English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 September 2019, 20:10   #61
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
That’s what I’ve been doing but there are times when I don’t want the network stack running automatically with workbench (causes issues with some whdload games), so this is a permanent solution.
trixster is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 19:23   #62
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,543
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
The empty Zorro slot is now occupied by a brand new ICY V2 i2c card. Photos to follow

I’ve also been testing a 128bit Radeon 9200 in place of the Vooodoo3. This seems to clash with the PCI NIC so when I’m using the Radeon the NIC is removed and ethernet is handled using a usb NIC on the Deneb. The Radeon’s bracket has been drilled to allow a usb header to be mounted it to keep things tidy.
Do you have some more information about the ICY V2 i2C as I would like to purchase one. I have tried googling but not found much as yet...
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 20:38   #63
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
ICY V2 was a project and group buy on A1K org. It was arranged by Matze who i think has an account on here.

The Ragnarok / Radeon vs NIC issue was due to lack of pcidma code and address space. The fix is to use a 10Mbps NIC (and CT5808 soundblastee) which doesn’t require dma space.
trixster is offline  
Old 21 May 2020, 16:44   #64
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
New aluminium front for the machine, courtesy of PRS on Amibay

trixster is offline  
Old 21 May 2020, 18:06   #65
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,910
So, tell us more about the alu front.

How does it attach? Is it very heavy? :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 21 May 2020, 18:55   #66
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
this is attached with 8 small magnets, so you can lift it on and off with just a little effort. It makes getting into the machine much easier - no messing around with those ridiculous plastic tabs it is not particularly heavy

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...-Interest-poll

quite expensive though
trixster is offline  
Old 21 May 2020, 19:16   #67
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,910
I hate those tabs so much.. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 23 May 2020, 00:22   #68
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,543
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Those tabs are the spawn of satan!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 30 May 2020, 18:06   #69
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
An 80Mhz Warp Engine has now replaced the 66Mhz CyberStorm Mk2.



The Radeon 9200 128MB 128bit card is also full time in here now.

The fan at the rear pushes air through the open pci slots and the grill, and fan towards the front draws that cooler air over the pci and zorro cards, and then the air hopefully finds it's way round to the back and right and out through the psu.

With the lid on the machine is stable and sits at 40C degrees at the sensor on the ICY and 37C at the sensor on the DS3231 which is in the airflow. The 060 has heatsink and fan and runs cool enough at 80mhz. The psu draws enough power to have it's fan slowly exhausting hot air out the back.

The SCSI on the WE does not work with this Mediator busboard. Not quite sure why but it appears to be an address conflict - both Wrangler and I have discovered the only way to operate a WE with the Mediator is to remove jumper L, and that seems to completely disable the SCSI ROM. It's not a massive issue as the Deneb mamages 6+ MB/s in DMA mode.
trixster is offline  
Old 31 May 2020, 15:12   #70
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 329
That is one loaded machine! Nice
Wrangler is offline  
Old 03 June 2020, 19:52   #71
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
LEDs sanded down to fit in the new fascia

trixster is offline  
Old 23 June 2020, 14:33   #72
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
Pushing the 060 to 92Mhz

trixster is offline  
Old 23 June 2020, 14:50   #73
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
And beyond



trixster is offline  
Old 27 June 2020, 23:00   #74
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
And beyond



How fast is your ram? Can you show SysSpeed memory test results? Is the WE faster than the CS MK2 with the 100MHz hack?

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 27 June 2020, 23:05   #75
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,706
The ram itself is 60ns but it’s only running at half the clock speed, so 48mhz. The WarpEngine ram controller is faster than the one on the CSmk2. I’ll post up sysspeed ram results in a moment.

A 96mhz WarpEngine’s ram still isn’t as fast as the ram on say an 80mhz Blizzard 1260, and is between 10-30% slower than the new Warp1260 at 95mhz

Bustest

Warpengine 96mhz (ram 48mhz) = 54.3MB/s readm, 34.3MB/s writem
CSMK2 66mhz (Ram 66mhz) = 43MB/s read, 30MB/s write
Blizzard 1260 80mhz (ram 80mhz) = 57.6MB/s read, 38.5MB/s write
68060-TK 100mhz (ram 100mhz) = 87.8MB/ readm, 79.8MB/s writem

Matze’s 68060-TK at 100mhz:


Last edited by trixster; 28 June 2020 at 11:53.
trixster is offline  
Old 28 June 2020, 03:40   #76
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
The ram itself is 60ns but it’s only running at half the clock speed, so 48mhz. The WarpEngine ram controller is faster than the one on the CSmk2. I’ll post up sysspeed ram results in a moment.

A 96mhz WarpEngine’s ram still isn’t as fast as the ram on say an 80mhz Blizzard 1260, and is between 10-30% slower than the new Warp1260 at 95mhz

Bustest

Warpengine 96mhz (ram 48mhz) = 54.3MB/s readm, 34.3MB/s writem
CSMK2 66mhz (Ram 66mhz) = 43MB/s read, 30MB/s write
Blizzard 1260 80mhz (ram 80mhz) = 57.6MB/s read, 38.5MB/s write
Nice, yes the MK2 is known to be the slowest of the Cyberstorms (MK1 and MK3 being faster). I have a MK3 50Mhz 060 in my A3000 and it tops out at just over 45MB/sec in bustest, with 60ns ram enabled.

I have a CS MK2 with the 100MHz hack in one of my A4000's. I'll run a bustest on that. Looking forward to the Warp 4060 and also Matze's TK060 which appears to trump all others in memory benchmarks.

Darren

PS - nice new front bezel for the A4000. In real life how "silver" does it look?

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 Mediator green screen - dead? trixster support.Hardware 50 20 May 2017 11:40
A4000 in Micronik tower with mediator? voyager_1701e support.Hardware 2 20 June 2014 14:47
A4000 Mediator Zorro help!!!!! titisoft support.Hardware 0 03 August 2011 23:52
HELP! Mediator a4000 di - Ramlib error #80000004 chusete support.Hardware 9 03 November 2010 22:00
FS on Ebay A4000 tower + mediator AMIGAZ MarketPlace 3 18 April 2010 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08910 seconds with 16 queries