English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2012, 00:32   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,472
A1200 - Audio noise

I noticed that my 1200 puts out some audio (static) noise, I'm not sure if it's always done it or that I only notice it yesterday. It's not a massive amount of static (you have to crank the speakers up to hear it).

The CAPS have already been replaced on this board so that should be the problem.

It seems to be screen-mode related (how much strain the chipset is under). You only hear it after WB loads up, if you boot with no startup then it's fine (it's also fine when you run a WHDLOAD game).

I run in WB in Multiscan 640x480 BTW.

Maybe they all do this?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 00:44   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It could be just some ground loop being generated o your setup.
Akira is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 01:18   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
i think akira is close to the mark there a bad ground would have this affect,also years ago i had a similar problem involving a ground signal that i traced to a harddrive.basicly the static only happened when i was accessing the drive(bad ground)

i dont know about these days though, back then i was using a drive with a motor in a 2.5 inch drive but it seems everyone uses cf card so i cant really say(i still use real drives in mine)
roy bates is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 01:29   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
It could be just some ground loop being generated o your setup.
I did check for that, maybe I should pull it apart and have another look just to be sure.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 01:30   #5
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,278
The audio shielding in the Amiga is far from perfect, it's normal that you hear static interference if you crank the volume up and use headphones.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 01:47   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yeah, "no noise" is impossible. I do get a little bit of noise in my setup, but the minimum possible.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2012, 23:57   #7
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,472
Well I found out what the problem was but it's very strange. It's when I active my Micromys driver in the user start-up?

This has been working fine for the past 6 months so I don't know why it would suddenly start to cause audio issues.
NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 External DD, strange clicking noise and composite faults rafkris support.Hardware 8 15 August 2013 16:48
Stock A1200 crashing and audio problems. Awol support.Hardware 1 28 June 2013 12:22
A1200 audio problem elspero support.Hardware 55 31 July 2010 16:02
a1200 audio sound problem ITGuy support.Hardware 9 11 April 2009 16:26
A1200 audio trouble jrom support.Hardware 7 12 April 2006 19:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06361 seconds with 13 queries