English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 July 2008, 17:36   #1
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Bard's Tale II - The Destiny Knight

Hi,

I thought it was necessary to post a *firm* request for a Bard's Tale 2 whdload, at this point :

- Many of us would like to play it the same way we can play Bard's Tale I, as it seems event better. Being stuck with Tales of Destiny, which I had the chance to practice back in the days is irritating. (not blaming anyone...)

- There has been a lot of fuss over Destiny Knight having a generic installer. True, there are tutorials based on modifying the startup sequences with assigns, but I suspect them to work with antiquated wb environments.

- To be honest, I tried to mess around with Bard's Tale I whdload. Loading of the game occurs but the request "Insert D. K. character disk" kept popping up, ad nauseum. I am definitely no patcher, but I guess fixing it wouldn't be too difficult.

- I am pretty sure none of these games has a generic installer. Best I could find was a Character disk bootable with the game and characters with hacked stats.

- The game needs patching as the ADF only loads the characters with very conservative settings in WinUAE (68000 CPU)

- Still, if Retro-Nerd or Hungry Horace have not thrown to the fire their infamous unofficial whdload version, I'd gladly pick it up from them .

- Finally, gamers are welcomed to disclose precise information about the presence of a default installer in a game, when possible.

Last edited by NewDeli; 30 July 2008 at 12:11.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 18:54   #2
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 39
Posts: 2,491
i'm considering doing an official version since no one else seems that interested


however, i will see if i can dig out the one using the generic WHD slave for you for the time being


edit: now in the Zone

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 10 July 2008 at 19:01.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 19:07   #3
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 39
Posts: 2,491
looking at it, im not entirely sure why 'traxx' never submitted any installs to whdload.de - maybe it doesnt work with the original version, or doesnt do any crc checking or anything.

seems to work ok though.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 19:16   #4
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
The guy quit suddenly the Amiga scene some time ago, from what I've read.
May be he was right to do so, it's so time consuming !

Thanks anyway. I'll put this glorious game to download on my web site, for preservation purposes.

A patcher is welcomed to check it, and put his name on it, or take the opportunity to patch Bard's Tale III .
NewDeli is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 20:39   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
You mean the Traxx Amiga EP Patches? He's posting from time to time on the cgboard. I asked him about his (generic slaves only?) installs, got no answer.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=146767&postcount=2
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 21:15   #6
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Look at that 'muchmore' file I don't think his Bard's Tale 2 whdload uses a generic slave. It's possible that he reused BT 1's though. Codetapper must know the whole story.

whdload dev package contains a generic install script, but it seems you won't need it if you're not planning to write your slave from A to Z.

I am uploading Bard's Tale II to my web site now.
I did a couple of minor modifications :
- Created a CharacterBackup folder to store your characters.
- Added the extra-strong guys and the saved game from The Kent Team ADF
- Added the BTCE (to edit characters)

You may get it from :http://netcomet.info ENG Download Pad
(use a download manager if you have trouble downloading it right away)

Last edited by NewDeli; 30 July 2008 at 12:16.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 23:44   #7
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 39
Posts: 2,491
well, i must say after having a look, it's not the -most- generic slave as i was thinking. Such is reserved for the likes of 'Street Rod' i believe, which doesnt even feature a name on the splashscreen (i think) .... so there may be a few minor tweeks and fixes in there, you never know. nonetheless, it's clearly built on the kick13.s source featured in the dev package, but why not... it is very useful!

i can understand it, i'm doing it myself in order to learn more. perhaps working on some versions of these games might be good for me to learn from - BTII certainly interests me, although its hard to see what there would be to add.


i still cant understand why he couldnt just follow a few standards and submit them...
i'm sure a few more technically minded slave authors wouldnt mind helping out to improve them if needed - there are several who have certainly taught me a lot!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 11 July 2008, 01:53   #8
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
@ Hungry Horace : May be KG can tell us how hard he sought after the ability to fix games with broken slaves in his dreams.

I mostly agree with you about exercising with generic slaves, except I don't regret the demise of Traxx that much. Of course, it means less patches ahead. This said, personally, I prefer a patcher who will need six months to fulfill a request, than the one who will do it fast but without extensive testing.

I am pretty sure I can't do that cracking, disassembling and patching stuff (not even speaking about the improved features) the way they do it. Assuming you are still in the learning phase, I think the best we can offer now is help on testing those games corresponding to work-in-progress slaves.


I have good news. Bard's Tale III - Thief of Fate has a default installer !
It's not very trendy but it works, no bollocks !

I am sure Electronic Arts received tons of letters asking them for this feature, they even took the time to add a large icon to the executable.

I am telling you folks, there's (almost) nothing like Bard's Tale, as of Amiga RPGs !

Last edited by NewDeli; 30 July 2008 at 12:18.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 11 July 2008, 05:19   #9
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,037
Whoever wrote that character editor is a legend, heheh :-)
Minuous is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bard's Tale II andreas HOL data problems 8 13 May 2013 09:06
What is the proper configuration for The Bard's Tale? Lotus Gramarye support.WinUAE 4 27 April 2012 15:18
Matt Chat 71: The Bard's Tale gilgamesh Retrogaming General Discussion 8 31 August 2010 15:19
please help with bard's tale alucard007 support.Games 2 04 February 2008 00:57
New Bard's Tale Dalai Retrogaming General Discussion 4 02 October 2003 08:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07082 seconds with 13 queries