	add	audchan\1temp+n_period,d0
	move	d0,$dff0a6+((\1-1)<<4)		;Set hardware period
	endm
SetNewPitchCtrl
	move.l	d0,-(sp)
	SetPitchCtrl	1
	SetPitchCtrl	2
	SetPitchCtrl	3
	SetPitchCtrl	4
	move.l	(sp)+,d0
	rts
THATS IT!! I think :S
h0ffman is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 01:30   #45
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post
Code:
;-------------- Sets hardware period value
SetPitchCtrl    macro
    move    PitchCtrl+((\1-1)<<1),d0    ;read pitch offset
    sub    #PitchCtrlSize>>1,d0
    add    d0,d0                ;scale pitch_ctrl range
    add    audchan\1temp+n_period,d0
    move    d0,$dff0a6+((\1-1)<<4)        ;Set hardware period
    endm
SetNewPitchCtrl
    move.l    d0,-(sp)
    SetPitchCtrl    1
    SetPitchCtrl    2
    SetPitchCtrl    3
    SetPitchCtrl    4
    move.l    (sp)+,d0
    rts
THATS IT!! I think :S
Yup, I should say so.

However, it's *adding* a constant to the period rather than scaling it, so (without having tried it) I think it's going to cause some pretty horrible tuning errors!

If you want to keep the pitch adjustment in sync with a tempo-change, then I think you want to be doing something more like this:

Code:
SetPitchCtrl    macro
    move.w  audchan\1temp+n_period,d0
    mulu    originaltempo,d0
    divu     newtempo,d0
    move.w    d0,$dff0a6+((\1-1)<<4)        ;Set hardware period
    endm
Where "originaltempo" and "newtempo" would be new word-sized variables you'd have to add yourself.
robinsonb5 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App for Workbench 3.1 to play mp3 or mod in background while game loaded? (WinUAE) dex request.Apps 9 16 July 2012 22:45
Amiga game mod player for PC aka how to play BP files wlcina support.Other 6 16 March 2012 00:03
How To Make Audio .Mod play in a PC AutoRun Maker k2uphill support.Apps 1 26 July 2007 20:57
Unable To Play Mod Files In DopuS Mag1c1an support.Apps 6 06 July 2006 16:52
Tracker/Playroutine to play tubular.mod Photon Coders. General 15 10 March 2006 21:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:16.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21353 seconds with 14 queries