English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2014, 23:06   #1
Nightmare4k
 
Posts: n/a
Start automatic..

Hi all
I played way yo much Amiga when i was younger
Now i want to share it with some of my friends
And the sucks at anything about computer...
Is there a way to make one file to lunch then the game will start automatic?
I donĀ“t know if i need the Portable.ini file or?
Please help me step by step
 
Old 30 August 2014, 16:41   #2
Bladeforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 60
create a separate config file for your game with at least this line:

floppy_drive_0 = /media/Stuff/Roms/Amiga/Aquaventura (1992)(Psygnosis)[cr FLT](Disk 1 of 2).adf
floppy_drive_1 = /media/Stuff/Roms/Amiga/Aquaventura (1992)(Psygnosis)[cr FLT](Disk 2 of 2).adf

Save it as <your specified name>.fs-uae (mine is called Aquaventura.fs-uae)

then point fs-uae to it using a command line or shorcut for example

fs-uae "/Documents/FS-UAE/Configurations/Aquaventura.fs-uae"

i use linux
Bladeforce is offline  
Old 30 August 2014, 19:40   #3
Goingdown
Registered User
Goingdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 154
I would still recommend you to use FS-UAE Launcher with Game database. It will automatically configure everything for all supported games you have, and presents them in easy-to-use gui which you can use to start games you want to.
Goingdown is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 02:34   #4
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 788
On the same subject, why would this file not be working for me? I get the ROM to load and request a disk, but I've already specified one (trying two types of assignment).

Code:
amiga_model = CD32
kickstarts_dir = /home/jarlath/Copy/a1200/Kickstarts
cdrom_image_0 = /home/jarlath/Documents/FS-UAE/CD-ROMs/Soccer Kid/Soccer Kid (1994)(Krisalis)(M5)[!]/Soccer Kid (1994)(Krisalis)(M5)(Track 01 of 26)[!].iso
cdrom_image_1 = /home/jarlath/Documents/FS-UAE/CD-ROMs/Soccer\ Kid/Soccer\ Kid\ \(1994\)\(Krisalis\)\(M5\)\[\!\]/Soccer\ Kid\ \(1994\)\(Krisalis\)\(M5\)\(Track\ 01\ of\ 26\)\[\!\].iso
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 13:17   #5
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 403
Can you rename the path and the file to not contain special characters? What version of FS-UAE do you use?
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 13:45   #6
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 788
I'm using fs-uae is 2.4.1. I can rename the path, but not so sure if the files will work as they all seem to follow the same convention. I' will give it a go though, thanks for the idea amigafreak68k
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 13:55   #7
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 788
Right, so I've learned a few things. First, escaping the characters actually isn't necessary and actually doesn't work so the plain un-escaped path to the file is the way to go. Second, the disk image is actually picked up and available as a swappable but not inserted by default so I needed to change to "cdrom_drive_0" as opposed to "cdrom_image_0".

Thanks amigafreak68k, I was going round in circles with that.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 15:23   #8
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 403
Yes. cdrom_image_x is a differnce as cdrom_drive_0

With the cdrom_image_x option you can make a config with some more games as only one. If you play a game and want to play another game you just need to insert the other game and reset then quit FS-UAE and start it with another config.
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 17:53   #9
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 788
Excellent
TenLeftFingers is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic scaling issues mark_k support.WinUAE 15 29 March 2012 17:58
Automatic Savestates Another World request.UAE Wishlist 12 17 January 2009 20:55
Automatic Disk Inserter ancalimon request.UAE Wishlist 16 18 July 2007 21:44
command line to start a confil + start the game Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 17 October 2004 11:31
REQ: Automatic resolution change ; automatic resolution detection Borg_Number_One request.UAE Wishlist 3 21 August 2004 15:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07973 seconds with 13 queries