English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2020, 17:34   #1
G4DDS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: West Midlands / United Kingdom
Posts: 9
Mixing FFS/PFS/FAT partitions

I have an IDE to SD adapter installed in my A1200 and can quite successfully setup a 16Gb SD card with a mixture of FFS and PFS partitions and format them etc. no problems.

I have taken a blank 32GB card and with the help of the internet I have created a 1000Mb FAT32 partition using my laptop and diskpart:

So, I open a command prompt with administrator privileges and type DiskPart.

In DiskPart type:

list disk
select disk 1
clean
create partition primary align=1024 size=1000
format fs=fat32 quick
exit

I then rename the the FAT formatted partition SHARE.

I then plug the SD card into the Amiga and boot off workbench 3.1 disk, copy the fat95 file handler to RAM and assign L: to RAM (temporarily while trying things out) and then mount the FAT partition using the following mountlist (created by giggledisk with a few tweaks by me):

GGD0:
FileSystem = L:fat95
Device = scsi.device
Unit = 0
BlockSize = 512
Surfaces = 1
SectorsPerBlock = 1
BlocksPerTrack = 1
Reserved = 0
PreAlloc = 0
Interleave = 0
MaxTransfer = 0x0001FE00
Mask = 0x7FFFFFFE
LowCyl = 0
HighCyl = 0
Buffers = 50
BufMemType = 1
StackSize = 16384
Priority = 10
GlobVec = -1
DosType = 0x46415401
Activate = 1
Mount = 1
/* Bootable = FALSE */
#

The FAT partition SHARE is successfully mounted and appears on the workbench screen and I can access it and copy files to/from it on both PC and Amiga.

So, now the bit that has me flumoxed. With the SD card containing the FAT partition I need to add an Amiga RDB and the fat95 file system so it will automount the partition.

I open up HDToolBox and obviously it doesn't know anything about the SD card so I go to the section where you read the config and define a new type (I will also point out I am using a patched 3.1 ROM with a later scsi.device version so >4GB accesses are fine). I save the changes to the disk and reboot but I have now lost the FAT partition as the Amiga RDB has overwritten the PC MBR (I assume). I thought the whole point of using an align=1024 in the diskpart setup on the PC was so that the PC MBR and Amiga RDB could co-exist together? I think I must be missing something obvious here but I just can't work it out.

I am sure once I have worked this bit out then adding the Amiga FFS and PFS partitions should be the same as what I have done before.
G4DDS is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 18:55   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 4,006
An MBR is always located at address 0, i.e. in sector 0 while an RDB can be moved to a higher address. Since you align the FAT partition @ 1024, it will leave a little room between the MBR and the partition, so if you can put the RDB here, I guess it should work. I'm not sure how you can make HDToolbox create an RDB at a higher offset - it probably uses 0 as default which will overwrite your MBR. Perhaps writing 'RDSK' @ 512 which is right after the MBR, would make HDToolbox find and use that one instead of creating a blank one @ 0.
demolition is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 19:07   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,933
You didn't RTFM, did you?

FAT95 comes with with a command line tool which does all you need. IIRC it's called boot95.

If you mounted the FAT partiton as GGD0 like you showed above, then you can enter

boot95 ggd0:

in a Shell window. It will create an RDB and store the fat95 module on the disk.

You should not add other Amiga partitions to that disk, though. I am not sure if HDToolbox will move the RDB back to sector 0 if you try to.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 20:05   #4
G4DDS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: West Midlands / United Kingdom
Posts: 9
I briefly played with boot95 but I got an error (can't remember what it was) but this may have been before I tweaked the mountlist as initially the partition would not mount. I dod not try it after the partition was mounted.

I'll be honest I did have a very brief read of the readme but I thought boot95 was just to make floppies and partitions bootable which was overboard for me so I thought I was heading down the wrong route trying to use boot95.

I shall have another play. When I was googling I was lead to believe that you can add Amiga partitions after the FAT partition has been created. We shall see.
G4DDS is offline  
Old 16 March 2020, 01:27   #5
G4DDS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: West Midlands / United Kingdom
Posts: 9
OK so a bit further with my test and I know have an SD card with a FAT95 partition and 2 PFS3 partitions. All partitions set to auto mount.

I have a kickstart switcher installed so I have been experimenting with kickstarts 1.3 and 3.1. Kickstart 3.1 and Workbench 3.1 booting from floppy all 3 partitions are mounted and are accessible.

But, with kickstart 1.3 (patched with scsi.device 43.45) and Workbench 1.3 booting from floppy only the 2 PFS3 partitions auto mount. Opening a shell and looking at the output from the assign command under devices it lists MSD0 (which is what I decided to call the device associated with the FAT partition).

Anyone any ideas why the FAT partition won't auto mount under kickstart 1.3? I notice in the readme that it says:

OS 1.3+ (OS 2.0+ for full functionality)

but nowhere could I find what functionality is missing under 1.3?
G4DDS is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga OS 3.14 FFS VS PFS All In One 512k support.Apps 25 10 June 2019 14:45
PFS vs SFS vs FFS - Best Filesystem AmigaBoy support.Apps 44 22 January 2019 18:24
FAT, FFS, MacOSX Maverick and CF-card Doc Mindie support.Hardware 12 07 March 2014 09:37
OFS/FFS/SFS/PFS Editor Dialog Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 2 25 January 2014 10:16
ffs and large partitions source Hardware mods 2 11 July 2010 03:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07124 seconds with 14 queries