English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 2020, 06:33   #1
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
A2000 #1

Ok I have been removing Varta batteries everywhere.

This is the first A2000 that I have pulled apart for repairs.

I have not cleaned it yet so you can see where the damage is or may have migrated too.

The A2630 has a black spot on the very top right of the card where a component seems to have exploded near the ram.

What is the best method to clean up this A2000, I watched a youtube video by Jan Beta where he removed material down to copper then recoated the board.

I have heard that vinegar is needed to counter the alkalinity from the battery.

The other weird thing is the kickstart says 40.63 which does not seem to officially exist for the A2000. I remember buying commodore boxes with roms, kick start and manuals but I can't remember for which machines.

Any way pics should be attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6855.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	66556   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6852.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	66557   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6857.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	66558   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6856.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	66559   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6844.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	66560  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6845.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	66561   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6846.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	66562   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6847.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	66563  
Unicorn is online now  
Old 24 March 2020, 06:58   #2
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
Closer pic of A2630 black spot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6849.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	66564  
Unicorn is online now  
Old 24 March 2020, 07:40   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,662
It's one of those decoupling caps, a tantalum part. They're quite spectacular when they fail.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 March 2020, 08:54   #4
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It's one of those decoupling caps, a tantalum part. They're quite spectacular when they fail.
I had read that A2000's are low priority for Re-Capping except where tantalums may explode. Jan Re-capped his A2000 and power supply and tested all old caps they showed near perfect health.

I will find out its rating and replace it. I guess it only suicides without killing the board.
Unicorn is online now  
Old 24 March 2020, 12:55   #5
BLUELiGHT
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Asylum
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn View Post
The other weird thing is the kickstart says 40.63 which does not seem to officially exist for the A2000. I remember buying commodore boxes with roms, kick start and manuals but I can't remember for which machines.
As far as I remember, 40.63 is the official 3.1 kickstart ROM for Amiga 500/600/2000, while 40.68 is for A1200/A4000 and 40.70 for A4000T (as it includes SCSI support).

Not sure about the A3000, but I remember using version 40.70 when it came out.
BLUELiGHT is offline  
Old 24 March 2020, 15:27   #6
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUELiGHT View Post
As far as I remember, 40.63 is the official 3.1 kickstart ROM for Amiga 500/600/2000, while 40.68 is for A1200/A4000 and 40.70 for A4000T (as it includes SCSI support).

Not sure about the A3000, but I remember using version 40.70 when it came out.
I believe 40.70 was for A4000T.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 24 March 2020, 17:09   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,662
There was a 40.70 built for all machines, but only the A4000T version was made official.. There were some instabilities with scsi.device, so they decided to hold back.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 March 2020, 00:55   #8
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUELiGHT View Post
As far as I remember, 40.63 is the official 3.1 kickstart ROM for Amiga 500/600/2000, while 40.68 is for A1200/A4000 and 40.70 for A4000T (as it includes SCSI support).
I think it is just rare to have real 3.1 roms, I found a site that mentioned the roms were included in the box with the software but only a page or two refered to the 3.1 roms.
Unicorn is online now  
Old 25 March 2020, 06:23   #9
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
OK researching the A2630 card and its exploded Tantalum

The board seems to contain 4 types or codes for the same size package.

First code is

K5U 224Z which seems to indicate 5V .22f -20%-80% tolerance

Second code is

K5U 334Z which seems to indicate 5V .33f -20%-80% tolerance

Third Code

XL 8725 which I have not found data on yet.

Fourth code

XL2 8937 which I have not found data on yet.

There seems to be no pattern as to which ones are used where. I need either a schematic or a good photo of A2630 board with an intact cap.

I think any would work but what ever caused the last one to explode may be in the current.

Anyway if anyone has an A2630 card or the parts list it would be great.

Darren
Unicorn is online now  
Old 25 March 2020, 07:53   #10
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 331
Looks like a decoupling cap. Either 0.22uF or 0.33uF would be fine, but there is probably enough decoupling there already without it.

I'd just clean up the area (lightly scrape or sand away any carbon) and test with a multimeter to make sure there is not short. Then it will probably work fine without replacing it.
dalek is online now  
Old 26 March 2020, 12:49   #11
Unicorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
Thanks, I had the thought of leaving it off as it should not be a big drama.

I just have to remove the Varta battery damage from any of the A2000's before I can test it.

The machines are cleaned everywhere else.

I bought circuit board cleaner and contact cleaner today plus I snagged some isopropyl alcohol, for clean up.

I don't think anyone here has done a battery cleanup.
Unicorn is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 2 A2000's tesla support.Hardware 9 14 March 2013 06:30
Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II & BridgeBoard A2386 on A2000 rev6.3 cyberfox_it support.Hardware 3 17 June 2012 23:38
A2000 Xytec support.Hardware 6 02 April 2009 21:17
My A2000 Jakodemus Hardware pics 3 21 April 2008 18:14
Making an OCS A2000 (Rev 4.6) to an ECS A2000 Drake008@ support.Hardware 15 27 February 2007 23:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08694 seconds with 15 queries