English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2019, 17:03   #1
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500
Amiga 3000 - does its psu definitely need -5v

Hi,

I understand that the 3000D power supply provides -5v. What does the machine use this for?

Can a 3000 operate from a power supply that does not supply -5v? Or will it not even turn on if -5v is not present? If it does work, what functionality is lost by the lack of -5v?
trixster is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 17:59   #2
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,124
Too many questions. Just sell that AA3000+ board (populated) to me and be done with it.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 18:05   #3
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500


I’ll think about it!
trixster is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 18:11   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,388
It'll run fine without -5V - nothing on the board needs it or checks for it. It's only needed as a requirement for the Zorro and ISA specs.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 18:12   #5
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500
Thanks Rob
trixster is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 12:54   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
It'll run fine without -5V - nothing on the board needs it or checks for it. It's only needed as a requirement for the Zorro and ISA specs.
Do any cards (either Zorro or ISA) actually require it?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 13:46   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,388
None that I'm aware of, but of course there are plenty of cards I've never seen, particularly ISA cards. If any cards do, they'll be older cards with analogue functions like soundcards, video capture cards and the like. It's possible the Video toaster does for example, but I can't confirm that.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amiga 3000 psu dschallock support.Hardware 10 24 July 2018 16:51
ATX PSU in original Amiga PSU casing TTSAddict Hardware mods 8 15 April 2018 18:01
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503-03 singapore (Heavy PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 14 27 August 2015 19:18
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503 WEST-GERMANY (Light PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 0 18 November 2014 01:54
Want to buy: Amiga 3000 PSU 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 2 30 June 2011 12:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06427 seconds with 13 queries