English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 March 2005, 10:44   #1
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Multiple Harddrives

A few days ago I was given a GVP 68030/40 combo card for my A2000HD (OS 1.3).

I set the thing up with a 400mb drive connected to the GVP SCSI and it boots fine. I still have my old A2091 SCSI card installed with the old 500MB hd that it used to boot with. The system recognises the card because it shows up with 19mb ram (1mb chip, 16mb GVP, and 2mb on the 2091).

The HD on the 2091 doesn't show up on the desktop.

Anyway what I want to know is can the HD connected to the 2091 coexist with the HD on the GVP card (both setup as bootable)? I wanted to run the 030 normally, and boot to the old 68000 + old HD for games that don't like the 030.

The reason I kept the 1.3 roms in the unit was for old games ( my A1200 with 030/50 has 3.0 roms for AGA games).

BTW what is the largest HD the GVP can use with workbench 1.3? My 2091 has older 5.9 roms so I don't think it recognised 1gb or larger drives.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 06:04   #2
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 200
maybe there is a conflict with the drive names. if your drive on the 2091 hasnt been formatted it would still be HD0: right? it must be something like that or similar does the drive show up in HD Tool box?

does both scsi boards show up in the expansion diagnostic? are both drives showing up in the boot drives?

i would recommend installing 3.1 roms + wb3.1 dont worry about old games becuase you can load kickstart from a file.

my 2000HD runs 2 hard drives and a cdrom from the 2091, i've got a microbotics VXL 30 68030 + 2Meg Chip 4Meg Fast. i never have trouble running old software. marble madness for example i just change to the 68000 and kick back with a rom. easy.
icewizard2k5 is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 09:14   #3
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I might have named both drives "boot" come to think of it, will rename the one that works tomorrow to see if that is it. It was formatted as HD0: Will probably have to reformat the drive then (nothing on it I will miss).

If I was going to install 3.1 roms it would be in my a1200 030/50Mhz machine not in this one. I am trying to keep this just for games meaning I need to be able to boot from a floppy in WB 1.3.

One thing I want to know is that if I disable the GVP board to boot from the 68000 the HD connected to the 2091 should boot instead of the one on the GVP accelerator (since the whole card should be shut down)?

I plan to get WHDLoad installed on the A1200 sooner or later so this machine might get upgraded roms eventualy.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 25 March 2005, 13:28   #4
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 200
im not sure about the gvp board but shutting down the whole card would definately suggest that the hard drive on it will shut down.

you could connect the hard drive on the gvp to the a2091 it shouldnt be difficult if the cards are close together.

didnt it come with software for the cpu?

my expansion board has software which allows me to select the 68000 or 68030.

i can also assure you that if you did upgrade your wb and kickroms you would still be able to use all your software.

if i wanted to run older 1.3 software all i need to do is revert to the 68000 and run the kickstart loader. the amiga then reboots using the 68000 and kick 1.3.
icewizard2k5 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.5" harddrives adgloride support.Hardware 4 26 June 2006 01:52
Harddrives Arnie support.WinUAE 7 19 September 2005 00:43
C and D harddrives, where to install ? matrix_neo support.WinUAE 3 29 December 2004 23:41
Harddrives mancity New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 14 January 2002 18:28
A500 and PC harddrives KelticDanor Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 September 2001 02:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08311 seconds with 13 queries