English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2013, 19:21   #1
craig64
Registered User
craig64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 14
Question Looking for the most accurate Paula audio emulation

It's been a long time since I owned a real Amiga, otherwise this would be much easier. I'm trying to find the best method of rendering a mod file to wav/flac etc in Windows, but ideally with the most accurate A500 emulation I can find, including the lowpass filter (as opposed to A1200 for example. I'm aware of the Stone Oakvalley project but this is not what I'm looking for). As far as I can tell I have two practical options, WinUAE and UADE.

For practical reasons, UADE would be ideal, however, since it's not been updated in a couple of years, I'm wondering if the latest versions of WinUAE provide more accurate emulation of the audio (e.g. if the filter accuracy has been refined since UADE 2.13).

A couple of example questions that I was thinking about: Is there an advantage to, say, rendering the mod file at 3.55mhz with no interpolation, and then resampling down to 96/48/44 khz? Is there a way to output sound in 24/32 bits in either of those programs, and would this be an advantage at all in achieving more accurate mixing? All things I'm fairly clueless about right now.

It's a long-winded question, I know, but in simple terms, I want to achieve the closest possible effect to hearing the sound as it would have been on a real 500, and although I'm sure using WinUAE or UADE would be ideal, I'd appreciate any expert tips on things I might have overlooked.
craig64 is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 19:40   #2
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
3.55Mhz sampling? Why would you need this and how would you accomplish it?

As far as I know WinUAE outputs in 16 bits till 48Khz, you can choose some types of interpolation or use no interpolation at all. I think Sinc is the best one in my opinion. Best use your ears and compare.

As far as Paula emulation goes it's very complete. Some more technical guys could fill in the gaps. There is a thread dedicated to improving Paula sound from some time ago. Maybe you can search it and giving it a read.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 19:48   #3
craig64
Registered User
craig64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 14
Thanks for the reply. I should have pointed out the 3.55mhz idea was because UADE seems to allow this (the reason I mention it is I was curious to know if doing that would provide more accurate results, since it would somewhat simulate how a real Amiga does its mixing of the 4 audio channels, with no interpolation). It's been a long time since I heard the sound from a real A500, and I've been unable to find a site that offers recorded A500 music at high quality like the Stone Oakvalley project does, so it's difficult for me to judge by ear (wish he'd done multiple Amigas like with the C64 project!). I had looked in the other forums but didn't notice the Paula thread. I'll have a look, thanks.
craig64 is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 19:51   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Paula is mostly used as a dummy DA converter when playing normal sample-based modules, accurate Paula emulation is not needed for accurate sound.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 20:08   #5
craig64
Registered User
craig64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 14
Thanks Toni, that's good to know I'm sure you're the one to ask about this. Most of my curiosity comes from reading Antti S. Lankila's documentation on interpolation. I think the only thing I'm unsure of now is if I should use UADE or WinUAE, so I think my only question now would be: Is WinUAE sound emulation more accurate these days than the core in UADE, or would they both produce equal results?
craig64 is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 20:26   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
AFAIK both should be identical when playing modules. WinUAE's audio emulation is much more accurate but as I said, "only" audio interrupt timing and non-DMA modes require accuracy. Module players use or require neither and it won't affect audio output.

Hmm.. It is possible introduction of DMAL (Paula DMA request "pipeline") emulation may make a tiny difference, it can change audio sample loading timing slightly compared to previous emulation code. (which AFAIK is not emulated by UADE, it was implemented few years ago)

UADE is probably much easier to use and optimized for playing

btw, if you use WinUAE, remember to use built-in wave recording, do not use external audio recorders! Normal emulation mode (not recording) is optimized for user experience, for example sound timing can and will change on the fly depending on buffer state etc to prevent buffer underruns and sound glitches.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 20:39   #7
craig64
Registered User
craig64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 14
Based on what you said about DMAL emulation, it sounds like WinUAE would be the best option, especially considering UADE is getting old now. I don't mind waiting for it to finish recording (like the old cassette tape days!) I just found some old threads on a similar subject which suggest 48khz sinc output, so I'll give that a try. Thanks for your advice, you've been very helpful
craig64 is offline  
Old 15 March 2013, 14:21   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,550
UADE is by far the best option. Much simpler to use, and rips to disk VERY quickly (2-3 seconds per minute of music).
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 September 2013, 20:35   #9
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,278
Remember the static cutoff filters....

All Amigas have a high pass cutoff filter at 5Hz (anything below 5Hz is cut off)

Amiga 500/500+/600/1000/2000/2500/3000 has a low pass cutoff at 4400Hz (anything above 4400Hz is cut off).
Amiga 1200/4000 has a low pass cutoff at 26000Hz, which is not needed to emulate unless you want insanely accurate results. You won't hear a difference anyways.

At least I know that the Amiga 500 has this 4400Hz cut off. I'm just guessing that the other Amiga models have it too, though I know Amiga 1200 and 4000 has 26000Hz.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 15:51   #10
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Amiga 500/500+/600/1000/2000/2500/3000 has a low pass cutoff at 4400Hz (anything above 4400Hz is cut off).
Is that a product of the switchable low pass filter or is this 4.4khz cut off unswitchable? It would certainly explain why my A600 sounds so dull compared to my 1200.
john1979 is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 16:37   #11
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Is that a product of the switchable low pass filter or is this 4.4khz cut off unswitchable? It would certainly explain why my A600 sounds so dull compared to my 1200.
Answered my own question with Google

Quote:
Models released before Amiga 1200 also have a static "tone knob" type lowpass filter that is enabled regardless of the optional "LED filter". This filter is a 6 dB/oct lowpass filter with cutoff frequency at 5 kHz (some circuit diagrams indicate cutoff frequency at 4.5 kHz, though).
I never knew that. Why was this unoptional filter incorporated into Paula?
john1979 is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 19:40   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I never knew that. Why was this unoptional filter incorporated into Paula?
Filter is made from external components (op-amp chip, capacitors and resistors), it is not inside Paula.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 November 2013, 02:02   #13
Quagliarulo
Registered User
Quagliarulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Napoli, Italia
Posts: 38
If I were you, I would try to play the modules in the editor they were composed with, whenever possible. There are serious accuracy problems in standalone players.
Quagliarulo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generating an accurate Paula period table 8bitbubsy Coders. General 30 29 September 2017 12:16
Erratic CD Audio in CD32 Emulation sean_skroht support.WinUAE 9 11 May 2012 16:57
Paula audio in RTG modes Mad-Matt support.WinUAE 8 13 May 2007 15:28
Amiga 4000 Paula Audio CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 50 01 March 2007 21:26
How accurate is the emulation? manicx support.WinUAE 26 07 July 2003 08:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07594 seconds with 13 queries