English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2005, 17:18   #1
Celluloïd
 
Posts: n/a
Question Question over DID old game titles ?

I'm arguing with a friend of mine over which one of those titles from digital image design first used a copy protection dongle ...

He says it was as soon as 1989 with F29 Retaliator or Robocop 3 (he doesn't remember precisely).
I say it was not until Epic, 3 years later.

Am I correct ? Or is he ? (and if so, which title among F29 and Robocop was it ?)
I may be wrong because of Inferno (Epic sequel on PC) which was "play protected" ) (damn I was so disappointed back then ...)

Thanks for any help
 
Old 22 November 2005, 17:32   #2
superquake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 76
I believe it was Robocop 3
superquake is offline  
Old 22 November 2005, 17:38   #3
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 52
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
yeah it was robocop 3 and it was defeated before the game hit the shops
sarek2k is offline  
Old 22 November 2005, 17:50   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 38
Posts: 2,652
Robocop 3 was released in 92 btw So you were right about the year atleast..
kriz is offline  
Old 22 November 2005, 19:35   #5
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
F29 had a Copylock protection, not dongle.
IFW is offline  
Old 22 November 2005, 21:13   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,751
F29 had a special Copylock protection track It didn't show up at all in a warper.

I think Turbo Slug/Quartex did F29 for DID
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 23 November 2005, 02:08   #7
X-ray
Angry Kid Fan
X-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 230
The F29 copy protection was so fussy that the game didn't work in the A500 pack that it was bundled for (the first pack I got). It was the only title that didn't work, and it was a must-have for me. The plane would take off and a certain amount of time into the game it would just explode. Kept the game, exchanged the A500 and it was fine after that.
X-ray is offline  
Old 23 November 2005, 12:07   #8
Captain_ Kal
Registered User
Captain_ Kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 50
Posts: 92
Yes. It was Robocop 3. And I bought the pirate version first and then the boxed one. F-29 and EPIC, had no hardware protection. According to a review that I had read at Amiga Format (I think), the leaked pirate version was a beta version, and the dongle was an experiment by Ocean that published the game, at the time.

And I don't think Inferno,had any copy protection.(At least the CD version I bought a few years back.. You can still play it. Home of the Underdogs, have the disk version, and it's fully playable with DosBox )
Captain_ Kal is offline  
Old 23 November 2005, 16:35   #9
Celluloïd
 
Posts: n/a
Woaw, that's what I called precised answers, thanks to you all.

I might have indeed been confused about the game/year
 
Old 24 November 2005, 08:23   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Ahhhh robocop 3.... yeah that dongle was sooooo easy to defeat.. grabbed an external connecting numeric keypad (i got it for 50p in a bargin bin in 1990) choped the end off and plumbed it up to the joyport.... i then got some celotape and polystrene and held down the numbers 189 (or atleast i think it was that).. and HEY presto Game on!!!!!!

now before you think OMG what a lucky guess i dissasembled the dongle first and low and behold it was using the same chip as the one in the numberic keypad, i knowted what lines where grounded and 2 mins with a binary output i was able to tell what numbers where pressed.. in hex lol

ahhh those were the days.... cracking BSB and Sky.... i remember the look on my parents face when i dupped their sky card (series 7/8 i believe) using the serial port on my amiga ))... mmmm gotta love hardware.....



hey did i ever tell you about the time when i made a par-laplink cable from guitar wire?????......
....
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game titles project... scifi HOL suggestions and feedback 84 08 July 2013 08:51
Give suitable titles for my (hopefully) next mini-game (or ZOD will pay you a visit!) Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 31 13 February 2009 12:16
Amiga gfx in PC DOS game??? Lamer's question. Rafal project.Sprites 2 04 November 2008 16:49
Game Titles: A Batch for March Zetr0 GCA.Feedback and Suggestions 13 10 April 2007 15:17
Silly Question - My game starts and then... Sly support.WinUAE 3 12 June 2005 22:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10419 seconds with 13 queries