English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2014, 03:53   #1
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Scart to hdmi converters?

Hi all,
I'm currently running my A1200 through a scart cable I got from amigakit.
Just wondering if anybody has used a scart to hdmi converter box and if so any recommendations on brands?
Cheers
PZ
pubzombie is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 13:22   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
X-RGB Mini (Framemeister)
Jope is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 14:35   #3
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,197
I tried the Startech SCART to HDMI converter... wasn't that great! (It's around £50)

http://uk.startech.com/AV/Converters...o~SCART2HDMITV

You'd be better buying the Framemeister (Jope's comment above). It's expensive but it's awesome (thinking of buying one myself). Solaris Japan get some good reviews but import fees might jack the price upto around £300.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 18:27   #4
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
300!!!!
That's a lot.
pubzombie is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 19:34   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
You asked for a recommendation. :-) Other devices will do the job too but might not show every frame, might have a forced 50->60Hz framerate conversion, might have forced deinterlacing of the Amiga's progressive signal..
Jope is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 20:09   #6
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubzombie View Post
300!!!!
That's a lot.
The old phrase 'you pay for what you get' / 'buy cheap buy twice' comes to mind


I did an import duty calculation to the UK from Solaris Japan (with the correct RGB/SCART cable added) and it comes to £252 (x-RGB/RGB cable/priority shipping/import duty).

Last edited by Paul_s; 29 December 2014 at 20:19.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 20:44   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
Just wait until the guys on the other thread nail the parameters for the scaler chip in the GBS 82x0 boards.. Then you can buy those for 300 euro as well after the scalpers figure it out. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 29 December 2014, 22:11   #8
dakidski
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 23
The guy who runs Assembler Forum sell Framemeisters directly from Japan.
dakidski is offline  
Old 30 December 2014, 00:36   #9
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 856
The framemeister is the only device I know of that can do it properly.
It's crazy expensive though.
rare_j is offline  
Old 30 December 2014, 03:34   #10
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Just been reading up on the framemeister - it is a real sweet piece of kit. I'm kinda suprised though that nothing like this has been mass produced. There must be a good market for them?
pubzombie is offline  
Old 30 December 2014, 09:16   #11
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 450
The Framemeister is worth every penny, I can assure you. It "eats" anything and produces a perfect picture One of the great things (it has tons of tweak options), is the ability to change the sync signal level. This alone helps with many retro computers hooked up with rgb scart. I've tested it with the following: A1200, C64, MSX2 (sync level has to bee a little lower that the others), TurboDuo/TG-16/Coregrafx, Amstrad 6128Plus, Spectrum +2

On the other hand, I've unfotunately also tested the cheapo alternatives and spent at least the amount of cash the Framemeister eventually was for... :/ Lesson: Buy quality stuff!

Last edited by emuola; 30 December 2014 at 09:23.
emuola is offline  
Old 30 December 2014, 15:52   #12
bdb
Registered User
bdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 181
The original question

Back to the original poster's question, there is a 5 page long discussion on Amiga.org --http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?p=780744#post780744
bdb is offline  
Old 31 December 2014, 02:58   #13
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdb View Post
Back to the original poster's question, there is a 5 page long discussion on Amiga.org --http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?p=780744#post780744
Thank you bdb
pubzombie is offline  
Old 31 December 2014, 17:39   #14
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
I've tested it with the following: A1200, C64
Will it take the C64s weird Chroma-Luma signal and give a decent 50hz HDMI output then? If it can do that I'd be tempted to save up for one. My old trinitron won't last forever...
john1979 is offline  
Old 31 December 2014, 23:44   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Will it take the C64s weird Chroma-Luma signal and give a decent 50hz HDMI output then? If it can do that I'd be tempted to save up for one. My old trinitron won't last forever...
Yes. It is not that weird, it's 288p s-video. The c-64 just doesn't have a 4-pin mini din at the back panel, but hook the signals up to an s-video connector and there you go.
Jope is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 00:05   #16
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Well I say weird because it was made before S-Video standard came out. I read somewhere it is different to usual S-Video because it is progressive. My Trinitron CRT is fine with it but my DVD recorder hates it.

Also many cheap S-Video to HDMI adapters and modern LCD's (those that have S-Video) don't fair so well with the C64s chroma-luma signal.
john1979 is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 08:44   #17
bdb
Registered User
bdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Post The S-video standard

The elements of S-video existed long before there was a mini din connector named "S-video," and before progressive displays; the issue was that there was no broadcast signal that used them and they were for "studio" use. The mini din was used in the late 1980's for home use between VCRs and TV sets, computers such as the C64 had them as component (RCA) connectors, or BNC for studio equipment.
bdb is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 11:36   #18
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
Chroma is chroma and luma is luma and pal is pal. Only the timings are not what broadcast equipment expects with the C-64. :-)

But yeah this is splitting hairs. Nevertheless, the s-video part (chroma/luma/pal) of the signal is as standard as can get.
Jope is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 13:30   #19
bdb
Registered User
bdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Pal

PAL is not PAL when it is NTSC
bdb is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 13:44   #20
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,883
Chroma is chroma, luma is luma, ntsc is ntsc, in the ntsc case the signal would be 240p instead of 288p.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RGB to Scart & Scart to HDMI converter Retrofan support.Hardware 24 20 August 2017 11:16
Scart + HDMI Converter Solderbro support.Hardware 7 07 November 2014 19:45
RGB>SCART>HDMI issue. ashhhhh support.Hardware 8 25 March 2012 00:22
RGB to SCART to HDMI monitor VoltureX support.Hardware 6 09 January 2012 17:15
Has anyone tried one of these converters ? Kakaboy Hardware mods 18 19 May 2010 15:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08909 seconds with 13 queries