English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2006, 11:52   #1
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
Files copied from CDs are getting corrupted

I'm working with an Amiga 500 with the 590 hard disk controller. I know the CD drive is good, as well as the CDs I'm trying to copy files off of. I'm using AmiCDFS under AmigaOS 2.1.

I've seen the problem crop up on completely different configurations before, but I'd like to solve it once and for all because it's driving me crazy. The corruption is easier to notice with larger files (especially compressed ones), and happens seemingly at random. It also seems more likely to happen when I copy a bunch of files at once with the Shift key rather than copying them one at a time.

Has anyone else been experiencing this problem? Is there a CD driver I should be using rather than AmiCDFS?
Computolio is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 12:09   #2
cooldude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
Sounds like the old MAX Transfer speed issue!

Use HDToolbox to set the MT to a lower amount. Trouble is
I don't know what a good setting would be (Try 0x0001FE00)

I don't think it destroys ya partition but backup up first JIC!

Also try raising the partition buffers in hdtoolbox but this depends on

how much RAM you've got.

Cheers
cooldude is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 12:56   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,717
MaxTransfer does not specify a speed but a chunk size, it does not have anything to do with speed (except that smaller values increase overhead).

If reading from the CD corrupts files, setting MaxTransfer on the HDD does not change anything. You should rather set the MaxTransfer value for the CD. It is specified in the Devs/DosDrivers/CD0 file.

A good value for IDE controllers is 64k resp. 0x10000 or 0xfe00.
thomas is offline  
Old 02 August 2006, 01:47   #4
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
The file doesn't have any setting like that listed.
Computolio is offline  
Old 02 August 2006, 09:55   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,717
Then simply add it.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DMS-LHA CDs - Index files 1time project.EAB File Server 6 20 September 2010 19:59
Received a fake and copied OS 3.9 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 5 26 June 2010 13:38
Strange diminution of sizes with files copied to RAM: andreas support.WinUAE 5 21 June 2005 14:42
Can't delete files copied acroos using Cloanto Peanutuk support.Apps 1 13 May 2004 08:49
Can a PC floppy be copied with an amiga-copy utility?? Guest support.WinUAE 7 29 October 2002 02:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08307 seconds with 13 queries