English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2012, 23:09   #1
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 208
Connecting a CDTV to A1200

Can I connect a CDTV to an A1200 via some sort of serial-type cable?

I was thinking about the possibility of having the cd drive accessible in workbench.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 16 February 2012, 23:16   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Wouldn't it be easier to just get a CD drive for the A1200?
I assume you can connect the two by serial port, but not access the drive of the other as if it was a samba share or something.

[edit] you could use this method, but it's command line only.
http://aminet.net/package/docs/misc/CD32Link

I used TwinExpress with two Amigas succesfully. It works well but, as I said, command line only, you won't be mounting any volumes.
It will work between your CDTV and Amiga 1200 without problems.

Last edited by Akira; 16 February 2012 at 23:22.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 00:08   #3
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
I used par-net. Worked great with my 4000 at the time.

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 09:55   #4
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
Another vote for parnet. Simple and works. You need to make a custom cable tho
chiark is offline  
Old 17 February 2012, 11:45   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Does it mount the other computer's drives as local devices? That would be convenient.
Hmm, these links seem useful:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/parnet
http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/ParNFS
http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/parnet21

And THIS is specially interesting:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/RemoteBoot

How well does parallel emulation work under WinUAE? I wonder if I can connect the WinUAE drives on the A1200... I could boot off a virtual CD drive...
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 09:35   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
Don't hold your breath expecting parnet to work with winuae.. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 12:15   #7
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,330
Quote:
Wouldn't it be easier to just get a CD drive for the A1200?
Aye! Don't forget that what you'll be getting is a 1x speed CDROM drive, which may be slowed down further by the non-standard connection to the A1200 that you'll have to employ.

Better off IMHO connecting an IDE or SCSI CDROM/DVD drive to the A1200. The added bonus is that you can use the CDTV/CD32 emulators, which are bundled with AsimCDFS and other driver software packages, to play some of the CDTV/CD32 games you may have.

Still, if it's an exercise in whether it can be done........then parnet is probably the best way to go, as suggested above.
DrBong is offline  
Old 02 March 2012, 04:28   #8
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
That & you can then read DVDs too

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 03 March 2012, 21:07   #9
Amigan123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 98
Yes you would be better off with a real IDE CDROM/DVD drive it will be better solution.

I remember making my a CD32 into my first CD Rom for my Amiga, had to make my own serial cable with a MAX232 chip!

A secondhand CD32 + cable and software was cheaper than buying an IDE CD Rom at the time, even a 2x One

It worked but was slow and not ideal!

Now you can literally get CD Rom drives for nothing from old PC's!
Amigan123 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting A1200 to HD tv AndersHP support.Hardware 39 25 April 2015 01:43
Connecting CDTV Remote Controller to the PC. galu support.Hardware 3 01 December 2009 10:40
Connecting PC PSU to A1200. HardStep support.Hardware 5 16 December 2005 06:09
Connecting CDTV to PC SeldSilent support.Hardware 2 09 November 2002 16:35
Connecting A1200 to PC Djay support.Hardware 2 26 May 2002 03:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07051 seconds with 13 queries