English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2020, 14:36   #3701
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
It’s all in the wiki


I don’t wanna read I want it spoonfed haha

Ok I’ll take a look
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 22 January 2020, 18:01   #3702
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,585
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F133312117519

This shit makes me fucking fume. The seller clearly has read this thread but is perfectly happy to scalp everyone

If the seller reads this: fuck you

Last edited by trixster; 22 January 2020 at 18:14.
trixster is online now  
Old 22 January 2020, 18:47   #3703
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 196
I think (hope) no one will buy this bundle. Nearly everyone who is interested in this topic knows this thread her.

Option one is to buy the bundle, cancel the deal and get the real name. The rest is a matter of time and research. Another option is his link to the wiki - a easy to find information about such rip offs, or link to such auctions in the official wiki will safe others.
AMike is online now  
Old 22 January 2020, 23:48   #3704
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
Can you possible attach an example of the file that should be in there please
Ok, so this is just general Amiga information, don't be offended if I restate things you know.
ENVARC: is just the place on the HDD where the contents are copied to ENV: in your RAM drive.

So if you open a CLI and just type env: you should have stuff in there like env:sys/screenmode.prefs
or env:sys/ahi.prefs
So for the purposes of the sonnetlib you just make a directory called sonnet in envarc:
like 1> makedir envarc:sonnet
The configuration flags are actually just text files in there that you can create with a text editor or canonically like:
1> setenv envarc:sonnet/Harrier256MB=1
This is creating a flag called Harrier256MB, with a file content of just the number "1".


When you reboot your startup-sequence copies the envarc: dir to ram:env/ and assign env: ram:env
So if someone says hey try setting EnStackPatch for the Sonnetlib, you'd say:
1> setenv envarc:sonnet/EnStackPatch=1
Envarc: usually resides in your sys:Prefs/env-archive/ dir.



Regarding your configuration, usually I would not recommend putting the SWAP jumper on, unless you're sure you have to, or have a pretty good reason to think you do.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 23 January 2020, 09:57   #3705
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Ok, so this is just general Amiga information, don't be offended if I restate things you know.
ENVARC: is just the place on the HDD where the contents are copied to ENV: in your RAM drive.

So if you open a CLI and just type env: you should have stuff in there like env:sys/screenmode.prefs
or env:sys/ahi.prefs
So for the purposes of the sonnetlib you just make a directory called sonnet in envarc:
like 1> makedir envarc:sonnet
The configuration flags are actually just text files in there that you can create with a text editor or canonically like:
1> setenv envarc:sonnet/Harrier256MB=1
This is creating a flag called Harrier256MB, with a file content of just the number "1".


When you reboot your startup-sequence copies the envarc: dir to ram:env/ and assign env: ram:env
So if someone says hey try setting EnStackPatch for the Sonnetlib, you'd say:
1> setenv envarc:sonnet/EnStackPatch=1
Envarc: usually resides in your sys:Prefs/env-archive/ dir.



Regarding your configuration, usually I would not recommend putting the SWAP jumper on, unless you're sure you have to, or have a pretty good reason to think you do.


Thanks for the info especially about the swap config jumper I’ll try it with it open
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 23 January 2020, 21:43   #3706
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
so I need Swap config closed due to my Fast ATA it don't like it open
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 00:19   #3707
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
please get a dump of showconfig and pciinfo.
So here is Getinfo


showconfig



pciinfo part 1



Pciinfo part 2



And is this how my env should look?

Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 00:51   #3708
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Yes that looks correct. Delete that Harrier256MB "file" you do not need it, a "0" is the library default, I was just curious if it changed anything. Please check the LEDs on the PPC board when you turn the system on.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 24 January 2020 at 01:05.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:07   #3709
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Yes that looks correct. Delete that Harrier256MB "file" you do no need it an "0" is the library default, I was just curious if it changed anything. Please check the LEDs on the PPC board when you turn the system on.

Ok with the LEDs it seem to have a flash of the green led when turned on and orange stays on then a flash of the green when activated

Ok I also put another jumper on the ppc and it’s tight on there if the jumper is of there is a lot of activity on the green LED
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:12   #3710
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Ok that is correct, with the jumper fitted a brief flash of the green LED is normal on Power-On. So it's not that.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:18   #3711
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Ok that is correct, with the jumper fitted a brief flash of the green LED is normal on Power-On. So it's not that.
cool

I tried filling my ram disk it didn't like that so it defo is only 128mb
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:22   #3712
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
You are using Build 431 or later from the Git? Also are you using MMULib, also what 060 library?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:29   #3713
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
You are using Build 431 or later from the Git? Also are you using MMULib, also what 060 library?
MMUlib is installed doesn't it upgrade the 060 library?

im using the newest Sonnetlib from the Git
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:32   #3714
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Yes MMULib can replace the 060 library if you tell it to.
From a CLI do a:
version file full libs:68060.library
And from the MMULib tools directory, run Muscan and show us the output.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:40   #3715
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Yes MMULib can replace the 060 library if you tell it to.
From a CLI do a:
version file full libs:68060.library
And from the MMULib tools directory, run Muscan and show us the output.


Here you go



And thanks for all your assistance on trying to help me get this working correctly
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:44   #3716
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Grab the latest from the git, 436.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:55   #3717
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Grab the latest from the git, 436.
is this the 68060.library or a newer copy of MMUlibs?
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:57   #3718
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
is this the 68060.library or a newer copy of MMUlibs?
I was talking about the Sonnetlib git. Build 436 from the git should error on your system but force 128MB after a reboot
Also TinyMenu I see on your desktop has always caused instability for me with Sonnetlib, I would recommend not using it.

It looks like you're using ClassicWB, so do this:
1) Copy this powerpc.library that is attached to your system.
2) After a COLD BOOT as in turn computer off, wait 30s, right click somewhere on your desktop Edit Hex
3) FileX should come up, Open Grab Memory and enter for start 100000 end 100008
See what value you have there.
Attached Files
File Type: zip powerpc.zip (34.6 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 24 January 2020 at 02:06.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 02:02   #3719
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I was talking about the Sonnetlib git.

It looks like you're using ClassicWB, so do this:
1) Copy this powerpc.library that is attached to your system.
2) After a COLD BOOT as in turn computer off, wait 30s, right click somewhere on your desktop Edit Hex
3) FileX should come up, Open Grab Memory and enter for start 100000 end 100008
See what value you have there.
Doing this now
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 02:14   #3720
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I was talking about the Sonnetlib git. Build 436 from the git should error on your system but force 128MB after a reboot
Also TinyMenu I see on your desktop has always caused instability for me with Sonnetlib, I would recommend not using it.

It looks like you're using ClassicWB, so do this:
1) Copy this powerpc.library that is attached to your system.
2) After a COLD BOOT as in turn computer off, wait 30s, right click somewhere on your desktop Edit Hex
3) FileX should come up, Open Grab Memory and enter for start 100000 end 100008
See what value you have there.


Hey you did it

I reinstalled the MMULibs from the link on the Git

I added your PowerPC.library did the restart didn’t need to go further because the memory was correct

Now showing this in show info



Think that’s me for the night it’s 1 in the morning here

Thanks ever so much for your help
Timtheloon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14795 seconds with 14 queries