English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2010, 19:55   #1
e5frog
The Headstrong
e5frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Älvängen / Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 268
Send a message via ICQ to e5frog Send a message via MSN to e5frog
Strange problems, CF card/adapter problem?

I have written here some before regarding earlier problems but now I thought I had everything setup and working...

I have a registered (by myself) version, running 16.9 on a OS3.1 A600HD with CF/IDE-adapter and a 4GB card and 2MB ChipMem...
The main reason I registered was to be able to run Moonstone.

This setup seems to work just fine in WinUAE, but on my A600 I get some problems. I have used BuggyBoy as a trial and error game as a friend of mine have run this successfully on his computer with the same specs. When I started it today I got graphics errors on the large animated objects like the car. There's also an annoying flicker that seems to appear everytime before a harddrive read - (everything turns to the backround color).

I've tried running BuggyBoy from the same card in the PC as I use in the A600 - it works fine in WinUAE - everything looks as it is supposed to. But the flicker is there though.
This flicker really messes up the intro of Moonstone and I imagine other games as well.
On the real A600 Moonstone crashes after the intro with the error message:
Quote:
Error during resload_Relocate
while relocating executable on address $80000 at offset $2063C
I actually get the same behavior in WinUAE if I connect the CF card with HD controller "IDE0" instead of "UAE". When using the UAE controller it runs just fine (apart from the flicker).

Is this flicker (clearing the screen) when loading a known issue?

Any ideas what to do with the CF card? I guess it could be an error with the adapter also?

EDIT: I put it back in the A600, booted from the 3.1 install disk and checked the Max Transfer value - it was 0xffffff - so I re-partitioned (100% size as before) with 0x1fe00 instead (don't know where this went wrong I'm sure it was correct somewhere along the line).
I attached it with the IDE0-controller in WinUAE to be able to check it in HDTools there - yup it's 0x1fe00 now - going through the whole process again then...

Last edited by e5frog; 21 July 2010 at 21:26.
e5frog is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 21:38   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,572
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Sounds like you sorted the error with the reading, the flicker (do you mean screen flashing?) That is becuase you do not have enough memory to pre-load the game, a 2 or 4mb SRAM card would help, but still some games will suffer this unless you have 8mb+ which on an A600 would be difficault due to the lack of expansion options.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 July 2010, 21:42   #3
e5frog
The Headstrong
e5frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Älvängen / Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 268
Send a message via ICQ to e5frog Send a message via MSN to e5frog
Yes, the screen flashing (being emptied and then displayed again).

Why can't the loading be done while keeping the screen displayed?


I'm writing the contents back to the CF card know - I hope it works this time.

EDIT: Tried it again with WinUAE and the IDE0-controller - it didn't crash!
Also worked on the real A600, still disappointed about the screen clears when loading though, even the sound halts.
Damn Max Transfer!
Remember the old 0x1fe00 and you're almost home free. ;-)

Last edited by e5frog; 21 July 2010 at 22:31.
e5frog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF Card or Adapter Problem spanner support.Hardware 12 30 July 2012 18:38
Transcend - Card adapter ( CF I ) - PC Card spannernick support.Hardware 6 09 May 2012 20:58
strange ram card problem Secret Vampire support.Hardware 4 08 February 2010 11:51
Strange issue if adding CF-Card mai support.WinUAE 2 12 August 2009 08:09
Strange PPC card behaviour Gavilan support.Hardware 4 18 February 2009 01:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06296 seconds with 15 queries