English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2020, 18:24   #3461
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you on the miniature do:
- Menu Icon
- Information
- Save
An icon equal to the miniature of the same size as the Miniature will be created.
Ha! That worked! I love OS 3.9's icon menu in the information panel. It's extremely versatile.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 18:34   #3462
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
It's pretty wild how AfA's .exe libs affect libs and datatypes version numbers. My picture.datatype which showed 49.6 is now showing 45.17. Too freaking cool...
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 18:38   #3463
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
HaHa, you didn't look at the LibID string of icon.library in Scout's library list yet ...
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 18:44   #3464
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselrama View Post
It's pretty wild how AfA's .exe libs affect libs and datatypes version numbers. My picture.datatype which showed 49.6 is now showing 45.17. Too freaking cool...
This thumbnail icon technique was used many years ago by Kodak Photo CDs, photos could be seen in different resolutions.

These Kodak Photo CDs on Amiga could be seen only with AimCDFS or other equivalent Device CDs, with WinUAE CD Automount you can't see the photos of these CDs, I attach screeshot (used AimCDFS)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 June 2020 at 11:46.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 18:46   #3465
Weaselrama
Registered User

Weaselrama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Neunkirchen aP, DE
Age: 58
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
HaHa, you didn't look at the LibID string of icon.library in Scout's library list yet ...
I didn't even think of looking there - rather, I looked in Sys Info. I'm not a coder but just a user. I mean nothing by that, it's just my head usually doesn't think in those terms or at least, not at first. Configuration - certainly, it's how my Amiga setup got to be fast, functional, and good looking but I'd be lying if I said I understood how it all worked. Sometimes in my case, it's by brute force.
Weaselrama is offline  
Old 19 June 2020, 18:53   #3466
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
HaHa, you didn't look at the LibID string of icon.library in Scout's library list yet ...
Yes I looked, but there's your icon.library, otherwise Dopus4 wouldn't have worked.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 24 July 2020 at 13:09.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 17:22   #3467
midwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 92
@Peter I think there's still one issue, not sure if you've noticed or not:

When using IconLib TC020 51.4.535, together with DoNoColorMapping and HoldTCBuffer1, and the patched DOpus 5.83 binary that you provided, desktop icons (only!) seem to have a more "trimmed" mask than the previous version. Icons inside windows/listers look normal.

Reverting back to IconLib v51.4.533 and changing nothing else, fixes this.

I'm attaching a screenshot to demonstrate...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconLib535.png
Views:	68
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	67997  
midwan is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 18:31   #3468
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
Thanks for reporting this disfigurement, midwan !

Usually, I don't care much about these beauty issues. I think it's caused by one of DOpus5 woes, because it uses dozens of separate tasks for different purposes, and it can be a pain to filter them out.

The icons in a window are loaded by dopus_function and dragged by dopus_lister for example, but the icons on the desktop are loaded by the main process with a name which depends on the program name and can be something like DOpus5, DirOpus, DirectoryOpus or DO whatever you want. But, of course, there are more other task names as dopus_disk(copy) or dopus_info etc, I don't remember all of them.

Ok, I will consider the main process name for using the TCbuffer, too. And then you may come and say: "The icons are still not looking perfect inside of my trashcan or on my Ram Disk" ... or wherever DOpus5 uses another task.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 18:51   #3469
midwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 92
Thanks for considering it.
Just a small, related note:
- If you disable DoNoColorMapping and reboot, the problem also goes away.

But I guess you know that, since you understand more about how this works internally
midwan is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 21:22   #3470
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
Update to icon.library 46.4.536 (Aros, TC020, LD020, FastWB and Dopus 5.83 only):

TCbuffer1 was not enabled for icons directly on the DOpus5 desktop, and thus their soft borders were cut off by the image masking when DOnoColorMapping was activated, which is required for the fast custom dragging routines. - No changes in DOpus 5.83.

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4

Last edited by PeterK; 02 July 2020 at 11:24.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 23:01   #3471
midwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 92
That was fast!

Confirmed to work as expected now, thanks!
midwan is offline  
Old 13 July 2020, 19:32   #3472
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
Update to icon.library 46.4.537:

This is a fix for a small gentle bug that was hiding in IconControlA(SetWidth/SetHeight) since build 484. It did probably never cause any harm yet by using the non-preserved scratch register D1 with a structure offset of zero for Width, because by coincidence AllocMem() uses D1=0 for clearing the structure too, and thus has always fixed this bug. But some "evil" debugging tools didn't like this trick. These functions were called by Eastern, for example. Unfortunately, Eastern still doesn't work on Aros after fixing this bug, so don't install it there!
PeterK is offline  
Old 14 July 2020, 15:45   #3473
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Update to icon.library 46.4.537:
With this update Memicon no longer works with the helvetica font at size 13, it complains about invalid icon size. Setting it to 12 works, but it is a bit tiny.

