English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

Old 15 October 2018, 06:21   #1
Warty

Amiga 68k Apps: MUI or Bust?

Hi All,

I've been goofing around with my Amiga 1000 and UAE again the several months, getting into C development on the Amiga. (not getting started on C per se). I had one back in the day, but I don't seem to have actually written anything for it (not that I remember anyway). Too many games I guess.

Anyway, I've made a fun little Rogue port, and am working on a raycaster-based maybe-game-maybe-VR-demo thing, but I've always like doing productivity stuff too with my old computers. When people write nowadays for 68k Amiga, and it's UI intensive (word processor, business app, what have you), is it common to use MUI? Does everyone pretty much do that? I am really new to Amiga development, and I was completely gone from the platform for 25 years or something, so I'm doing a lot of reading and trying to catch up, but...

I found a couple good resources:
https://muidev.de
http://www.ezcyberspace.com/gcc/index.html

I used MagicWB back in the day, and have it set up on a UAE instance, so the look of MUI is familiar to me, but is this what people would want today, if they were looking at a new Amiga app? (ok, sure, there are probably like 4 people in the world who want a new 68k amiga app, but I'm one of them so pffft).

Is "feelin" something worth looking into for 68k? All the examples looked to be from AROS or maybe MorphOS. But examples have 68k compiling going on. (Haven't yet tried it).
http://www.feelin.fr/guide/first/

What would you recommend?
Old 15 October 2018, 09:54   #2
bebbo
bye

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warty View Post
Hi All,