English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2011, 03:39   #1
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 36
Posts: 858
Booting Floppy Images

Is it possible to boot an ADF as if it were a disk in the drive on a real Amiga?

It would be a lot more convinient than having to actually write the ADF to a real floppy.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 04:57   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 748
you could use this http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/diskimage , I dont think you can boot from it, but standard disk images could be accessed like that.
If you want to boot, you will need "Floppy Disk Emulator" hardware like http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emulator/
amiman99 is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 10:07   #3
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anakirob View Post
Is it possible to boot an ADF as if it were a disk in the drive on a real Amiga?

It would be a lot more convinient than having to actually write the ADF to a real floppy.
Well, sort of...

You can mount RAD and copy the disk image to it using diskcopy or adf2disk. RAD is bootable but the software must play nice (no custom trackloaders, filesystems etc.). If it's a normal DOS disk it'll work just fine. It won't work with NON-DOS disks so that rules out most games.

Better still use vdisk.device (on aminet). It can use FAST mem instead of CHIP (like RAD).

WHDLoad or floppy emulators for games.
ppill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A 1200 not booting from some floppy's Quiet_Man New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 31 December 2011 20:41
Problem with WinUAE and booting from floppy Gooberslot support.WinUAE 7 07 February 2007 16:08
WB 3.x: Problems in booting up WB w/all floppy drives off andreas support.Apps 2 27 September 2006 13:27
Booting AF6.0 from CD-rom and using floppy AmigaEd New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 18 March 2005 06:27
Floppy question about booting. DeltaWolf7 support.Hardware 3 04 September 2002 06:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05915 seconds with 13 queries