English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 June 2016, 11:42   #1
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,242
Collision Detection

Hi,

I'm going to implent a collision detection system with bob and background on A1200 + Fastram. My thought is to do it with cpu on fast-ram. Is That the fastest way to go, or blitter collisions if faster?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 09 June 2016, 16:41   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,394
If the bitmaps and bobs are already in chip RAM for display, surely the blitter would be quicker as you would have to copy them all to fast RAM to do the detection. In chip RAM there's probably no point using the CPU to do it, but I could be wrong. If you're assembling the frames in fast RAM and then copying them to chip RAM to display, then you would probably be better off using the CPU.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 09 June 2016, 16:47   #3
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
How you going to do collision with Bobs and the background? Maths and boxing is probably what is normaly used - using a small amount of CPU that even a ZX could probably handle - you already have your map in Ram? so you already have your collision data ready to be read.

Last edited by Retro1234; 09 June 2016 at 16:55.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 09 June 2016, 17:25   #4
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,242
Yes, I have my map on ram, even a copy of collision mask is on fast ram
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 09 June 2016, 17:34   #5
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
You can just use your map if you think a map editor in reverse instead of writing to the map your reading it seeing whats walkable and whats not.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 10 June 2016, 13:50   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,394
Yeah, then just use the CPU if the information's already there in fast RAM to be used.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprite Bob Collision Retro1234 Coders. AMOS 17 13 April 2018 00:33
Hardware collision detection in Amiga games? nandius_c Coders. Asm / Hardware 25 30 April 2016 00:56
Sprite collision help Shatterhand Coders. Blitz Basic 8 13 December 2015 00:02
Collision detection: 2 doubts nandius_c Coders. Asm / Hardware 6 30 November 2014 01:53
Slamtilt and RTC collision Predseda support.Games 5 22 August 2009 23:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06617 seconds with 13 queries