English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 April 2017, 17:31   #1
chocsplease
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: london
Posts: 178
Request to all A1000 owners and owners of pre 2.0 OS floppy and hard drives

Dear all,

I am trying to re-write the cli info command so that is stops doing silly things like showing negative sizes for hard drive over a particular size.

I need some help from anyone who has an A1000, A1500, A2000, A500, or A500plus with the original dos and particularly kickstart disks.

In gcc (a c compiler for those who don't know) there is a file that lists various types of disk, the relevent info is below

Code:
/* Any other new filesystems should also, if possible. */
#define ID_NO_DISK_PRESENT    (-1)
#define ID_UNREADABLE_DISK    (0x42414400L)    /* 'BAD\0' */
#define ID_DOS_DISK        (0x444F5300L)    /* 'DOS\0' */
#define ID_FFS_DISK        (0x444F5301L)    /* 'DOS\1' */
#define ID_INTER_DOS_DISK    (0x444F5302L)    /* 'DOS\2' */
#define ID_INTER_FFS_DISK    (0x444F5303L)    /* 'DOS\3' */
#define ID_FASTDIR_DOS_DISK    (0x444F5304L)    /* 'DOS\4' */
#define ID_FASTDIR_FFS_DISK    (0x444F5305L)    /* 'DOS\5' */
#define ID_NOT_REALLY_DOS    (0x4E444F53L)    /* 'NDOS'  */
#define ID_KICKSTART_DISK    (0x4B49434BL)    /* 'KICK'  */
#define ID_MSDOS_DISK        (0x4d534400L)    /* 'MSD\0' */
I don't know how info handles all these disks as I dont own them.

So can anyone with original, or copies of Kickstart, OS2.4, or earlier floppy disks please pop one in a floppy drive and tell me what the cli info command says about it?

I am not sure if UAE/Amiga Forever will give the right info, so original Hardward owners might be able to give more accurate answers.

If you can help please post info's output, the hardware used and any info on the floppy type, kickstart, os1.3 workbench etc.

<Edit>
I'm using this as a way of re-learning C and in particular the way the Amiga opens libraries and stuff.
</Edit>

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by chocsplease; 03 April 2017 at 16:51. Reason: Added reason why I'm trying this.
chocsplease is offline  
Old 02 April 2017, 18:12   #2
klx300r
Registered User
 
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,593
using kick1.3 the cli info command only brings up mounted disks for all volumes?

what's the precise cli command to enter for the info you need?
klx300r is offline  
Old 02 April 2017, 18:56   #3
amigasith
Registered User
 
amigasith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wild South / Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 271
Hi chocsplease,

I don't want to discourage you but have you checked the "info" alternatives on Aminet yet? There are quite a few - I personally use the one from Stephan Rupprecht here and it does the job very well. I haven't checked it on older versions of Kickstart / Amiga OS, but in the description it says "Architecture: m68k-amigaos" so it might work on all Amiga OS releases. At least worth a try I'd say.

Cheers,
Marc
amigasith is offline  
Old 03 April 2017, 00:58   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
I've never heard of "Info" displaying any information about the file system used.
idrougge is offline  
Old 03 April 2017, 16:50   #5
chocsplease
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: london
Posts: 178
Hi,

Thanks for the replies, I should have explained that I am using this as a way of relearning C and in particular how the Amiga opens Libraries and things, I've amended the 1st post to add this info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
using kick1.3 the cli info command only brings up mounted disks for all volumes?

what's the precise cli command to enter for the info you need?
Hi, try putting the kickstart disk in df0: and typing info df0: Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigasith View Post
Hi chocsplease,

I don't want to discourage you but have you checked the "info" alternatives on Aminet yet? There are quite a few - I personally use the one from Stephan Rupprecht here and it does the job very well. I haven't checked it on older versions of Kickstart / Amiga OS, but in the description it says "Architecture: m68k-amigaos" so it might work on all Amiga OS releases. At least worth a try I'd say.

