English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2020, 18:44   #1
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
AmigaOS 3.9 catalog files

I want to fix and update Turkish catalogs for AmigaOS 3.9 + boingbags. How do I do this?
ancalimon is online now  
Old 04 August 2020, 15:53   #2
Docent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
You need a tool to edit system catalog files. Search the aminet (aminet.net) for a suitable tool.
Docent is offline  
Old 04 August 2020, 16:53   #3
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Where do I find the catalog templates though?

I will try contacting the Turkish localization team.
ancalimon is online now  
Old 05 August 2020, 05:26   #4
Docent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
With some of these tools you don't need the source templates - you can edit compiled binary catalog files.
Try
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/CatEdit1_2b
or
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/ReCatIt
- these are pretty good catalog editors that can handle binary .catalog files.
Docent is offline  
Old 05 August 2020, 10:23   #5
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docent View Post
With some of these tools you don't need the source templates - you can edit compiled binary catalog files.
Try
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/CatEdit1_2b
or
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/ReCatIt
- these are pretty good catalog editors that can handle binary .catalog files.
Thanks a lot.

Now how do I also load original language for a file that do not have a catalog?

There are no english catalogs for for example HDToolBox because they are built in.
ancalimon is online now  
Old 06 August 2020, 00:10   #6
Docent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Thanks a lot.

Now how do I also load original language for a file that do not have a catalog?

There are no english catalogs for for example HDToolBox because they are built in.
if an application supports localizations via locale.library, usually original english strings are hardcoded inside the application. In such case you have two options, depending on the application:
- sometimes app developer provides source .cd file, that can be translated and used to generate your own localized .catalog file.
- if you know any other language that already has the .catalog file, you can base your translations on this file.


I think that HDToolbox (at least on WB3.1) doesn't support localization via locale.library, so you won't be able to localize it with .catalog file.

Last edited by Docent; 06 August 2020 at 02:25.
Docent is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 00:27   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
There are no english catalogs for for example HDToolBox because they are built in.

Language catalog for HDToolBox you can find it on BB1, there is also the Turkish language catalog.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Catalog.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	216.9 KB
ID:	68397  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 01:02   #8
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Language catalog for HDToolBox you can find it on BB1, there is also the Turkish language catalog.
Yes I am aware of the catalogs. Turkish computer terminology has advanced a lot since they were released and I want to modify those catalogs. It's hard when you do not have the English catalogs or cd files and the only languages you know are Turkish, Proto-Turkic, PIE and English. Turkish is a very versatile and detailed language and there are many little translation errors because of this. I want to fix that

As an example, a letter in a word is different when you do something and when you make someone do something for you.
ancalimon is online now  
Old 06 August 2020, 15:39   #9
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docent View Post
With some of these tools you don't need the source templates - you can edit compiled binary catalog files.
Try
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/CatEdit1_2b
or
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/ReCatIt
- these are pretty good catalog editors that can handle binary .catalog files.
Recatit seems better than cated but it creates some empty lines in catalogs when editing OS 3.9 turkish catalogs. Also I have to disable mousewheel because it crashes as soon as it captures mouse wheel movement.

Are there any more recent programs?
ancalimon is online now  
Old 06 August 2020, 15:48   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Are there any more recent programs?
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/simplecat
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 19:54   #11
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Thank you! this seems like the best software.
ancalimon is online now  
Old 09 August 2020, 16:33   #12
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 39
Posts: 1,350
I still need the original cd files and at least a ct file from any language though.

Translating from original english string seems like the best option because I can not know whether the Turkish catalog was translated perfectly, and there seems to be missing strings.


Last edited by ancalimon; 13 August 2020 at 13:29.
ancalimon is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ROM catalog ? XPD Retrogaming General Discussion 4 07 August 2019 20:25
Building CCS/New Horizons/WCI catalog Matt_H Coders. System 8 12 November 2018 19:42
[WANTED] SSI 1989-90 catalog / Dragon Strike Flyer BarryB MarketPlace 0 15 May 2016 23:37
How to set polish catalog for EaglePlayer or other soft? olesio support.Apps 5 02 March 2009 11:48
corrupted quartarback catalog trnepalla support.Apps 2 22 May 2006 00:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09423 seconds with 16 queries