English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2020, 16:34   #1
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
What difference exists between RAM: Real and RAM: Automatic

Hi,
what difference does it make in the winuae settings?
RAM: Real
RAM: Automatic

I ask this question because after a long time I managed to solve an application compatibility problem.
Now they no longer crash by choosing RAM: Real

Thanks.
White is offline  
Old 01 May 2020, 17:41   #2
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
The problem was blocking the following audio and video applications etc. in the same work session, in practice they could not be used continuously
now odyssey, e-uae, emotion, smtube, ffplay, amigagaAMP etc.
they no longer crash.
Even using them many times.
I also had to make some changes to other winuae settings (latest beta).
But the reason they work lies in the use of RAM: Real
Because in the exact same configuration if I use RAM: Automatic
the system crashes.
When I try to use them continuously.
White is offline  
Old 01 May 2020, 18:15   #3
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
Here a video, maybe it can be useful for future use and deepen (I hope) :-)
normally winuae and set to full-screen, in this case I had to adapt the video for the video capture program.
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 01 May 2020, 18:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
Usually (at least if 64-bit Windows), Automatic equals Real. If there is not enough address space, Automatic selects UAE.

But it is mostly irrelevant anyway unless running OS4 or unix-like operating systems that expect Z3 boards in expected locations. You will notice it immediately because it either hangs at boot or all Z3 boards are missing.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 May 2020, 19:03   #5
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
Toni, thanks for the reply,
i also tried uae-memory
and automatic
oddly only selecting "real" seems to work
in this case for amigaos4.1FE all "peripherals are recognized" on the winuae side
thanks again for your explanation.

my configuration is always based on G-REX and FM801
White is offline  
Old 01 May 2020, 19:08   #6
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
Toni,
I am attaching the configuration, maybe tomorrow may be useful.
Attached Files
File Type: uae E-UAE-EMOTION-OK8-memoryREAL.uae (12.1 KB, 39 views)
White is offline  
Old 02 May 2020, 05:01   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
Toni, sorry I just wanted to tell you that the options activated with the "real" memory
if I try to remove even one of these options in the FPU section the programs oddly don't work or stop working.

for example, if I use "uae memory" the screen remains stuck on the red color when starting winuae
while if I use "automatic memory" the programs randomly freeze
Odyssey ffplay e-uae ecc.

I hope it will be useful in some way if you decide to investigate.
Thanks.

While the programs do not conflict with each other with these options
I leave you a short summary with "real memory" they work with these options.
while instead the programs do not conflict with each other with these options and work perfectly odyssey e-uae ffplay emotion etc. :
AGA
ZorroIII
RTG 128 mb

8bit
All
All
A8R8G8B8

cpu 060
Unimplemened CPU emu
MMU None
FPU
CPU internal
more compatible
Host (64-bit)

sorry for the additional note, if you need some log or other I remain at your disposal.
Thanks.
White is offline  
Old 02 May 2020, 11:03   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,047
68k settings are mostly irrelevant in OS4 emulation (Except to run bootloader = at least 68040 is needed)

Attach winuaelog.txt from both configs. Thats show clearly show the difference if there is any.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 May 2020, 15:12   #9
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
Toni,
Thank you.
I attach this log (this is what works well)
if you tell me this is what you need the right log, I also attach the others that don't work,
Thanks again.
White is offline  
Old 02 May 2020, 15:14   #10
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 693
log
Attached Files
File Type: rar winuaelog.rar (110.2 KB, 43 views)
White is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sidecar ram, plus fast ram, chip ram behavior kaluce support.Hardware 6 21 May 2019 17:38
A600 RAM upgrade - Any difference in floppy games? Reb Hardware mods 4 31 January 2018 17:34
Slow/Fast RAM difference Galaxy support.Hardware 4 15 December 2017 21:21
Mounting real CF eats up a lot of RAM Akira support.WinUAE 84 10 July 2016 20:26
What RAM is used first? The 4000 m/b ram or the csppc ram? keropi support.Hardware 3 27 August 2006 21:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08281 seconds with 16 queries