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/Memicon

Just tried size 15 and it works.

Last edited by James; 14 July 2020 at 15:47. Reason: more added
James is offline  
Old 14 July 2020, 18:02   #3474
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
Hi James,

my tests with Helvetica 13 and all other sizes didn't cause any errors here. Try FixFonts or send me your other MemIcon tooltype settings.

But, if MemIcon creates an icon which is larger than 256x256 or just wider than 256 pixels that's not supported by (any) icon.library. It would be allowed to use a longer icon label, but when I select the MemIcon for dragging it seems that the icon images are also too wide (not sure about that).

Is your issue reproducible and does it always vanish with the previous versions? I tried Helvetica 13 with 537_TC020 and some debugging tools running, but it works.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MemIcon_Helvetica13.png
Views:	56
Size:	121.4 KB
ID:	68138  
PeterK is offline  
Old 15 July 2020, 01:36   #3475
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Is your issue reproducible and does it always vanish with the previous versions?
No, I can't get it to fail again now.
When I updated the icon.library (TC020) and rebooted it failed immediately. I changed the font size and it worked, tried to change it back and it failed again. Tried this several times and it always failed with size 13. Switched to verdananabold 16 and it worked, so I left it at that. Now, testing it again, it has worked with every font and size I have tried so far.
James is offline  
Old 15 July 2020, 17:33   #3476
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
After doing some more investigations I can say that nothing is calling the functions which I changed in 537, neither MemIcon, nor Workbench by order. So, the Helvetica 13 font problem can not depend on my latest update, but maybe on some racing conditions with LoadWB and WBstartup tools.

MemIcon just uses GetDiskObject(), DupDiskObject() and FreeDiskObject() from icon.library before it calls the Workbench functions AddAppIcon() and WorkbenchControlA(), which consequently uses GetIconRectangle() and IconControlA(), but nothing like SetWidth or SetHeight.

I couldn't find any explicit comments about limitations for width and height of AppIcons handled by workbench.library except for the restriction to word size in the diskobject and gadget structures. In the autodocs these images are called "hit box" and it seems that more than 256 pixels for w an h are allowed in contrast to other icons.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 July 2020, 15:29   #3477
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 888
Hi Peter, just wondering if the latest 537 be 51.4.537 as opposed to 46.4.537.

Doesn't seem to have any adverse affect in use, but wondered why it had changed
indigolemon is offline  
Old 20 July 2020, 16:54   #3478
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,764
Sorry, but after checking all versions in the latest 537 package I can't see any changes.

In general, my icon.library has the version 46.4.xxx, with the build number as index. But since build number 510 or so I have added support for Eastern to send TrueColor images to my icon.library, and Eastern only does this if the icon.library version is at least 51 and can handle that with IconControlA(SetImageData). My 51.4 versions are able to do just that additional task, but they don't support any other features of an OS4 icon.library.

Therefore the TC020, FastWB, HAM8 and HAM6 versions are v51.4 now and can display the preview thumbnail images of Eastern in TrueColor or HAM, whereas all other 46.4 versions would only display dithered Eastern images with maximal 256 colors.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 July 2020, 17:00   #3479
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
In general, my icon.library has the version 46.4.xxx, with the build number as index. But since build number 510 or so I have added support for Eastern to send TrueColor images to my icon.library, and Eastern only does this if the icon.library version is at least 51 and can handle that with IconControlA(SetImageData). My 51.4 versions are able to do just that additional task, but they don't support any other features of an OS4 icon.library.

Therefore the TC020, FastWB, HAM8 and HAM6 versions are v51.4 now and can display the preview thumbnail images of Eastern in TrueColor or HAM, whereas all other 46.4 versions would only display dithered Eastern images with maximal 256 colors.
Cool - thank you for the explanation
indigolemon is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 00:31   #3480
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
After doing some more investigations I can say that nothing is calling the functions which I changed in 537, neither MemIcon, nor Workbench by order. So, the Helvetica 13 font problem can not depend on my latest update, but maybe on some racing conditions with LoadWB and WBstartup tools.
The only thing I can think of is that I was experimenting with Dragon (always buggy) before I reset my system. Maybe this was the culprit? Have tried to replicate the problem, but can't...

http://amigazeux.net/dragon/
James is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21878 seconds with 16 queries