English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2020, 07:59   #1
RDP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 13
3.1.4 Cannot seem to disable items in SS?

****: I cannot locate the main 3.1.4 thread, so started this one. If someone can direct me to the main thread, I am happy to put my message there and delete this one.

I currently run 3.1.4 with ROMS, however first install was done using soft kicking.

I notice that I have the three lines of license information repeated twice when the machine boots. So, I figure this might be because I am using (before setpatch) the commands to load the new intuition.library that lets me drag windows partially off-screen. Ok, so I use the ";" semicolon to disable all of the commands related to load module at the top of the SS (including the version check on exec.library), and even with that all commented out, I still get the new intuition.library feature of dragging the windows offscreen, so, I'm still loading that module, and I still get the license info printed twice on each bootup.

Am I not disabling things correctly???

thanks,
RDP
RDP is offline  
Old 04 February 2020, 08:45   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,942
intuition.library is loaded only once after power on. After that it stays resident in memory.

If you want to disable it you have to disable the commands in startup-sequence *and* switch off the computer afterwards.
thomas is offline  
Old 05 February 2020, 23:41   #3
RDP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 13
Thank you. This leaves me with two questions:

1.

If Exists C:LoadModule
C:Version exec.library version 46 >NIL:
If Warn
C:LoadModule ROMUPDATE
Else
C:LoadModule LIBS:intuition.library
EndIf
EndIf

If the module is being made resident through restarts (as you note, I need to turn the computer off to truly disable it once I have edited the startup-sequence), then is there any reason after setpatch for me to also use this command?:

dh0:MMULib/MuTools/MuProtectModules ON REMAP


2. Why am I seeing the three lines of "Amiga Rom and Operating System and Libra....." licence information printed twice when I initially boot?


thank you very much sir!
RDP

Last edited by RDP; 06 February 2020 at 00:45.
RDP is offline  
Old 06 February 2020, 13:33   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,492
If LoadModule doesn't load any modules then MuProtectModules has nothing to do. I.e. you can leave it.

You can trace your S-S by add "set echo on" or "set echo interactive" (check if this is the correct syntax) on top of your S-S. OS 3.1.4 docs should tell you how to use it. Then you should see what happens.
daxb is online now  
Old 11 February 2020, 07:16   #5
RDP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 13
Thanks you very much, using the echo command showed me that the licence information was showing the second time as I was not running setpatch on quiet mode. A very useful command!

Regarding the other question I had, I am still a little confused as in his response Thomas noted:

"intuition.library is loaded only once after power on. After that it stays resident in memory."

If it stays resident, why do I need MuProtectModules, doesn't that also serve the purpose to protect modules between resets, thereby making it redundant?


many thanks!
RDP
RDP is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 08:46   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,942
LoadModule just allocates a piece of RAM, loads the module into it an links it to the list of resident modules. This makes sure that the module is still there after a reset. It does not protect the modules from being overwritten by malfunctioning programs.

MuProtectModules uses the MMU to write-protect that memory. So effectively it makes the memory similar to a ROM which cannot be overwritten. MuProtectModules is an add on to LoadModule. It makes it more safe, but is not needed for the pure function of LoadModule. On the other hand it does not replace LoadModule as it cannot load modules by itself.
thomas is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 14:55   #7
RDP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 13
I bow down to your thorough and clear explanation!

Now that makes me think....

I run MuFastRom near the end of my user-startup. Is that the right place, after I have protected the modules, or should I run it before, so the protection is applied to the location where MuFastRom moved the modules (I assume it moves them all)? Or am I once again confused on how this all works?.... a high probability.....


RDP

Last edited by RDP; 11 February 2020 at 15:05. Reason: not elite.....
RDP is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 20:43   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,492
User-Startup is a bit late. Should be one of the firsts entries in Startup-Sequence. Does MuFastROM make a reset? Check if ROM remapping was successful. E.g. with MuScan.
daxb is online now  
Old 12 March 2020, 10:10   #9
RDP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 13
Here are the MuScan results. I believe this is all good?

MuScan 46.1 (02.07.2016) © THOR

68040 MMU detected.
MMU page size is 0x1000 bytes.

Memory map:
0x00000000 - 0x00017FFF CacheInhibit Imprecise NonSerial
0x00018000 - 0x00037FFF ROM Imprecise NonSerial Remapped to 0x0A314000
0x00038000 - 0x001FFFFF CacheInhibit Imprecise NonSerial
0x00200000 - 0x00BBFFFF Blank
0x00BC0000 - 0x00BFFFFF CacheInhibit I/O space
0x00C00000 - 0x00D7FFFF Blank
0x00D80000 - 0x00DFFFFF CacheInhibit I/O space
0x00E00000 - 0x00EFFFFF Blank
0x00F00000 - 0x00F7FFFF CacheInhibit
0x00F80000 - 0x00FFFFFF ROM CopyBack Remapped to 0x0BF7C000
0x01000000 - 0x09FFFFFF Blank
0x0A000000 - 0x0A313FFF CopyBack
0x0A314000 - 0x0A333FFF ROM CopyBack
0x0A334000 - 0x0BF7BFFF CopyBack
0x0BF7C000 - 0x0BFFBFFF ROM CopyBack
0x0BFFC000 - 0x0BFFFFFF CopyBack
0x0C000000 - 0x0DFFFFFF Blank
0x0E000000 - 0x0FFFFFFF CopyBack
0x10000000 - 0x3FFFFFFF Blank
0x40000000 - 0x4007FFFF CacheInhibit I/O space
0x40080000 - 0x43FFFFFF Blank
0x44000000 - 0x453FFFFF CacheInhibit I/O space
0x45400000 - 0x45FFFFFF CacheInhibit Imprecise NonSerial I/O space
0x46000000 - 0x47FFFFFF CacheInhibit I/O space
0x48000000 - 0xFFFFFFFF Blank


Alternativley, I tested the read speed to see if it was being remapped:

BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
========================================================================
memtype addr op cycle calib bandwidth
fast $0A5B8000 readw 41.6 ns normal 48.1 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $0A5B8000 readl 79.6 ns normal 50.2 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $0A5B8000 readm 82.2 ns normal 48.6 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $0A5B8000 writew 71.5 ns normal 28.0 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $0A5B8000 writel 143.1 ns normal 27.9 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $0A5B8000 writem 142.6 ns normal 28.1 * 10^6 byte/s
rom $00F80000 readw 42.7 ns normal 46.8 * 10^6 byte/s
rom $00F80000 readl 77.7 ns normal 51.5 * 10^6 byte/s
rom $00F80000 readm 80.3 ns normal 49.8 * 10^6 byte/s



thanks,
RDP
RDP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for amiga items chucky MarketPlace 1 16 March 2012 19:07
Various Items Must Go! Hungry Horace MarketPlace 23 09 July 2010 19:12
My items just on Amibay Zetec-s MarketPlace 2 22 August 2009 12:24
FS: A Few Small Items. scrappysphinx MarketPlace 0 17 April 2009 14:41
Looking for a few items on the web..... Smiley MarketPlace 3 21 November 2006 22:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07094 seconds with 15 queries