English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2008, 20:33   #1
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Old cache memory as a "base" for GVP memory

Reached in my hands two old cache memory little boards. I noticed the "strange" pinout of 'em and decide to count the pin number...

64 pins?

32 on each side of the centre?

Same pitch as a regular SIMM...

What the hell!

Just to confirm, can you guys certificate the GVP memory banks have this exact shape so I can make a pair of those ├╝ber rare 16Mb SIMM for me?

Of course I know I must de-solder the old cache chips and capacitors, them solder a 72pin SIMM via wires...

@Zetr0: hope this acts as a birthday gift for our friend addicted to hardware pr0n!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00052.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	279.3 KB
ID:	18975  
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 00:50   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 42
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
it would be one hell of a coincidence for them to be GVP pinout ... Also the SIMM in the picture has 6 chips, which isn't good omens IMHO.
coze is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 05:37   #3
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I know that, mate.

I just want to confirm the pin spacement and distribution. My idea is take the chips and capacitors out and use the naked board as a base to a hack.
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 06:14   #4
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,064
Some old AST 386/486 machines used 64 pin SIMMs. Was never sure if they were compatible with the GVP, but at least they had the right layout/number of chips.
adolescent is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 06:23   #5
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
As so old Apple II. But the SIMM are 8bits-1Mb (no chance they work as 32-bit memory on GVP boards).

My only goal is confirm dimensions and pin pitch before start hacking.
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Interesting" way to detect 68020+ with enabled instruction cache Toni Wilen Coders. Asm / Hardware 3 28 January 2013 10:36
A1200 - lots of graphics but no "other" memory ??? bluecarrot92 support.Hardware 21 25 May 2011 21:19
Selling: A1200 RAM "Memory Master" gehtjanx MarketPlace 18 02 May 2011 00:28
OS3.9 graphics corruption when setting changed to put icons in "Other Memory" StevenJGore support.Apps 3 09 September 2008 18:22
how many "memory" clones do you know? Marcuz Looking for a game name ? 18 17 June 2008 19:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06562 seconds with 14 queries