English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2020, 20:08   #1
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 33
Posts: 182
serial communication between Amiga and PC

I'm trying to set up a nullmodem connection between my A500+ and my Linux PC. I've built a cable with this wiring:

I've double checked the cable with an electronic contact-checker and the wiring is according to the image's numbers.

Then i had set up the Amiga with the following values
Code:
baud=9600
buffer=512
handshake=RTS/CTS
parity=none
rbits=8
wbits=8
stopbits=1
Then ran the following command on Linux:
Code:
stty 9600 -parenb cs8 crtscts -ixon -ixoff raw iutf8 -F /dev/ttyS0
Then i run a shell on both the Amiga and the Linux and gave this command
Type SER:
on the Amiga and this one on Linux
cat sertest.txt > /dev/ttyS0
but nothing happened. The Amiga keeps waiting forever, the Linux gave back the prompt after a while.

Anybody has any idea, what could go wrong?
TCH is offline  
Old 23 March 2020, 00:03   #2
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 109
why you are using linux for this which is far more complicated
use windows +amiga explorer, this works on the fly you won't need to ask questions here
Misclegend is offline  
Old 23 March 2020, 11:44   #3
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 33
Posts: 182
Linux is actually not important, it could be BSD, Solaris, OSX or whatever, even windows. What matters, is that i'm trying to set up a simple nullmodem connection between the two machines to interchange some data. Something is not OK and the question is what and why. Is it the wiring? The setup on the PC side? On the Amiga side? Something else? These are the questions.
Amiga explorer is absolutely irrelevant here, because that is not what i want to do.
TCH is offline  
Old 23 March 2020, 17:19   #4
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 33
Posts: 182
Okay, solved it. Somewhy the system recognized the two serial ports in reverse order and port A became ttyS1 and port B ended up as ttyS0.
TCH is offline  
Old 23 March 2020, 17:45   #5
fxgogo
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Richmond / U.K.
Posts: 87
How is your speed when moving between the two machines? I remember wiring up my own cable for use with Amiga Explorer. I would think the wiring scheme would be the same. Definitely would like to give this a go on my Pop Os machine
fxgogo is offline  
Old 23 March 2020, 18:39   #6
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 33
Posts: 182
It's working flawlessly with 19200 baud. However during experimenting, i rewired things, because i had no idea what was wrong. Now it's a PC-PC (DB9-DB9) serial cable plus a DB9-DB25 adaptor on the Amiga side. But that DB25-DB9 cable wiring above should work too.
TCH is offline  
Old 24 March 2020, 01:00   #7
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxgogo View Post
How is your speed when moving between the two machines? I remember wiring up my own cable for use with Amiga Explorer. I would think the wiring scheme would be the same. Definitely would like to give this a go on my Pop Os machine
the serial transfer in the Amiga is very cpu intensive so the speed between pc and Amiga via serial depends which cpu you have on the Amiga

The standard Amiga 500/68000 cpu can transfer at max 19200
The A1200 standard can transfer at 57600
having a 020/28mhz or 030/25 or faster accel Amiga explorer transfer files at 115200 flawlessly
Misclegend is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amigastore.eu communication Englyst Amiga scene 14 22 January 2019 16:06
PC Serial to Amiga Serial lesta_smsc support.Hardware 48 02 December 2015 11:14
usb (rs232) to amiga serial cable - no COM selection in amiga explorer Galder support.Hardware 5 04 May 2014 18:14
Serial Port <--> Tablet: no communication ral-clan support.WinUAE 0 02 February 2011 20:51
Supercars 2 communication screens jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 11 04 December 2006 19:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06479 seconds with 14 queries