English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2010, 20:06   #1
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
harddisk format tool which can mark bad blocks ?

Hi,
I have spent dozens of hours setting up an old Amiga-500 harddisk in a controller called '3-State AT Apollo 500'.
Now, at last, I have partitioned the harddisk and also set 'full format' when doing this in the install tool, but unfortunately it somehow didn't work.

I can now see the harddisk when I boot Workbench, I can also double-click it and it will show an empty window, but whenever I try to copy something on the disk it will say 'disk not validated'.

Then, I have tried to format the HD from Workbench, like I have already done in the past with an Apha Data HD. The format starts and goes on well, but unfortunately there seems to be a disk errror on some 250 block of around 4000, so format stops and gives up, without any possibility to continue

I have also tried formatting with HD-toolbox, but this one doesn't even recognize the harddisk and tells me 'driver not found' (I have read the AT Apollo 500 uses some proprietary drive access method ?!) At least it seem incompatible with standard ID controller or A-590, etc.

Now, I am searching for a format tool which I can start from Workbench or DOS, which will recoginze the drive and format the HD with marking bad blocks, so that I can format and use the HD ?

Maybe anyone knows such a tool ? (must work on A-500 or A-500-plus with kick 2.0)

Thanks a lot!
Overdoc is offline  
Old 05 December 2010, 23:16   #2
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 47
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/2b_WFormat
Chain is offline  
Old 05 December 2010, 23:38   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,562
Getting disk not validated without any other error requester usually means logical disk errors (using OFS instead of FFS for example)

What is the first disk "bad" block? (exactly)
Size of drive?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 December 2010, 01:09   #4
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
Thanks for your replies!

Well, the first bad block was 253, if I remember correctly ?!
Size of the drive is slightly over 2gb.

I have now tried formatting from Directory Opus (had to take an A-500plus and additionally had to install a 1MB expansion because otherwise it would tell me 'out of memory' just for formatting a disk ?!?)
Directory Opus has an verify option, which I unchecked. Now, it formatted up to block 320 (or something), but then again failed because of an error (despite verify off!!).
Afterwards I did a quick format, and then tried instaling Workbench on the HD again. It worked !!!

BUT:
Now, HD cannot boot
How can I make it bootable ?

When I first tried formatting the HD with the original AT Apollo install tool, it could boot to a CLI prompt, at least (but then had the disk not validated error when trying to save something on it)

Would there be an option to format the disk bootable with Worseformat from Aminet ?

Thanks again!!

EDIT: I booted the original install disk again and noticed that I can set the disk from 'mount' to 'boot' without having to re-fomat.
Now it boots fine with kick 2.0, but it doesn't with kick 1.3 ?!
Shouldn't kick 1.3 already have autoboot function ?

Last edited by Overdoc; 06 December 2010 at 01:35. Reason: just noticed something...
Overdoc is offline  
Old 06 December 2010, 10:13   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Getting disk not validated without any other error requester usually means logical disk errors (using OFS instead of FFS for example)
It can also mean that there is not enough memory for the size of the partition to validate. Getting an "out of memory" message is rather luxurious. Usually the format program finishes its work but the disk just stays unvalidated. But if you reboot with memory added, the partition magically becomes valid. (Can be tested quite easily with WinUAE).


Quote:
Now it boots fine with kick 2.0, but it doesn't with kick 1.3 ?!
1.3 needs FastFileSystem in the RDB because it is not in ROM. Use the Add/Update dialogue in HDToolbox and keep your fingers crossed that the firmware of your controller supports loading file systems from the RDB.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 December 2010, 23:41   #6
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
Thanx Thomas!
I just noticed that in the readme file for the installer disk there is something mentined that 2GB is the maximum for a partiton.
But, my HD is slightly above 2GB, so this could indeed be the reason for the disk not validated error!

Unfortunately, HDToolbox doesn't let me do anything with the drive because it does not recognize the controller
But the install disk let me choose between normal file system and fast file system (I chose fast file system)
But does this have anything to do with being bootable from kick 2.0 only instead of 1.3 ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 07 December 2010, 10:17   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdoc View Post
Unfortunately, HDToolbox doesn't let me do anything with the drive because it does not recognize the controller
Find out the name of the controller's driver (something.device) and change the tooltypes in the icon information of HDToolbox accordingly. There should be a line reading

SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=scsi.device

change this to

SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=something.device

If it's not there, add it. If there are brackets around the line, remove them.

According to this page the name is AT-Apollo.device.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 December 2010, 19:39   #8
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,707
At first verify HDD by some decent low level software (eg MHDD) http://hddguru.com/
pandy71 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to format a harddisk on a1200? h4tt3n New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 10 February 2010 22:47
Mounting Native PC(formatted) harddisk as a Harddisk for WinUAE/E-UAE Zetr0 support.Hardware 10 01 June 2006 15:04
check HDD bad blocks rare_j support.Apps 3 21 February 2006 01:04
Puzzle Game with blocks being pushed by a tractor? zardoz Looking for a game name ? 2 21 January 2005 17:08
Problem with disk blocks already in use Giana support.Hardware 34 14 August 2002 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07070 seconds with 13 queries