Cheers,
Marc
I have to confess that I have not, but will look this one out - My info (which is stock 3.1) displays my disks as follows

Code:
Mounted disks:
Unit      Size      Used      Free Full Errs   Status   Name
SMBFS0:   280M483164160540819456   1%   0  Read/Write pcbackup
PC0:      Unreadable disk
CF0:      No disk present
RAM:      571K     571       0 100%   0  Read/Write Ram Disk
DH0:       94M  192590     737 100%   0  Read/Write WB
DF0:      837K       2    1756   0%   0  Read/Write Empty
CC0:      No disk present
DF1:      No disk present
DH1:    -639321K 6862387  247579  97%   0  Read/Write Games
DH2:    -540681K 7142379  164868  98%   0  Read/Write Apps

Volumes available:
pcbackup [Mounted]
Ram Disk [Mounted]
Apps [Mounted]
Games [Mounted]
Empty [Mounted]
WB [Mounted]
As you can see it has a few problems, like negative sizes. It's a shame that the version you linked to does not include the source as this would have helped me hugely. At present my version's executable is huge for what it does and I don't know why.

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I've never heard of "Info" displaying any information about the file system used.
Hi, I don't think it does for normal disks but I don't know about the A1000's Kickstart. It was an idea I had to add, there are a few other improvements I'm making along the way,like allowing the user to select the letters displayed for Mb TB etc so they can localise it a bit. As well as hopefully fixing the problems for larger partitions.

Last edited by chocsplease; 03 April 2017 at 16:56.
chocsplease is offline  
Old 03 April 2017, 17:30   #6
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
In 3.1, Info says "DF0: Kickstart disk". So does the 1.3 version of the command.
idrougge is offline  
Old 04 April 2017, 19:04   #7
voxel
Amiga Nuts!
 
voxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Mayet d'Ecole, 03800, FRANCE
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocsplease View Post
Dear all,

In gcc (a c compiler for those who don't know) there is a file that lists various types of disk, the relevent info is below

Code:
/* Any other new filesystems should also, if possible. */
#define ID_NO_DISK_PRESENT    (-1)
#define ID_UNREADABLE_DISK    (0x42414400L)    /* 'BAD\0' */
#define ID_DOS_DISK        (0x444F5300L)    /* 'DOS\0' */
#define ID_FFS_DISK        (0x444F5301L)    /* 'DOS\1' */
#define ID_INTER_DOS_DISK    (0x444F5302L)    /* 'DOS\2' */
#define ID_INTER_FFS_DISK    (0x444F5303L)    /* 'DOS\3' */
#define ID_FASTDIR_DOS_DISK    (0x444F5304L)    /* 'DOS\4' */
#define ID_FASTDIR_FFS_DISK    (0x444F5305L)    /* 'DOS\5' */
#define ID_NOT_REALLY_DOS    (0x4E444F53L)    /* 'NDOS'  */
#define ID_KICKSTART_DISK    (0x4B49434BL)    /* 'KICK'  */
#define ID_MSDOS_DISK        (0x4d534400L)    /* 'MSD\0' */
I don't know how info handles all these disks as I dont own them.
well all these codes just show "states" of the disk filesystem used on it.

DOS0 is AmigaOS Old File System (like the format of the wb disk v1.0 to 1.3)
DOS1 is AmigaOS FastFileSystem (from v1.3 to today)
never seen a DOS2 (AmigaOS International Old Filesystem) disk...
DOS3 is FastFileSystem with International support, very common
DOS4/5 are Dircache variants of AmigaOs filesystem and FFS, was meant to speeeeed the reading of floppy directory at the cost of smaller free space, barely used,
NDOS could be any formated disk that the AmigaOS has no clue of the filesystem to use (Mac disks, etc) or Amiga games disk with special trackload format ^^)
KICK is what you think ;-) used to boot A1000 and first A3000s
MSD0 is old FAT dos formated PeeCee disk 720KO or 1.44MO

I think you should have some of these "disks" somewhere ^^)
14
voxel is offline  
Old 08 April 2017, 14:37   #8
chocsplease
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: london
Posts: 178
Hi and many thanks for the replies,

So Kickstart is handled differently, doesn't show used, size etc, that's interesting.

I do have some of the disks, but not all so thank you once again for your help.
chocsplease is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi to all Amiga owners. Andrew1971 Member Introductions 3 02 July 2012 17:42
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
AteoBus Owners TurkAmigaMan support.Hardware 1 12 November 2004 15:12
Atari St Owners!!!! Zeewolf Retrogaming General Discussion 104 20 September 2004 20:12
Blizzard 1260 Owners Help adolescent support.Hardware 0 10 June 2002 07:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:29.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13917 seconds with 15 queries