English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2019, 13:35   #1
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
Games that not work or are bugged on Vampire Card

I'd like to create a list or database with games that not working or working bad on Vampire Card in way that can be fixed or avoid if you know that there is no hope to use it.

if you interested you should indicate the "core", the "Vampire model" and because not work or bug.

Last edited by Seiya; 21 December 2019 at 18:36. Reason: Too difficult find compatible games, better search not working games
Seiya is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 14:07   #2
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
Legend:
Not Working in Red
Slow in Orange
Working with bug in DarkOliveGreen
Too fast to be played in Indigo

When a game will be fixed to run excellent i delete from this list.

Agony, WHDLoad, A600 V2.2, Core 2.11 = Not Working using Roadshow Stack TCP/IP in background (you must disconnect from internet to play this game)
Alien Breed 3D = not working
Elite, A500 V2, Core 2.11, Coffin R54 = Not Working (it is not reported if it is WHDLoad)
Frontier, WHDLoad =Slow
Frontier, HardDisk = Working, but bugged in auto-pilot and so you cannot travel to various Planets/Solar Systems
Gunship, A500 V2, Core 2.11, Coffin R54 = Not Working (it is not reported if it is WHDLoad)
Hard Drivin' = Working, but too fast to be played
T.F.X., V4/SA, x12 (85 Mhz) =Working with glitches
Wing Commander, WHDLoad = Slow

Last edited by Seiya; 21 December 2019 at 03:05. Reason: this post is for first list that could be updated
Seiya is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 21:03   #3
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,591
Would a thread for games that don't work or have problems be smaller/better.

Also these might be problems that exist with any Accelerator and might be fixed with WHDload.

Last edited by Retro1234; 18 December 2019 at 22:40.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 04:45   #4
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
yes, true. maybe, better find games that doesn't work. now i change topic to be more easy
Seiya is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 10:33   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,876
Thread title updated accordingly for you Seiya.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 15:13   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Would a thread for games that don't work or have problems be smaller/better.
You only know it when you have tested all existing games. So a list all games and marked as tested or not would be nice.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 15:54   #7
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 40
This Seiya guy is obsessed by Vampire. He spreads everywhere his hate against Vampire, now after his silly attempt on Italian forum we have his obsessions here. Someday maybe he will buy a Vampire and test it for our pleasure. For everyone here is better to know that this thread is not meant to support vampire users but to reinforce this guy's theories of incompatibilities and use this as a weapon in his holy battle against Vampire and his users. This guy Is the jester that says everywhere that Gunnar doesn't have an idea on how an Amiga works (he's the one with Troll's avatar here's below for who wants to read) .
http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=1&note=17502&order=&x=7
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 16:34   #8
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 653
Troll or not, these kind of threads could REALLY help developers make some adjustments.
I've heard that Alien Breed 3D 1 is not working (AB3D2 is working). It would be good if that is fixed.
Too bad that game can't run with 1x1 pixel at all, it would be great to see it on a Vampire
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 16:47   #9
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 40
Ask Seiya.
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 16:56   #10
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,407
Actually, a comprehensive list of games with their incompatibilities would be excellent -

Runs on a Vampire?
Plays with an 060 installed? Caches or no caches?
68040 compatible?
Runs with an extra drive attached?
Requires certain version of Kickstart?

That sort of thing. I'm sure we're all well aware that every accelerator card in the history of the Amiga rendered some games unusable, the Vampire is certainly not alone in this.
Dunny is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 17:12   #11
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 40
Seiya will test every software for you.
Just ask for the service.
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 21:18   #12
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Procton View Post
Seiya will test every software for you.
Just ask for the service.
I never realised that Seiya was such a Vampire enthusiast. He should do promotional videos for them.
Dunny is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 21:28   #13
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 40
No need of videos. He's a living promotional flyer for Vampire
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 21:33   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,876
Can we drop it now please and get back on topic?

You've made your point Dr_Procton... numerous times.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 03:31   #15
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
I never realised that Seiya was such a Vampire enthusiast. He should do promotional videos for them.
sure, maybe i'll do it or to make this topic more nice. i have some good element to a video promo. i'll see after Xmas.

@DamienD
thanks for adjusting topic names

@all

i have read that there is some issue on Vampire with Frontier WHD and Frontier directly from HD, but some vampire users should be try again.
Sometimes WHD games are set for "68000 compatibility mode" so you see a very reduced performance also than 68030. In this case some users has seen that launching from HD it works great, but there is a bug in auto-pilot (doesn't work).

the second post i used to update this list with various colors. So for now i inserted some games reported by various vampire users, but of course they must be played again to confirm.

Last edited by Seiya; 20 December 2019 at 03:46.
Seiya is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 10:37   #16
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
When a game will be fixed to run excellent i delete from this list.
If it works on a genuine motorola chip but not on the vampire, why not open a bug report with the vampire people so they can fix their implementation instead of fixing the software?

That way there's only one place that needs to be fixed, and vampire's compatibility with original motorola designs gets better, helping many other pieces of software to work..
Jope is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 15:38   #17
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Procton View Post
This Seiya guy is obsessed by Vampire. He spreads everywhere his hate against Vampire, now after his silly attempt on Italian forum we have his obsessions here.
I think the only thing not helpful, actually not very nice, here, is you.
Vampire is very incompatible, this should be no news to anyone. Even 030s and 060s were very incompatible with old games. That's why WHDLoad was made.

It'd be great to have a comprehensive list of what's going on but it seems like a fool's errand since the Amiga library is so vast.

Of course it'd be better if Vampire ran everything but that's not gonna happen ever.

Also this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
If it works on a genuine motorola chip but not on the vampire, why not open a bug report with the vampire people so they can fix their implementation instead of fixing the software?
Why fix a game? The game isn't broken, the Vampire is.
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 18:22   #18
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 40
Vampire is broken..? I Love this thread
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 18:36   #19
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,591
Theres no way doing it like this of distinguishing if the problem is Vampire only or exists on any Accelerator ?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 23:10   #20
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 379
Alien Breed 3D is an AGA game, it's natural it doesn't work on Vampire... any AGA game works on the Vampire, unless Seiya is talking about V4, but he doesn't own a V2 (any model) nor a V4.

@Seiya: please, specify for each game Vampire model and core version (also Coffin and whdload release would be helpful for the completeness of the list)

Last edited by Omolungo; 20 December 2019 at 23:18.
Omolungo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backing up Cloanto CF card to Transcend CF for Vampire? Retro-mania support.Amiga Forever 2 08 October 2018 21:24
Vampire Games sandruzzo Coders. General 220 13 September 2017 15:03
SD Card longevity on a real Amiga 1200 or Vampire antiriad76 support.Hardware 12 19 April 2017 10:07
Wings is it bugged or am I crazy? torquemada support.Games 5 07 January 2017 03:55
Syndicate: mission bugged or not ? Maverick357 support.Games 28 26 March 2006 17:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13721 seconds with 15 queries