English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2012, 04:13   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Wrong aspect ratio

I use Workbench with a DBL PAL 640x512 screen on WinUAE with a 1600x900 native resolution and 16:9 aspect ratio correction, but WinUAE handles its aspect ratio different from a PAL screen. The screen gets 1:1 and not 4:3 like it should be.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 13 November 2012, 16:49   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,316
I can't see any difference between normal PAL hires and double PAL. Also not enough information.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 November 2012, 22:50   #3
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 67
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
I use Workbench with a DBL PAL 640x512 screen on WinUAE with a 1600x900 native resolution and 16:9 aspect ratio correction, but WinUAE handles its aspect ratio different from a PAL screen. The screen gets 1:1 and not 4:3 like it should be.

I too see no difference. With 16:9 monitor and WinUAE set to 16:9 I get the same black bars on both sides with all Amiga screens including dbl screens. This is the way it should be.
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 16 November 2012, 04:08   #4
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Grrr...

I did take two screenshots, one of DBL PAL and another of PAL...

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 27 March 2019 at 14:43.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 16 November 2012, 09:05   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,316
It is good idea to attach some proof in first post

Anyway, it still means nothing. For example "real" PAL mode is much bigger than 640x512. Programmed modes don't usually have any extra borders. (They don't need to, PAL/NTSC compatible modes require standard size)

Without enabled autoscale, size of resolution is actual size of screen.

Disable border blanking to see the difference.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 September 2013, 05:41   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,454
Ah! I am revisiting this thread, and yes, you are right more one time. PAL/NTSC screens can have a big overscan area, unlike VGA-like modes that have an integral size. Ok!
Leandro Jardim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga aspect ratio absence Coders. General 31 04 December 2013 18:33
Custom ratio for aspect ratio correction? rsn8887 request.UAE Wishlist 4 16 April 2013 18:49
Always blurry chars - wrong aspect ratio? 1988 support.WinUAE 26 07 July 2011 17:36
Keep Aspect Ratio + RTG reenstix support.WinUAE 15 15 February 2011 12:41
iGame screenshot aspect ratio wrong? emuola support.Apps 3 16 September 2010 06:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06626 seconds with 13 queries