English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2018, 09:14   #1941
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 121
thank you for the answers..another question: why isn't possible to copy the games from floppy disk to hard disk and to play from it?
jolly11 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 09:24   #1942
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,162
It is possible, if there is no copy protection to prevent it and the floppy disk uses a normal file system.

Some games have their own hard drive installers, but many games were designed on purpose to be floppy only so that they can't be as easily copied (though obviously all were soon cracked anyway). That is why WHDLoad was created.
ajk is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 09:34   #1943
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 121
thanks for the answer..yeah, I know whdload I was curious to understand why old dos pc games were so easy to copy to hard drive and instead amiga games had so many "anti-pirate" systems. I thought the "problem" was that hard drive was "optional" on amiga so the developers didn't bother about it
jolly11 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 09:52   #1944
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,259
Yeah, the general lack of uptake on optional hard drives (perhaps their expense when thinking of the A500) will have been a factor because the vast majority of Amigas were floppy-only systems, but also the Amiga's floppy drive controlling hardware was very flexible, allowing for lots of non-standard disk formats that couldn't be read by AmigaDOS. PC controllers didn't have that same kind of functionality, so disks more or less had to be standard format, and while there were still copy protected disks, they could at least be read by MS-DOS.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 10:27   #1945
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,162
Also quite a lot of the larger, multi-disk (let's say 4 disks or more) games actually do have their own hard drive installers and use a code wheel or other protection system instead. This includes almost all point-and-click adventure games (e.g. Monkey Island, Beneath a Steel Sky), many strategy games (e.g. Syndicate, UFO: Enemy Unknown) and some others (e.g. Wing Commander, Flashback).

I suppose for games with 1 or 2 disks it wasn't considered a big deal to not be hard drive installable, especially considering that a large portion of the users indeed never had one anyway.
ajk is offline  
Old 03 October 2018, 20:55   #1946
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 644
Did anyone ever use the 680x0 MMU to create a virtual machine?
e.g. an Atari ST VM running under AmigaOS.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 03 October 2018, 21:37   #1947
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,259
Arguably you could say that Mac emulators like Shapeshifter and Fusion are doing that sort of thing.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 03 October 2018, 21:56   #1948
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 644
Not really. Mac emulators are running a patched version of the Mac OS as a regular (non protected) AmigaOS task. No MMU is needed.

I'm thinking about a proper VM. The 68030/40/60 processor supports this as Linux/BSD 68k needs this kind of functionality.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 19:42   #1949
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 121
is it safe to use the original amiga cd32's joypad on a amiga 1200?
jolly11 is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 19:43   #1950
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by jolly11 View Post
is it safe to use the original amiga cd32's joypad on a amiga 1200?
Absolutely. Some games even supported it.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 22:48   #1951
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,259
Yep, any Amiga can read a CD32 pad, and there are lots of games patched with WHDLoad to make use of the extra buttons too.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 22:51   #1952
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Yep, any Amiga can read a CD32 pad, and there are lots of games patched with WHDLoad to make use of the extra buttons too.
My question is how the joypad works... its always been a mystery to me. The CD32 one with the extra buttons that is.
plasmab is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 05:47   #1953
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,162
It can switch to a mode where the button states are transmitted in a serial fashion rather than as individual i/o lines.
ajk is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 07:58   #1954
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
My question is how the joypad works... its always been a mystery to me. The CD32 one with the extra buttons that is.

http://gerdkautzmann.de/cd32gamepad/cd32gamepad.html
modrobert is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 09:03   #1955
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post


Thanks! That’s quite neat.
plasmab is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 14:09   #1956
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 121
I used to play gorillas (gorilla.bas) on my 286 pc, does it -or something similar- exists for amiga?
jolly11 is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 14:22   #1957
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,259
Little bit of a stretch, but you could say Worms is an evolution of that sort of game (Artillery-style). There's also Scorched Tanks, and I'm sure many others, though I can't think of any that you have to manually enter parameters like Gorilla.bas.

I once tried porting it to the Amiga, but it was too tied to the QBasic graphics commands to be a simple port, so I left it...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:35   #1958
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,551
Why would the Xcopy author have made it impossible to do a soft reset? I don't know of any other software which disabled it.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13543 seconds with 16 queries