English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 January 2020, 13:23   #1
dabbler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Upgraded WHD load, now black screen with white lines?!

Hi! I upgraded WHDLoad from 17.x to the latest 18.x release on the website, but now all games load a black screen with white lines moving up and down.

If i copy the old WHDLoad 17.x files back to C the games load perfectly.

Does any one know what the issue may be and how to upgrade please?

Thanks!
dabbler is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 13:32   #2
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 776
Not sure on your issue but when I upgrade I only copy over 2 files from the Whdload user small download package. They are WHDLoadCD32 and Whdload which I put into C.
Superman is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 13:44   #3
dabbler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Yes that's the exact files i use. Im running an 030 a1200 with wb 3.1.4.1. whdload 17.x works fine, 18.x and i get a black screen with white wiggly crashing type lines over it!
dabbler is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 14:11   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,493
Try some older whdload version and see until which version it works and with next don't. Then have a look at History file that may explain what could cause the problem. http://www.whdload.de/whdload/old-whdload/

It is also a good idea while updating to a new version to merge new/old whdload.prefs file. I would recommend to copy new files too. Reading the History file can also help.
daxb is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 00:59   #5
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 709
Probably a cracked keyfile. Search for whdload.key and delete it.
Wepl is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 01:42   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
Probably a cracked keyfile. Search for whdload.key and delete it.
Busted!
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 10:33   #7
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,661
funny as the current version only uses the keyfile to display registered info
jotd is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 17:29   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,482
@Jeff
Even more hilarious when you consider how old the cracked keyfile must be now!
DrBong is offline  
Old 09 February 2020, 17:48   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,500
Gotta love Wepl's blacklist implementation.
All the bug reports there's been over the years, and many was "false-positives" just because of no-no keys.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 00:32   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
@Wepl : the latest whdload program seems to not like the A1200 vanilla with 68020 + 8mb of fast.

A friend of mine had to roll back to whdload v18.4 ; Many games remains on a dark screen on startup.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 10:24   #11
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
@Wepl : the latest whdload program seems to not like the A1200 vanilla with 68020 + 8mb of fast.

A friend of mine had to roll back to whdload v18.4 ; Many games remains on a dark screen on startup.
A report via the bugtracker would be nice.
Wepl is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 21:54   #12
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,710
I have/had the same the same issue (which was reported) with older version but sadly this cannot be tracked since no exit from game was possible :/
haynor666 is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 22:33   #13
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
funny as the current version only uses the keyfile to display registered info
Ah so it is freeware/donation ware now. I’ve never used it.
redblade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawing lines off the screen h0ffman Coders. Asm / Hardware 7 23 August 2014 01:22
Another World WHD on Amiga 600HD and Minimig, black screen of death Gaula92 project.WHDLoad 2 04 February 2013 18:04
Black lines in ImageFX with large image source support.Apps 0 29 August 2012 04:08
Black and white image Scolioza support.Hardware 1 20 March 2012 01:22
black lines in the middle of commodore 1084 monitor freedrull support.Hardware 7 09 November 2009 04:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07757 seconds with 15 queries