English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2005, 17:42   #1
dkovacs
Registered User
dkovacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada
Age: 43
Posts: 64
DKB Cobra

Hi;

Does anyone here have a DKB Cobra 28Mhz 68030 accellorator card for the A1200? How much faster than an A1200 with a FPU (33Mhz I think) would it be?

Dan
dkovacs is offline  
Old 05 April 2005, 19:37   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,029
If you don't do raytracing or other heavy mathematic calculations, the FPU does not matter at all. What is the main processor ?
thomas is offline  
Old 06 April 2005, 04:21   #3
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 1,417
And you need to be running FPU versions of the software or it is ignored anyway?
Galaxy is offline  
Old 06 April 2005, 08:37   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,029
To make use of an FPU you need programs which actually do floating point operations and these programs have to be compiled to use either the FPU directly or the mathieee libraries.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 April 2005, 16:26   #5
dkovacs
Registered User
dkovacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada
Age: 43
Posts: 64
I currently have a DKB 1202 ram card with a 68882 FPU on it. This new card has a 68030 @ 28 Mhz. I have replaced the math libraries in AmigaOS with ones from aminet designed for the FPU (hsmathlibs I think). I cannot really see any speed improvement as is now. The question is, will the 68030 make the Amiga noticably faster for all applications?
dkovacs is offline  
Old 06 April 2005, 17:39   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,029
Is I said before, the FPU does not improve anything for the day-by-day usage. Only if you use exceptional applications which make use of the FPU, it will be faster than without.

So you've got a 68020 at 14 MHz currently and will replace it by a 68030 at 28 MHz. I'd say it will be much faster.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 June 2005, 23:33   #7
dkovacs
Registered User
dkovacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada
Age: 43
Posts: 64
I have the board installed in my A1200 - it seems faster, Workbench loads faster (IDE seems faster) and screen redraws seem a little faster (NTSC Hires 256 Colors). Some games run ALOT smoother. I don't see that big a speed increase when using applications (Dpaint 5 or Photogenics) - maybe its because it had been a very long time since I have used them with my previous card installed (DKB1202 with 8MB Ram and FPU). It was alot easier to install than the 1202. I'm enjoying the speed increase, but was maybe expecting a little more.

Does anyone know of any replacement libraries for workbench that go well with a 68030/MMU/FPU? Is there any way of speeding things up at all rather than having to go with a 68040 or 68060? I really want to be able to run some more robust applications and games.

Dan
dkovacs is offline  
Old 10 June 2005, 16:19   #8
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,000
The only piece of software I have come accross that uses an FPU is Imagine. Or Linux.
rare_j is offline  
Old 10 June 2005, 17:58   #9
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkovacs
I have the board installed in my A1200 - it seems faster, Workbench loads faster (IDE seems faster) and screen redraws seem a little faster (NTSC Hires 256 Colors). Some games run ALOT smoother. I don't see that big a speed increase when using applications (Dpaint 5 or Photogenics) - maybe its because it had been a very long time since I have used them with my previous card installed (DKB1202 with 8MB Ram and FPU). It was alot easier to install than the 1202. I'm enjoying the speed increase, but was maybe expecting a little more.

Does anyone know of any replacement libraries for workbench that go well with a 68030/MMU/FPU? Is there any way of speeding things up at all rather than having to go with a 68040 or 68060? I really want to be able to run some more robust applications and games.

Dan
Try some patches like Systempatch2, MMULib, Fblit.
Also switch to a faster file system like SFS or PFS3
Small changes like this will give a great overall speed boost to your system
AMIGAZ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dkb Cobra 1230 UK-Wobbie support.Hardware 8 24 November 2011 17:03
Firmware for the DKB-Cobra 030/28 card Amiga-Digital support.Hardware 1 24 December 2009 13:02
FS: DKB Cobra 64Mb lopos2000 MarketPlace 0 18 August 2009 22:59
help for dkb cobra/viper 1230! giannis_vassili support.Hardware 1 09 June 2008 12:08
RAM on DKB Cobra dkovacs support.Hardware 6 20 January 2006 21:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07668 seconds with 13 queries