English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2012, 10:19   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
CF formatting and recognized under WinUAE

Hello Amiga Friends,

I am following this video tutorial : [ Show youtube player ]

in order to prepare a CF ( formatting and recognition ) under WinUAE.
But I get stucked in minute 06:08 of the video.
The issue is this: after partitioning the CF like in the example I go to save changes and get this error:



Note: my CF 4GB card has been previously formatted with Windows and in this way I can see Generic USB Drive when I add Hard Drives with WinUAE while if the card is not formatted I only see [NO MEDIA][ N/A,RW] RICOH R5C592 02 0001.
So I insert a Windows FAT formatted CF like the guy in the video.

I would appreciate any help!!!!

Last edited by D4Ni3L3; 20 December 2012 at 10:29.
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 11:29   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,879
Before you run WinUAE, run DiskPart and clean the CF card so that WinUAE lists it as [UNK] instead of [MBR].

Code:
Microsoft DiskPart Version, 6.0.6002
Copyright (C) 1999-2007 Microsoft Corporation.
Auf Computer: TEMPTATION

DISKPART> list disk

  Datentr ###  Status      Größe    Frei     Dyn  GPT
  --------  ----------  -------  -------  ---  ---
       0    Online       149 GB      0 B
       1    Online       968 MB      0 B
       2    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       3    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       4    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B

DISKPART> select disk 1

Datenträger 1 ist jetzt der gewählte Datenträger.

DISKPART> clean

Der Datenträger wurde bereinigt.

DISKPART> list disk

  Datentr ###  Status      Größe    Frei     Dyn  GPT
  --------  ----------  -------  -------  ---  ---
       0    Online       149 GB      0 B
*      1    Online       968 MB   966 MB
       2    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       3    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       4    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B

DISKPART> exit
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	add_cf.png
Views:	303
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	33522  
thomas is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 13:04   #3
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Before you run WinUAE, run DiskPart and clean the CF card so that WinUAE lists it as [UNK] instead of [MBR].

Code:
 
Microsoft DiskPart Version, 6.0.6002
Copyright (C) 1999-2007 Microsoft Corporation.
Auf Computer: TEMPTATION
 
DISKPART> list disk
 
  Datentr ###  Status      Größe    Frei     Dyn  GPT
  --------  ----------  -------  -------  ---  ---
       0    Online       149 GB      0 B
       1    Online       968 MB      0 B
       2    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       3    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       4    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
 
DISKPART> select disk 1
 
Datenträger 1 ist jetzt der gewählte Datenträger.
 
DISKPART> clean
 
Der Datenträger wurde bereinigt.
 
DISKPART> list disk
 
  Datentr ###  Status      Größe    Frei     Dyn  GPT
  --------  ----------  -------  -------  ---  ---
       0    Online       149 GB      0 B
*      1    Online       968 MB   966 MB
       2    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       3    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
       4    Kein Mediu      0 B      0 B
 
DISKPART> exit
Thanks Thomas! before run WinUAE from scratch or after partitioning?
If I clean the CF I have [NO MEDIA ] [N/A , RW ] RICOH R5C592 02 0001.
I would like to see Unknow format... Plase help me!
thanks!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 13:11   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,879
Remove the CF card from the reader and reinsert it. Open Windows Explorer and double click on the drive letter of the CF card. Windows should open a dialog box saying "You need to format the medium before you can use it / format now / cancel". Click on cancel.

Run WinUAE again. Does it still say "no media"? Then try a different version of WinUAE (latest version or even latest beta preferred). Or try a different card reader.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 13:38   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
You usually have to run WinUAE as admin or it won't be able to use a blank card.
demolition is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 13:40   #6
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Dear friends...

Every time I clean the CF ... I only have this when I try to add the new CD Drive:



and the big dilemma for me is understand the steps to sort out all this...

I mean: Should I Windows format my CF before and then partitioning it then clean? or how.... or clean but it is impossible for me to partition because I have no one drive in the ToolBox....

I only can see in the ToolBox my CF when it's winodws formmated...
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 14:00   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Clean the CF card and you should be able to use it in WinUAE if you run it as admin.
demolition is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 14:10   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,879
"?" is right. This means the CF card is empty but you didn't run WinUAE as admin. Right-click WinUAE and select "run as administrator", then it should show [UNK].

(see minute 1:20 of the tutorial)

You can do this with the shortcut, too, you don't need to search winuae.exe.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 17:15   #9
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Now it works! Many ...many thanks mates!

I'm happy now!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 17:19   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
indeed nothing to say about it as its got nothing on it, glad you got it working
cosmicfrog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drives not recognized in WinUae videofx support.WinUAE 7 22 March 2013 17:24
cf not recognized Dave_wb support.Hardware 6 26 March 2010 04:36
WinUAE - Formatting blank discs for save games RokChild support.WinUAE 17 23 April 2007 17:22
Amiga Harddisk not recognized by WinUAE Walter Ralegh support.WinUAE 3 25 March 2007 14:36
AGA not recognized (apparently) in winuae 1.4.0 amiga support.WinUAE 3 11 March 2007 18:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07434 seconds with 16 queries