English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2019, 21:59   #1
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 255
A1200 and A600 - No CF Cards Boot Now ???

My expanded A1200 booted fine with two CF cards,(Classic WB), before today.

I'm in the process of restoring and upgrading an A600. Tonight I first test the HDD, for which I set up a new small WB3.1 CF card up in WinUAE. This didn't work.

I tried the same card in my A1200 and it didn't work either

However, my two other previously working Classic WB cards don't work in either machine now. In fact, no CF cards are working in either machine. So I can't do anything with either machine.

I just see the boot screen now. No CF card will boot to Workbench.

I've tried a different power supply, no difference.

I have no idea how to solve this. what could have caused it. Could the A600 have killed all the CF cards, hence the reason why they don't work on the A1200?

Any advice would be appreciated
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 22:15   #2
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 784
What IDE to CF adapter are you using? Some allow you to set whether the CF is master or slave; or it should specify whether it is fixed as master or slave.
solarmon is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 22:29   #3
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 134
Yes, some adaptors will switch the boot device between IDE master/slave by holding down the ctrl-A-A for 5 seconds or the like.

I've found that some IDE to CF interfaces are quite sensitive to being moved around when CF cards are being changed. Make sure the IDE-CF interfaces are still seated well.

Set up a new CF in Win-UAE, then test it in your A1200 to make sure it works.

Then in the A600 test the CF using the IDE-CF interface from the A1200. In case the IDE-CF interface in the A600 is buggered.

Then if you want, try the A600 IDE-CF interface in your A1200 with the new CF.
DofD is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 23:05   #4
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 255
SOLVED!

Very happy. Well, coincidentally both master/slave jumpers had come away from the CF adapters so that's why neither would boot.

Both of them!

What I have proved now, is that my restoration A600 is working and it's new AmigaKit 1MB chip ram expansion is also working.

Onwards!
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 23:10   #5
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 134
Good to hear!

Might want to set out some gremlin traps so they don't fiddle with any more jumpers.
DofD is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 23:26   #6
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 255
That'll teach me for moving them round and taking them apart. I heard something rattling around in the A1200 case and it was the jumper.

Next up, A600 CF HDD set up (and a replacement F1 key)
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 23:26   #7
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 255
any chance of removing this post now its all solved?
CDTV1991 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 x WIFI CARDS - LINKSYS - WPA2/AES - AMIGA - A600/A1200 PCMCIA WIFI Sir_Lucas MarketPlace 222 29 September 2019 19:19
Individual Computers - New accelerator cards for A600 & A1200 Retro-Nerd News 2928 24 September 2019 16:22
Linksys WPA2/AES PCMCIA Wifi Wireless cards for A600/A1200 mdanh2002 MarketPlace 0 17 June 2019 09:50
25 x WIFI CARDS - ZYXEL - WPA2/AES - AMIGA - A600/A1200 PCMCIA WIFI Sir_Lucas MarketPlace 82 10 February 2016 16:24
A600 and PCMCIA SRAM cards pvt_beano support.Hardware 6 20 January 2006 16:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06658 seconds with 13 queries