English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2005, 04:21   #1
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Can't get my Amiga to read PC disks!

I'm running an A1000 with Workbench 1.3 Supposedly, Amigas can read PC disks. I formatted a 720K disk with the run command:
"format.com A: /T:80 /N:9 /FS:FAT". This allows the PC to try to format the disk as 720, not 1440.
My PC runs Win XP Pro.

Still, the disk loads up on the Amiga as, "DF1:BAD" and is completely unable to read the disk at all. What's the problem here? Someone please help!
 
Old 12 March 2005, 04:42   #2
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
well, you need to mount a pc volume from a suitable
mountlist entry...

examine devs: (that's workbench:devs or sys:devs) for
a mountlist text file... scan it for an entry like
PC0 or PC1,PC2... if it exists open a cli (shell in
later WB revisions) and type mount pc0: or 1,2 etc

along with the df1:bad or whatnot there'll also be
an icon with the pc disk name... I'm not completely
sure but I think 1.3 doesn't include or feature full
working crossdos capabilities... perhaps you'd better
search on aminet for an alternative...

good luck
Slayer is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 04:53   #3
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
check out:

hxxp://main.aminet.net/disk/misc/fat95.lha

for instance...
Slayer is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 05:32   #4
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
The devs does not have an entry for PC0, 1, 2, etc. and if I type "mount pc0:" etc, I get a "drive does not exist" error. I simply don't know what to do.

What I really need is for someone very, very helpful to give me a call and verbally walk me through the process of getting my Amiga to recognize PC disks.

Incidentally, Slayer, I can't download that file you recommended to my Amiga, as it has never been connected and (at this point) will probably never be connected to the internet.

I need HELP!
 
Old 12 March 2005, 05:50   #5
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
good luck with the personal call

replace the xx in the hxxp with tt

I typed it hxxp to avoid hot-linking... a habit
learned when one is in certain forums...

read the documentation... you'll probably have to
acquire a few other files from aminet also like
the mfm.device etc...

don't worry, you can do it!

I'm off to watch 2 towers... again... heh
Slayer is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 05:53   #6
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
ah... I've just realised you can't get the info onto
your Amiga anyway?

then perhaps you're barking up the wrong tree initially
perhaps you should be looking at how to mount an Amiga
disk on your winz/macos?

take a look at this file perhaps and do it the serial
way?

hxxp://main.aminet.net/misc/emu/TWINEXPRESS.lha
Slayer is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 16:13   #7
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 53
Posts: 95
PC disks

Workbench 1.3 is too old to read PC disks. You need to upgrade to Workbench 3.1 to read PC disks.
Best thing to do is set up a serial link and transfer files that way. (BTW, OS1.3 does not come with any binary file transfer software)

I suggest Amiga Explorer from Cloanto.
http://www.amigaforever.com/
pjhutch is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 17:01   #8
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 64
Posts: 685
Don't forget that the A1000 has a non-standard pinout for the serial port, so a standard serial cable can't be used, else you might fry your A1000.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 20:30   #9
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
I DO have Amiga Explorer, however, to get it to work, you have to copy a file from your PC onto a disk that was formatted on the PC (which I have done). Unfortunately, I still come to the main problem, which is that the Amiga will not read one of those disks, so I can't copy the two files AExplorer needs to work on the Amiga end!!!!


ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!
 
Old 13 March 2005, 14:02   #10
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 53
Posts: 95
PC disks

You do not need any files on the Amiga end for AExplorer to work. Just load up Workbench on the Amiga end, connect PC to Amiga and launch AExplorer.
Then you can copy files to/from the Amiga, would be best if you have 2 or more floppy drives or a HD or just swap drivers.
pjhutch is offline  
Old 13 March 2005, 16:02   #11
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
Depending on what you want to do, you can use a PC Disk read utility such as MessySID. This prog will read and write PC formatted disks (720K format) and therefore let you transfer files to and from PC disks to/from Amiga disks etc. I used to use that program a lot, and I can assure you, it works just fine.

Available from PD libraries - assuming any still exist, or if you speak to me nicely, I'll zone the DMS image for you.
lloyd is offline  
Old 13 March 2005, 18:14   #12
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
I understand I need a really, really special null serial cable for my A1000 so I don't totally fry it. Can anyone describe it for me or tell me where I can get one to hook to my XP machine?

