English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2011, 14:42   #1
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
PC 1.44 MB USB floppy drives

I'd like to transfer sometimes small files between my A1200 and PC. Problem is I have no FDD in my notebook. But there are USB floppy drives for PC. They aren't expensive but are they OK to read/write Amiga DD disks (720k for PC)?
PopoCop is offline  
Old 10 March 2011, 14:51   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,121
Sure, but they will only write 720KB or 1.44MB DOS disks... they won't write 880KB Amiga disks.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 March 2011, 15:03   #3
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
Yeah, of course. I will use CrossDOS
PopoCop is offline  
Old 10 March 2011, 22:33   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You may need additional software to format floppy disks to 720kbyte using XP or Win7

http://wiki.classicamiga.com/Formatt...sk_in_XP/Vista
No additional software is needed. In that article it is stated quite clearly that it can be done by typing Format A: /T:80 /N:9 at the command prompt. In addition, I would append the switch /U, which provides an unconditional format (so that the disk cannot then be unformatted).
prowler is offline  
Old 11 March 2011, 08:41   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 887
for format 720kb close a second hole
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 09:15   #6
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
I bought USB floppy drive and the problem is: it doesn't work. My notebook (Samsung with Windows 7) detects it and shows that drive A: is available. But the drive doesn't recognise any disks (already formatted for PC). Formatting disk is also impossible - format starts but stops after few seconds.
Any ideas how to solve it?
PopoCop is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 09:27   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
Are you using USB hub? Maybe try connecting without it.
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 10:02   #8
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
No, it's connected directly to computer.
PopoCop is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 10:33   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
I have two, same USB floppy drives. One is really loud and works randomly, want to format good disks or Windows can not detect A: drive but second one works without any problem. Maybe try quick format instead of normal.
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 11:38   #10
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
What drives do you have? Mine is black Teac.
PopoCop is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 12:03   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
black 4World from China
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 April 2011, 02:31   #12
jimgeneva
jimgeneva
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pueblo USA
Age: 63
Posts: 26
usb floppy

hi I have a Dell with win XP and a A2000 with 3.1 try using the amiga to format the disks then see if PC can use disks I have Teac FD-05PU and format as 1.33 ok but not as 720k so I just format on Amiga then no problem
loke the other guy said cover the second hole! with tape or cut up disk label to make a 1.44 into a v720k if you scotch tape magic marker with black both sides so no light comes threw this seems to work for me. Let us know how it goes for you.

Jim
jimgeneva is offline  
Old 22 April 2011, 18:23   #13
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
The disks I tried with USB FDD were already formatted. The drive didn't recognise them and couldn't format them.
I returned the drive and got my money back.
I think that problem is with Windows 7.
PopoCop is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Drives peter taft New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 21 June 2010 07:46
Floppy drives brokenangel support.WinUAE 3 18 May 2009 14:40
PC Floppy Drives adewakd support.Hardware 1 14 March 2008 18:36
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Floppy Drives Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 06 October 2005 00:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08005 seconds with 15 queries