English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 11 October 2010, 19:22   #1
Bishmanrock

Beginner needs advice on next upgrade step

Ow do,

I've been floating around the various Amiga websites absorbing information. I've learned, slowly, I'm not very good at absorbing. But I've tried! Oh, how I've tried.

I've dug out my childhood friend, the A1200. It's the basic model that came with Oscar and something else. Dennis, I think.

I've fitted a 4gb CF card inside, formatted and that's all up and working nicely with a few choice games running via WHDLoad, transferring files easily via the PCMCIA slot. The games appear to be very temperamental, some refusing to run at all due to not enough memory, some running when they feel like they want to.

I've also added a RGB>Scart cable, so everything's a bit nicer.

Where do I go from here? I'm primarily interested in gaming. Is a RAM upgrade my next visit? I've tried looking at different models, but the prices are all over the place, and I can't quite figure out what would be overkill for my purpose. Can anyone advise a specific upgrade to look out for?

Oh, and mandatory stupid question: I'm guessing you need to actually buy an expansion card before you fit any RAM, as I can't see any visible ports inside? I ask because most forums just respond to similar questions with "Buy RAM" and no additional information.
Old 11 October 2010, 19:36   #2
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad

Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Some good progress there mate, and yes you would prob be best starting with an 8mb ram card amitek or similar they do crop up on here and on e bay!! above that you could for a accelerator card (faster cpu etc) and more ram capability, depends what gaming you want to do and what else in the future