Lloyd, I would really, really appreciate it if you would help me out here. Unfortunately, I'm a total newbie, so I don't understand most of what you just said.

My issue is that I have around 300 of my old Amiga disks I'd like to copy to WinXP so I can run them. Also, I want to ultimately burn them to CD so all of the info on them isn't lost forever when the data corrupts from age...

-Erik
 
Old 13 March 2005, 21:50   #13
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
If these disks you want to transfer to the PC are normal AmigaDOS disks, you can use DMS to make the whole disk a single smaller file. IF (and quite often it's a big IF), the size of the DMS image is less than 720K, you can write the file to a 720K PC disk using MessySID. Then, put the disk in your PC and just copy off the DMS file to you're PC hard drive. It's quite simple really and MEssySID comes with docs etc. If the DMS file is larger than 720K you'll need to use Twin Express or something similar to copy the files over to the PC.

If some of your disks are copy protected (like games disks) then I don't think DMS will work on them and you'll need somebody with more experience than me to transfer them.

I don't know the pin assignments for the A2000 serial port else I'd offer to build you a cable too. Mine works just great on my A500, A600 and A1200 tho.....

Will find MessySID and upload to the Zone. To get access to the Zone, read the FAQ.
lloyd is offline  
Old 13 March 2005, 21:58   #14
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
MessySID (1338.dms) uploaded to the Zone. Will now google for the A2000 pinouts of the serial port.....
lloyd is offline  
Old 13 March 2005, 22:10   #15
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
Lloyd, I thank you very much for the file, which I have now downloaded to my PC.

There's still just one problem: How do I get the file to my Amiga? Remember, my Amiga 1000 does not have the hardware/software to hook up to the internet (I have a cable connection and no phone line) and my Amiga does not recognize a PC-readable disk, nor do I have the proper null modem cable which will not fry my A1000.
 
Old 14 March 2005, 07:24   #16
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 64
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd
MessySID (1338.dms) uploaded to the Zone. Will now google for the A2000 pinouts of the serial port.....
The A2000 serial port is "industry standard", but it is NOT the same as the A1000 serial port. That requires a different cable so that you don't end up connecting a line carrying any voltage to somewhere it shouldn't be connected to.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 14 March 2005, 17:51   #17
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
How about good old DOS-2-DOS? Hmm...maybe too slow for moving megabytes of stuff.... but i used it with my A500 back in days to transfer those precious ADF's!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 15 March 2005, 11:50   #18
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 53
Posts: 95
Serial Port

The main difference between A2000 and A1000 is that the port on the A1000 is 25 pin Female port (all other Amigas use 25 pin Male ports). (From http://www.amiga-hardware.com/)

To make a serial cable see http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/3-105.html
pjhutch is offline  
Old 15 March 2005, 13:42   #19
lloyd
Mehh :D
lloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bristol, SW UK
Age: 57
Posts: 242
Thunderchicken dude, maybe you'd best PM (or email) me your postal address - I'll send you the MessySID disk.

Do you have a CD drive on your Mig? Probably not but thought I'd best ask...
lloyd is offline  
Old 21 May 2005, 00:13   #20
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjhutch
Workbench 1.3 is too old to read PC disks. You need to upgrade to Workbench 3.1 to read PC disks.
Sorry, but this statement is total rubbish.

When I had still my A500, I *was* able to read PC disks, with a demo of an older CrossDOS shipped with some of the older Fish (?) disks (if I remember the distributor correctly).
And yes, as upgrading was way too expensive for me, I've always kept to KS 1.3 + WB 1.3. No OS 2.0 anywhere.

Please inform yourself better.
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble getting CatWeasel to read disks faynce support.Hardware 15 14 March 2010 15:50
Disks do not only die of bit-rot...Read this! andreas project.SPS (was CAPS) 18 26 May 2006 18:51
Any ideas to help me read these disks? spirited support.Apps 5 04 May 2006 22:28
A500 sometimes fail to read disks _ThEcRoW support.Hardware 15 12 August 2005 18:37
PC0: is mounted but Amiga wont read PC disks ? sgt_chimp support.Apps 22 05 June 2002 20:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10102 seconds with 13 queries