English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2014, 05:48   #41
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo View Post
I already have a Apollo 1260/66



So it´s better don´t change my Blizzard 1240/40 by a ACA 1230/056
Well, depends. For pure old games compatibility/WHDLoad the ACA will be better.
Damion is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 23:15   #42
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Isn't Chipram access still slower with an ACA12xx?
BarryB is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 07:15   #43
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Isn't Chipram access still slower with an ACA12xx?
I believe subsequent releases were, similar to your Microbotics or my GVP 1230 (max 4.5 MB/s). The early ones (1230/56) were like the old Blizzard and Apollo 1230's, up to 7 MB/s. There are games that will show the difference, though I didn't find many.

Actually, pretty sure chipram access with the Apollo 1230 is faster than it is with the original onboard '020.
Damion is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 13:01   #44
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Yep, my MX1230A loads Turrican WHDLoad much faster than my ACA1232 in my A1200, I think Jens mentioned the ACA is Asynchronous.
BarryB is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 01:26   #45
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
IDE as getting an IDE-Fix Express is extremely difficult and a FastATA won't fit with the Indi AGA I bought!
Indi Mk2/Fast ATA fits fine.

http://www.amiga.org/forums/picture....pictureid=1093

http://www.amiga.org/forums/picture....pictureid=1088

The Apollo card is fantastic, I've had no issues with it and have it running at 80MHz. Use to be Novas old card ;-)

To be honest haven't needed more than 64MB when it was still in the wedge case, when I towered it I used other options for more RAM :-)
lurch is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 01:35   #46
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by lurch View Post
The Apollo card is fantastic, I've had no issues with it and have it running at 80MHz. Use to be Novas old card ;-)
Still not sure why I sold that beauty

Or my cute little ACA 1230 @ 56Mhz
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 02:18   #47
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
I know I won't be selling my BPPC, unless it's a trade for one that's same spec with a SCSI kit

@lurch: I've seen the weird ways folks have gotten their FastATA to fit! Elbox even sell a riser kit for the Mediator to allow more space underneath it, but it raises everything so the PCI cards get raised too meaning you have to find a way to screw them down either with spacers and longer screws or screwing standoffs together to get the right height! Not sure I want to to go to that much hassle, some of those angled sockets just don't look secure enough to me!!
BarryB is offline  
Old 26 December 2014, 15:07   #48
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Have now bought a Blizzard 1260 + SCSI Kit, both with 64mb and 060 @ 50Mhz!

Waiting for delivery, but in the meantime what SCSI HDD stuff can I connect internally and what adaptors/terminators/cables are needed? I've read that LVD/SE drives are needed and active termination just need to know what drives to look for now.
BarryB is offline  
Old 27 December 2014, 06:19   #49
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,684
Most straight forward: narrow 50 pin drives, cable and terminator.

You'll need a custom cable in any case, as the Blizzard doesn't support internal drives per default. It ships with a Mac style connector for a 25pin external drive.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 December 2014, 13:01   #50
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Would a SATA-SCSI adapter be OK as finding a 2.5" SCSI drive is next to impossible, so want to use a standard 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD!
BarryB is offline  
Old 27 December 2014, 20:25   #51
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,684
Sure. I wonder if you can find one in the 2.5" form factor though.

In any case, internal SCSI drives without a tower case is going to be a hack.

I remember the ST51080N was a really thin 3.5" disk that fits in the desktop A1200 just fine.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 02:07   #52
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Found this, a 2.5" SCSI drive with SCA connector: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IBM-e-Serv..._HardDrives_RL

and an adapter like this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Computer-8...-/181608506857

Then it's just a custom SCSI Cable from Blizzard to 50pin.
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 02:56   #53
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Would a SATA-SCSI adapter be OK
Probably, but they're not cheap. They're a 100+ bucks.
Thorham is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 10:06   #54
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 984
For a internal SCSI drive i would just go directly for a CF Aztech or Powermonster, they really arent /that/ expensive.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CF-PowerMons...3D300672786942

Or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CF-AztecMons...3D300672786942
Locutus is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 14:01   #55
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
Too expensive, like the Acard ones!

There's various adapters available to convert drives to different connectors, like this Male to Male HD68 to 50pin adapter

Getting a compatible drive is the key and a 26pin IDC to 50pin IDC cable.
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 16:42   #56
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,088
Those SCSI adapters really are a pain today. SATA/IDE -> SCSI is expensive, while SCSI drives old

If you're serious about Amigas, and are going to use them for years to come, then those expensive converters are sadly the best option, because you're going to be stuck with old drives otherwise. This is really the main reason why I stick to IDE on my A1200. Cheap converters and cheap, new drives.
Thorham is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 17:46   #57
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Found this, a 2.5" SCSI drive with SCA connector: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IBM-e-Serv..._HardDrives_RL
Cut a big hole in your case for the cooling fan you're going to need when you run a 10k drive.

And cut another big hole in your case for the adapter to jut out, it's three times as high as the drive mentioned above when the two are connected. Desoldering the SCA connector and adding wires in between is not necessarily a good idea.

I have not seen cables with SCA connectors or IDC SCA connectors to this day. Perhaps they exist?

Edit: Well, I just had to google it and what do you know: http://www.cs-electronics.com/images...0-xx-large.jpg

Perhaps get one of those cables and splice the power connector + 26 pin SCSI kit connector onto the other end. Then there's the problem of termination. SCA drives don't have termination or ID jumpers.. I guess you'll need to involve the narrow -> SCA PCB in any case, then you don't need to mutilate the extension cable.

Post pics when you have it running.

Quote:
Then it's just a custom SCSI Cable from Blizzard to 50pin.
This is the easy part. :-)

Last edited by Jope; 28 December 2014 at 17:56.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 18:03   #58
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
I'd like to get a FastATA but have an Indi AGA to fit and fitting a FastATA is too problematic with an Indi AGA in a desktop, I know it can be done but i'm not too keen on attempting it! SCSI is the next logical step as it all fits onto one card but still needs some messing about to get working.

Have to wait for the 1260 to arrive first, once I've got it fitted + SCSI then the fun and games will start!
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 20:19   #59
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
For a internal SCSI drive i would just go directly for a CF Aztech or Powermonster, they really arent /that/ expensive.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CF-PowerMons...3D300672786942

Or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CF-AztecMons...3D300672786942
These are still on my project list as well - just ran out of money before I got there.
I still intend to replace my IDE-Fix express with this when I can afford to.
crazyc is offline  
Old 28 December 2014, 22:17   #60
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,191
@Jope, or should that be 'Joke' as I guess you post was meant to be These are the replies that clearly explain why certain combinations are problematic, thanks for pointing those out!

This is also a 1D.4 board that has E123C and E125C still on the board, so will find out if I get instability once the 1260 is connected. Some people have had no issues with the Blizzard 1260 on 1D.4 boards and some have, hope i'm one of those that have no issues!
BarryB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Blizzard or apollo 1260 Amiten MarketPlace 0 30 September 2011 02:09
WTB: Blizzard 1260 or Apollo 1260 OldB0y MarketPlace 1 13 April 2010 23:42
Possible trade, Apollo 1260 @ 80mhz for Blizz 1260 Molcos Swapshop 3 13 November 2009 16:13
Apollo 1260 32MB FAST or Blizzard 1260 64MB FAST? prart support.Hardware 36 19 June 2008 00:23
Will buy: Apollo/Blizzard 1260 or Cyberstorm MKIII 060 oxydeblack MarketPlace 3 25 January 2007 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09476 seconds with 15 queries