English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2019, 19:04   #41
maxx11111
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: uk
Posts: 7
i will double check but sure both said version 1.33
maxx11111 is offline  
Old 21 April 2019, 22:09   #42
maxx11111
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: uk
Posts: 7
Sorry i checked the version number wrong it was just giving me the loaded version number which was 1.33 my old working one is 1.27, going to try and format with 1.33 installed see if that helps
maxx11111 is offline  
Old 21 April 2019, 23:39   #43
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
Yes, please try and report back.

Thanks
gulliver is offline  
Old 22 April 2019, 11:37   #44
maxx11111
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: uk
Posts: 7
doing a quick format on the amiga didn't help, however doing a full format on the pc as fat16 stopped the error, a full format at fat32 the error returned.
maxx11111 is offline  
Old 22 April 2019, 12:05   #45
maxx11111
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: uk
Posts: 7
problem solved, i had a older version of fat95 which didn't seem to like the new compactflash.device, updated to 3.18 and all is good
maxx11111 is offline  
Old 23 April 2019, 01:56   #46
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
But shouldn't you be using the new improved and well documented crossdos of 3.1.4... never mind
kolla is offline  
Old 23 April 2019, 14:48   #47
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxx11111 View Post
problem solved, i had a older version of fat95 which didn't seem to like the new compactflash.device, updated to 3.18 and all is good
Great, I am glad that you sorted it out.

Thank you for the feedback.
gulliver is offline  
Old 08 May 2019, 13:24   #48
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 550
I've just applied BestWB 1.0 to a clean install of 3.1.4 on a MiSTer system. The system is setup with 68EC020 2MB Chip, 24MB Fast. Since I had the DATA partition from my A1200 I tested with a few demos and games before applying BWB and it was fine. After BWB I just get 'ramlib Program failed (error #80000004)' on boot.

I'm quite sure this will be down to something that the MiSTer is lacking but I'm not sure where to look? My suspicion is that it's probably the MMULibs?

[EDIT] Never mind - I'll leave my post intact for anyone looking later but yes, it's 68020.library. As soon as I remove it I can boot. I'll read the docs for that lib and see what's what.

Last edited by MartinW; 08 May 2019 at 13:30.
MartinW is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 16:00   #49
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
Hi MartinW,

The MMULib thing is a problem that the MiSTer has due to an unimplemented cpu opcode. I have already reported this bug, it is now on the MiST github waiting for a fix.
gulliver is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 17:42   #50
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 550
Ah, thank you - both for reporting it and confirming it's not just me going mad

For now I just moved 68020.library to a subfolder called '_disabled' and I can carry on seemingly as normal.
MartinW is offline  
Old 10 May 2019, 23:29   #51
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 389
The MMU Libs play havoc with ACATune, I had to remove them to get my ACA1232 recognised again.

Is this a known problem?
Amicol is offline  
Old 10 May 2019, 23:34   #52
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
The MMU Libs play havoc with ACATune, I had to remove them to get my ACA1232 recognised again.

Is this a known problem?
No, as far as I know.
I haven't seen any other report about such issue.
I will ask Thomas anyway.
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 12:55   #53
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 550
I have been using MMU libs with ACATune on a 1233 accelerator for years without any issues. Define "plays havoc with"? Maybe I wasn't doing something that you are trying to? I can dig out the line from my startup sequence tonight if you want but from memory I was mapping a ROM and turning some of the caching stuff on. I also know it worked with 3.1.4 because I modified my install floppy to add the 3.1.4KS on install so it would behave as though I had burnt physical ROMs (the install behaves differently if not - it's in the docs somewhere)
MartinW is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 16:37   #54
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 389
When MMU Libs are enabled ACATune detects my card as 1230 @28Mhz. Typed ACAtune status in Shell and thats what it says, also none of my options are showing as enabled (including Maprom)

It detects my Card correctly as 1232 @40Mhz when MMU Libs are not used, and options are also showing correctly. The only things I use are Maprom * (as I have physical 3.1.4 roms installed in the A1200), vbrmove & burst on.

With MMU Libs, my drive is also 500 bytes/s slower.

I have the ACAtune line as the very first thing in my startup-sequence.
Amicol is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 21:12   #55
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
I asked Thomas about the issue and and he replied this:

..."The latest mmulib distribution contains a helper "ACAInit" you would
need to put into LIBS:mmu, and call it from ENVARC:MMU-Configuration.
This unlocks a couple of memory regions of the (non-autoconfiguring) ACA
hardware.

Note well, this tool is *NOT* callable from the startup-sequence. It
needs to go into the MMU-Configuration."...
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 22:41   #56
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 389
@gulliver

Thank you, it works perfectly!
Amicol is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 23:37   #57
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 550
OK, that's all really interesting, thanks. You've clearly gone into a lot more detail on the card and MMU then I did and I'm now going to go back and review the situation with this new information. I was getting some weird behaviour in demos and also in USB / Rapid Road, so much so that I started to prefer a plain 8MB / RTC expansion over the 1233 because it seemed more stable. I'll check if the additional info helps me too
MartinW is offline  
Old 11 May 2019, 23:51   #58
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,076
Great! I am happy that the information helps both of you.
gulliver is offline  
Old 12 May 2019, 08:01   #59
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 109
Thanks for BestWB!
Yesterday, I've installed it on my A1200 with GoADF in 2 minutes.

It's a great package, hope to see more releases! :-)
Tarzin is offline  
Old 12 May 2019, 13:41   #60
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 389
I would also like to say thank you for this, it's really great!!

I have always used ClassicWB but, since there is no ClassicWB for 3.1.4, I decided to try this. I'm glad that I did, it looks really nice with glow icons

One thing I notice is that all partitions (apart from System) show as floppy disk icons. Is there a way of updating these? ClassicWB used to add the correct icon automatically. I have looked in Storage for the appropriate icon but can't find any
Amicol is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BestWB 1.0 gulliver News 49 11 September 2019 14:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09186 seconds with 13 queries